We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, cave rooms and views.”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I travel to Turkey a few times a year for business purposes, and always heard about Museum Hotel being the best in the area, so finally I checked in because I had some leisure time and decided to indulge myself.
At the Museum, the decoration is exquisite everywhere you go and a large antique and art collection is displayed inside the hotel, what makes this boutique hotel really a museum.
I stayed in a suite cave, with jacuzzi and scenic views over the dramatic landscape of Cappadocia. In spite of staying in a cave, it has all the amenities and comfort you can ask for, and the quality of the rest was certainly impossible to defeat. The garden and common areas are out of this World, with an infinity pool facing the entire valley of Cappadocia.
It should be pointed out the hotel personnel and the amazing hospitality. Anything I asked for was immediately supplied, and they really made my trip to Cappadocia spectacular and was the top hotel I have stayed at in Turkey. Special gratitude to Bouquet, the guest relations, for the fine treatment and her suggestions and instructions on getting around Cappadocia and which activities and tours had to be done. Just asked and she was happy to help, nothing was too much trouble for her. I spent 3 nights and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cizzy3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 750 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Once you see how devasted caves have been restored into Boutique hotel, your life is changing.. in 7 years work of many people you are presented a chance to witness a diamond in the rural landscape - only money, only taste or only time is not enough.. all came together to the feet of the guest to have xperience of history, culture, luxury, nature, fascination... some rooms have pillows menu, linen quality is superb, in room there are unique views over ballons and valleys, breakfast is served on the vitrins full of antiquities, art collection continues in corridors.. You can collect fresh vegatable in the garden and make photos of peacokes tales..
One thing is really not yet reached the level of owners love to the place is the service. Some of the staff just astonishing dull .. i d say 30-40% extremely good and rest ..dont know what they do. But so much work done, i give the credit to management that staff will reach one day level of this property which is almost unbelievable fact of existance. Many thanks

Room Tip: all rooms great, dont miss massage on the open terrace and pool - its chilly in the early morning bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlechkaGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a special place. The owner has done a fantastic job taking abandoned cave homes and restoring them to create this six star (five isn't enough stars) hotel. Each room is unique, filled with antiques and local crafts, overlooking the Cappadocia valley.

You will not find a group of people more dedicated to superior service anywhere in the world. What a magical place with special memories!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Amazing place. The service is beyond perfect. Whatever you want is provided graciously and quickly. The site is the best in Uchisar. The view of the balloons each morning as you sit on the porch and have a wonderful breakfast is a once in a lifetime experience. The rooms being part cave and part stone structure are spacious, gorgeous and luxurious. Fresh Turkish towels are provided twice a day.

The owners German Shepard, Joe, rules the roost. He greets the guests and patrols the facility. There are desert tortoises living in a garden by the dining room. Picture yourself sitting by the infinity pool and enjoying a refreshment as you look over the whole Goreme valley.

The facility took many years to complete and it shows. No detail is left to chance. Whenever you go to Cappadocia try to stay here. You will not be sorry

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

When you walk into the lobby, since the very first moment, you realize immediately where the "Museum Hotel" name is coming from. It is truly a museum itself...what a place!
Buket, the guess relation manager, looked after us during our stay and she was really a sweetheart, making us feeling like at home and touring us through the hotel and facilities and telling the stories about the different items displayed on it (there is a 300 years old carpet hang on the wall)... She also arranged our Cappadocian tour and was impeccably done!
We stayed at the Lazy Hunter room and it was divine. The whole place is outstanding, and having breakfast at the terrace while staring at the dozens of hot air balloons flying nearby is priceless.
I hope I will stay at Museum Hotel again and I certainly will recommend. Thank you to Miss. Buket for a job well-done!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Cave hotel with all the 5 star creature comforts. Not to be missed if you are in the are of Cappadoccia, Turkey. The rooms are all unique and built into the rock with views over the valley. You will wake up to views of dozens of hot air balloons across the skyline each morning starting at sun rise.

Service is incredible and Don't miss a meal in the excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: All are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travel in a group and booked a total of 9 rooms and have the opportunity of seeing each of the different rooms. True to the description, each room is different, with a unique decor and layout . One room I have 3 levels and a fish pond. Two of them supposedly have free flow of wine from tap but it dry up pretty soon. One has no window and truly is like living in a cave as this hotel is converted from previous caves homes of many years ago. While we are all amazed by the beauty and scenery, we have to remind other travelers of the limitations. The passages are narrow at some place and steep stairs to get to the rooms. If you need to get to the toilets then it may be necessary to climb 2 flights of stairs to get to it in the room. The ladies commented on the lack of bench top in the bathroom for their makeup and a working table inside the room. The space has been used by the fish pond. Overall it's still an enjoyable stay and experience that will remain with us for along time

Room Tip: Make sure to look at the setup and location of the room in the hotel before confirmation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Homantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 30 in Uchisar
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 30 in Uchisar
359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#8 of 30 in Uchisar
406 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 69 in Urgup
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range: $189 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual 'living museum' concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia-just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing