We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel in Cappadocia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Uchisar
Maceio, AL
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in Cappadocia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

When you walk into the lobby, since the very first moment, you realize immediately where the "Museum Hotel" name is coming from. It is truly a museum itself...what a place!
Buket, the guess relation manager, looked after us during our stay and she was really a sweetheart, making us feeling like at home and touring us through the hotel and facilities and telling the stories about the different items displayed on it (there is a 300 years old carpet hang on the wall)... She also arranged our Cappadocian tour and was impeccably done!
We stayed at the Lazy Hunter room and it was divine. The whole place is outstanding, and having breakfast at the terrace while staring at the dozens of hot air balloons flying nearby is priceless.
I hope I will stay at Museum Hotel again and I certainly will recommend. Thank you to Miss. Buket for a job well-done!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    91
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
147
319
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Cave hotel with all the 5 star creature comforts. Not to be missed if you are in the are of Cappadoccia, Turkey. The rooms are all unique and built into the rock with views over the valley. You will wake up to views of dozens of hot air balloons across the skyline each morning starting at sun rise.

Service is incredible and Don't miss a meal in the excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: All are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We travel in a group and booked a total of 9 rooms and have the opportunity of seeing each of the different rooms. True to the description, each room is different, with a unique decor and layout . One room I have 3 levels and a fish pond. Two of them supposedly have free flow of wine from tap but it dry up pretty soon. One has no window and truly is like living in a cave as this hotel is converted from previous caves homes of many years ago. While we are all amazed by the beauty and scenery, we have to remind other travelers of the limitations. The passages are narrow at some place and steep stairs to get to the rooms. If you need to get to the toilets then it may be necessary to climb 2 flights of stairs to get to it in the room. The ladies commented on the lack of bench top in the bathroom for their makeup and a working table inside the room. The space has been used by the fish pond. Overall it's still an enjoyable stay and experience that will remain with us for along time

Room Tip: Make sure to look at the setup and location of the room in the hotel before confirmation
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homantin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicoutimi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

...but although the site of the hotel and the hotel itself are breathtaking, I have to say that it is underwhelming as far as the service is concerned. I think that one of the issues is the lack of qualified personnel in the area, resulting in young, inexperienced helpers in the hotel.
A lot of giggling, not much professionalism and certainly, not as styled as one would expect for both the price and the recommendations. At dinner, in the restaurant, when a young woman approached with a pitcher of water, and I said 'no thank you'- she asked me 'why not?'. What do you mean 'why not?!' If a guest doesn't want water, she doesn't want water! Little niggly things, you might say, but things that matter in the end, when the hotel is prepaid (yes, in advance) and the price is relatively handsome. I saw it, I would never go back. Oh, and by the way- the beautiful pool? The water is like melted snow. Sooooo cold, not a soul uses it. Oh, and another matter. Taking a taxi from the airport costs $200 USD. The hotel never mentioned that it has a shuttle (which we took on the return) for 30$ for both people. Another niggly thing which results in the fact that 'been there, done that, and won't be back'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolga T, General Manager at Museum Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you again for choosing "unique" Museum Hotel in Cappadocia.

While we were pleased with your positive comments, I have to mention clearly that we have astonished with your negative comments. I want to start explaining that Museum Hotel has the most qualified staff of the Cappadocia region. Our team take vocational training regularly. It is impossible to make that kind of simple mistake in service such as a question “why not?” On the contrary, we are known as a luxury hotel who has the most professional team. Hence we are the one & only Relais Chateaux hotel in Turkey. You may had a misunderstanding about this issue. But in any way, we will surely consider your valuable comments.

Regarding the information about the transfers, we have a very well educated Concierge team who is responsible for sharing all excursion details with our guests if they request. The Concierge staff is always interested in the guests’ all needs including the airport transfers. Additional to our experienced Concierge team - who speaks two even three languages -, there is "concierge brochure" in each room. All excursions even transfer details takes place on this brochure. We are unable to put pressure on our own transfer service to our guests if they want to call for a taxi despite all these information. Thank you for your understanding.

Finally, all guest comments are so valuable for us of course. It's for sure that, we will certainly take your all comments in to our consideration to create the best service to our valuable guests in the "unique" Museum Hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The setting on top of a mountain allows you to have breathtaking views of the entire area. This
unique area of the world is incredible. Homes carved into the hills and valleys, how did they do it?
The hotel requires you to crouch in certain passageways which is so interesting and fun. We
got lost in the hotel once. The terrace and infinity pool are spectacular. The breakfast is very
nice and dinner was special. The staff was overrun with people skills. They tried to teach us
thank you in Turkish and we tried to teach them Hawaiian and Spanish. A great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were spoiled from the moment we set foot in this hotel. Filled with antiques, it had an old world charm.

We were upgraded to the Sultan Suite, one of the hotel’s best rooms. The structure of the cave from which the room was constructed is still apparent in the narrow passageway leading to the room as well as the sitting area from which one has a view of the valley. We were not able to use two great features of the room, however, because we were traveling with a child: the two-person Jacuzzi and the underground wine cellar/bar. The master bedroom had a skylight and large king sized bed. A single bed for my daughter was set up in an elevated “cave” near the living area. The room had a Nespresso maker, complimentary bottled water that was refilled daily and L’Occitane toiletries. The free wi-fi service extends to the rooms but each device must have its own log-in password.

The breakfast buffet was set up in a bright room near the main restaurant. It was filled with a wide selection of fruits, cheeses, cold meats, breads, and cereals. There was an egg station and some warm vegetable dishes. The main restaurant caters to locals as well as hotel guests and can get full at dinner. Reservations are highly recommended if you’re too tired to eat out after a long day of touring.

The hotel offers complimentary tea, coffee and cakes in the afternoons at their verandah that overlooks the valley. There is a small library with computers for guests’ use and a heated swimming pool.

This was really the best hotel of the entire trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdes A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Museum Hotel for three nights in April 2013. What a magnificent hotel! It is a perfect example of a boutique hotel done right. They did not falter even once. Everything was perfect, all the time! We had two rooms which were gorgeous and I can't imagine there are any bad rooms in this fabulous hotel! The staff and service is impeccable. They are omnipresent without being intrusive. The guest relations manager is a wonderful lady and genuinely interested in making your experience at Museum Hotel the best it can possibly be. The food is outstanding. We voluntarily ate dinner here all three nights. The breakfast spread is astounding. The guide they organised for us was one of the best we have ever had. Everyone went out of their way to make sure my children were comfortable and having a great time. I would very enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I cant imagine there are any bad rooms in this fabulous hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TCS212NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#6 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
5.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Property: Museum Hotel
Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual 'living museum' concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia-just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing