We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This might actually be heaven on earth”
Review of Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Museum Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel is the kind of hotel you see in movies, or Travel Channel shows, and yet, normal people like me can stay here!

We stayed here three nights at the tail end of our trip in Turkey, and really, it was heavenly. The architecture of the place emulates and builds on Cappadocia's famous cave dwellings, and the grounds are a mix of luxury, spa-ish modern (lovely patios and a pool) with traditional antique (the dining area resembles an 18th century ), and ancient (the rooms are built in the caves).

The service is exquisite, from the moment our feet entered reception to the moment we left the grounds. The decor is unbelievable -- the place is littered with relics and antiques, and it is just breathtaking to see. This is the kind of hotel you want to spend time at, rather than use as a place to sleep between sightseeing. The breakfast is out-of-this-world; the evening cocktail hour wonderful (we had spiced wine outside on the patio while it snowed!).

I could gush all day -- I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonia-a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 728 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location is absolutely stunning and is one of the best cave hotels in that area.the view is breathtaking.we were very comfortable in our rooms.bathrooms v good & jacuzzi facility in all bathrooms. One is surrounded by beautiful artefacts in the rooms , the passages and the lounges. The breakfast was excellent.Staff very helpful and receptive to any requirements. As the Hotel is in split levels ,which is expected in a cave hotel,there will be difficulty to anyone who has problems with stairs . But for this drawback,I would highly recommend this hotel. It was a unique experience!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We consider this hotel breath taking , the environment , attention to detail of service prior to & following arrival , food , the room , bed and people are all amazing . The dog is a great asset , he adds to the atmosphere .
We enjoyed the cooking class & trips arranged through the hotel . This is a first class experience that we could reccomend to anyone .
(Reception & administration executive ) is an absolute asset to this hotel from her emails during the booking process to her help on arrival nothing is to much trouble . Her care is mirrored across all other staff contacts as well . this hotel understands service & customer experience . Come here for a truly special experience .

Room Tip: The larger suites are magnificent . We had the Divan suite ,it has fantastic views across the valle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Museum Hotel is undoubtedly the "nicest" boutique cave hotel in the area, and, given the opportunity to travel to Turkey twice a year, we stay here whenever we can. It is truly special, intimate, super comfortable, and there is always a "visual treat" around every corner as well as beautiful views of the valley, mountains, etc. What a great honeymoon destination this would be!

That being said, it's not your standard, check-off-the-boxes sort of place, and so sometimes there are quirks (for example, the internet connection in a cave room can be dicy!), but the management is very open to straightening out whatever is in its power to do so!

The breakfast has everything one could possibly want, and it is especially great to be able to have the various fruits, vegetables, and nuts grown pesticide-free on nearby property. At night, the restaurant offers true gourmet-quality meals.

Room Tip: Work with the website to choose your room; of course, the prices are reflexive of the size/location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExpatDBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

the hotel was highly recommended to me. however, i was not lucky. i was given a room that is very small, with 3 levels. on the ground floor there is a frigo bar and a carpet to sit in front of windows. on the lower floor the bathroom and a closet. the bathroom is big and beautiful with a nice jacuzzi. difficult to get there, though, at night with so many steps.on the upper floor is the bed with very narrow space for your legs to pass by to the other side. nowhere to hang a coat or anything. if you want, you have to go down 2 flights of stairs to get to the closet. the restaurant is beautiful and nice. very good service. if you take a hot shower in the winter it's unpleasant to have to walk in the open to get to the restaurant. breakfast is wonderful. the best omellete ever!

Room Tip: don't choose the room 'LALEZAR'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marilena57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Fabulous experience in Capadocia. It was difficult to leave the hotel !!
Our Tafana Suite had a beautiful view, love the antiques , and tue rugs !! Food was good quality Not excellent!! but breakfaste was outstanding !!Highly reccomend this hotel we had a wonderful stay !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

One of the original cave hotels located throughout Cappadocia -located on the highest mountain in the region. It is actually a certified Museum. Each room is totally unique and an actual cave. Representative pictures of each room is on their website. Antiques and historic artifacts are scattered throughout the property. The staff is very attentive and helpful. Of necessity the hotel is on multiple different levels-no elevator. I would not recommend it for anyone with a wheelchair or with difficulty climbing stairs. The terrace, bar, restaurant are all 5 star. We did not use the spa.
A dog at the hotel next door barked all night or first night at the Museum--we were so tired the next night we slept through the barking. Every morning there are 40-50 balloons loaded with tourist ascending at sunrise--from the terrace one can look DOWN at them

Room Tip: We stayed in the Castle Room--one of their basic rooms--had great views which many of the others did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sugar Grove Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#6 of 30 in Uchisar
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#9 of 30 in Uchisar
400 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
5.5 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 68 in Urgup
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel

Address: Tekelli Mahallesi No.1, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range: $173 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Museum Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Unique...' There is no other word that better describes Museum Hotel. Situated in a very special geographic region in Cappadocia, Museum Hotel has been designed and created from a distinctive combination of the land and historical features and ruins, some intact and some beautifully restored to their original glory. The hotel features 30 rooms & suites-each of them exceptional in their own inimitable way. No room can be alike, with each bringing its own special ambiance, contributing to Museum Hotel's evident character and charm. Steeped in thousands of years of history, there is a magical feel to the hotel. Our unusual 'living museum' concept means our cave rooms and specially restored traditional rooms are all decorated with priceless antiques and feature stunning views of Cappadocia-just some of the elements that go to make Museum Hotel... well, unique! As evidence of this, Museum Hotel is the only hotel in Turkey invited into the family of luxury hotels and special dining establishments that comprise Relais & Châteaux. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Uchisar
Museum Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing