We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "cave" hotel to visit Cappadocia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect "cave" hotel to visit Cappadocia”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Taskonaklar is a beautiful hotel deep in the heart of Uçhisar.

I stayed here with my wife in August in our holidays this year. Taskonaklar was our base to visit the region of Cappadocia and because we were in the middle of the region the rides to everywhere were not too long.

Taskonaklar is almost a cave hotel... Almost because it is build in the mountain and only some rooms or some divisions of rooms are deep in a cave. Although this should not limit your cave experience because the owners respect the surrounding environment and only use materials that are made of or are alike the rock of the caves.

Taskonaklar is a very clean hotel, the rooms are well decorated, they change towels everyday and offers you a wonderful view to the pigeon valley. If you won't make the balloon ride (I didn’t because the weather was always a litle smoggy and I though it was to expensive and would enjoy has much as I should due to the weather) make the effort to wake at 4am to see the sunrise and the balloons over the pigeon valley. It is a great experience.

The breakfast was a great experience at Taskonaklar. They have enough variety and you are offered both a continental and a turkish gastronomic experience. Everything is fresh and the breakfast room also has a great view.

The staff have a good english (considering the turkish standards) and are very nice and available to help you.

A tip when visiting Cappadocia: if you are using the lonely planet guide, do not go to the Kapuzbasi Waterfalls in Aladaglar National Park, it is not worth the three hours ride in a bumpy road...

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MCN_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolgaakr, Owner at Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
We are working on doing even better and making sure all our guests leave with lovely memories and an unforgettable experience.
Looking forward to see you again in Cappadocia,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    54
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
165
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nevertheless they have a lovely location and beautiful facilities, the staff, specially the self called manager - a young man that never wanted to tell us his name - is the laziest person we have encounter in our trips around the world, when we arrived he did not help in anyway with luggage, there was no extra staff, except for a lady that was smoking and not paying attention to the arrival of the guests, she said she was the co-partner of the owner, this manager was so unpolite, during our drinks at sunset he aproached us and pressure us to have dinner there, suddenly he decide to grab our nibbles without asking permission, he thinks he is the owner or he is doing us a favor for having us there, well he is just a recepcionist without any training, not social manners, the room was not clean properly, balconies are left with trash from previous guests, not a single detail of a real Boutique Hotel, missed even the tissues, beds are not the size they mentioned in the ad, suite 102 was pretty but needs a lot of extras to really feel you are getting what you are paying for, several lights did not work, the phone did not work no matches for the candles, they tried to repair this but never succeded totally, this new hotel needs a lot of improvement to really compete with other cave Boutique Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolgaakr, Owner at Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Lilla,
Thank you for your feedback on Taskonaklar. I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay.
I would like to inform you that the reception manager has been laid off and we are making sure that such a circumstance will never happen again.
Once again, sorry for the inconveniences.
Kind regards,
Tolga Akarcali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2012

what a great experience to stay in this amazing cave room enormous with all you could ask for in comfort and ammenties. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was tremendous great variety. I couldn't ask for me in a Hotel..
The Cappadocia area is really fasinating a conducted tour was well worth having hot air ballooning a must. The additional charge to go and see The Dark Church which isn't included in the entrance cost to the Open Air Museum is spectacular and well worth the additional 8TL

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is an attractive hotel in a hilltop village. We had a suite with a double bed in a large cave, with an enormous bathroom. It was great to sit on the lawn in the evening enjoying the view over the distant hills. Breakfast was acceptable. At times service was rushed, perhaps because of a shortage of staff. This was a good base for exploring Cappodocia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a find! We were actually upgraded to a "better" room (larger, with a private terrace and entrance) upon arrival but upon inspection of each option, I decided the "hobbit" room (near the back of the hotel property, facing Pigeon valley, with a descent down a set of stairs into the mountainside) was much more to my liking. It was so fun staying in a cave hotel - if you're like me and love the whimsical and unique, you'll love Taskonaklar. Even though the caves are ancient, all the rooms have the comforts of any modern hotel.

The food is fantastic as well, and just a short hike up the hill at the center of town is great cafe called... Center Cafe. Order the shepherd salad and spaghetti bolognese - you can thank me later!

Lounge on the grassy terrace overlooking the valley, enjoy tea and cakes, bask in the sunshine, hide under an umbrella, and enjoy the quiet! The manager is so kind and will help you arrange driving tours, hot air balloon rides, and special dinner requests. And go for a hike on your own to explore the valley and paths below the hotel. You'll love it! This is probably the best value for money we spent in all of Turkey!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priskilly707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband, myself and our student son stayed here for a couple of nights last week. We found the service charming though dinner was not provided one evening and so we went to Elai (highly recommended by another writer, which was a ghastly experience - rude and chaotic service and deeply average food). Both our rooms were charming and full of character and everything one could need. The view from the terrace is great and a delicious breakfast.
Couldn't recommend the place more highly for a couple of days in the Cappodoccia region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

In common with other reviewers we were unsure which village to stay in for our 10 day break in Cappadocia. We chose with the help of tablet.com. Uchisar is a great base for staying in the area - particularly if you choose to hire a car. It is 4km walk or 6km drive from the more commercial, backpackery Goreme and a stunning, quiet location. There were plenty of nice restaurants and the beautiful original village to explore.

Taskonaklar has an amazing location overlooking Pigeon Valley - unbeatable. On arrival the receptionist expressed surprise that we were planning to stay so long, as most people it seems stay only a few days. He showed no enthusiasm or knowledge of the area. I would say that the 10 days flew by and we had plenty to do and see. After we had stayed for a week, we lost patience with the poor service after the chairs in our room and the table from our outside area were removed to create a bar area for a tour group while we were out. We asked to see the manager who said he would investigate and come back to us. He never did, but the furniture was replaced after another day.

When staying in a hotel for an extended stay it is important to get a good night's sleep - not a problem at all here, and also to feel welcome. It was this that was more of a problem. The service was inconsistent and depended on how many other guests were in the hotel. Sometimes we were offered tea and cake in the afternoon, sometimes we weren't. Sometimes we got toiletries replenished in the room, sometimes we had to ask. We gave up asking for recommendations and help with booking tables after the first few days and used tripadvisor instead. I appreciate consistency and knowing what to expect as a part of feeling welcome. This was lacking.

The room was beautiful. We stayed in room 109 and had a beautiful indoor and outdoor space. We were there in mid September and were lucky enough to have evenings warm enough to sit outside.

I think Taskonaklar could be an amazing hotel. It sounds from other reviews that it is dependent on who you encounter. I can't recommend it based on our experience, but will eagerly read future reviews to see other people's experiences.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a room with outside space with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenbarnesOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolgaakr, Owner at Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Helen,
First of all I would like to thank you for all your nice comments about Taskonaklar, but more importantly for your feedback on how we can serve better and improve.
Unfortunately, as you describe we had some management issues during the past month as I had to be away from the hotel due to two weddings in the family, mine and my sister's! This, of course is no excuse at all and we shouldn't have let you down with such an inconsistent service. Please accept my sincere apologies. It makes me really sad to see that after creating such a beautiful and extraordinary hotel we weren't able to back it up with great service to you at some unfortunate times.
However, I am happy to say that we have restructured our management system by putting an on sight general manager at all times as well as we, the owner family, always being present at the hotel.
I am certain that this change truly will assure a great service at all times all around the year and our guests will be able to enjoy the true beauty of Taskonaklar with an even better service.
I am truly excited about all the beauties and charm that my future wife in a week will be adding to the hotel and make our guests feel that how much the hotel is loved and how our guests are important to us. The biggest happiness for us is to read the e-mails saying how their friends or family enjoyed Taskonaklar and thus recommended them to definitely stay with us.
Please be sure that, you can absolutely be certain and undoubted about recommending us.

I would like to thank you once again to direct us for making a change and improve ourselves.

Kind regards,
Tolga Akarcali, the husband to be :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 28 in Uchisar
683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 28 in Uchisar
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
#15 of 28 in Uchisar
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel

Property: Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel
Address: Gedik Sok. No: 8, Uchisar, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taskonaklar was built in respect with the nature and history. Every stone, every arch, every old chimney was preserved while Taskonaklar was brought to life. That’s why not one room is similar to another and each room has its own character, where simplicity is blended with comfort.You start your day with an amazing home-made open buffet breakfast with home-made jams, freshly baked pastries and cakes, various cheeses and much more. Within five minutes of walk from Taskonaklar lies a valley that will take you to another world. You are now actually a part of the amazing scenery you were watching from the terrace of your room; the Pigeon Valley... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing