We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, let down by service”
Review of Taskonaklar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taskonaklar
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location, let down by service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

In common with other reviewers we were unsure which village to stay in for our 10 day break in Cappadocia. We chose with the help of tablet.com. Uchisar is a great base for staying in the area - particularly if you choose to hire a car. It is 4km walk or 6km drive from the more commercial, backpackery Goreme and a stunning, quiet location. There were plenty of nice restaurants and the beautiful original village to explore.

Taskonaklar has an amazing location overlooking Pigeon Valley - unbeatable. On arrival the receptionist expressed surprise that we were planning to stay so long, as most people it seems stay only a few days. He showed no enthusiasm or knowledge of the area. I would say that the 10 days flew by and we had plenty to do and see. After we had stayed for a week, we lost patience with the poor service after the chairs in our room and the table from our outside area were removed to create a bar area for a tour group while we were out. We asked to see the manager who said he would investigate and come back to us. He never did, but the furniture was replaced after another day.

When staying in a hotel for an extended stay it is important to get a good night's sleep - not a problem at all here, and also to feel welcome. It was this that was more of a problem. The service was inconsistent and depended on how many other guests were in the hotel. Sometimes we were offered tea and cake in the afternoon, sometimes we weren't. Sometimes we got toiletries replenished in the room, sometimes we had to ask. We gave up asking for recommendations and help with booking tables after the first few days and used tripadvisor instead. I appreciate consistency and knowing what to expect as a part of feeling welcome. This was lacking.

The room was beautiful. We stayed in room 109 and had a beautiful indoor and outdoor space. We were there in mid September and were lucky enough to have evenings warm enough to sit outside.

I think Taskonaklar could be an amazing hotel. It sounds from other reviews that it is dependent on who you encounter. I can't recommend it based on our experience, but will eagerly read future reviews to see other people's experiences.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a room with outside space with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenbarnesOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolgaakr, Owner at Taskonaklar, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Helen,
First of all I would like to thank you for all your nice comments about Taskonaklar, but more importantly for your feedback on how we can serve better and improve.
Unfortunately, as you describe we had some management issues during the past month as I had to be away from the hotel due to two weddings in the family, mine and my sister's! This, of course is no excuse at all and we shouldn't have let you down with such an inconsistent service. Please accept my sincere apologies. It makes me really sad to see that after creating such a beautiful and extraordinary hotel we weren't able to back it up with great service to you at some unfortunate times.
However, I am happy to say that we have restructured our management system by putting an on sight general manager at all times as well as we, the owner family, always being present at the hotel.
I am certain that this change truly will assure a great service at all times all around the year and our guests will be able to enjoy the true beauty of Taskonaklar with an even better service.
I am truly excited about all the beauties and charm that my future wife in a week will be adding to the hotel and make our guests feel that how much the hotel is loved and how our guests are important to us. The biggest happiness for us is to read the e-mails saying how their friends or family enjoyed Taskonaklar and thus recommended them to definitely stay with us.
Please be sure that, you can absolutely be certain and undoubted about recommending us.

I would like to thank you once again to direct us for making a change and improve ourselves.

Kind regards,
Tolga Akarcali, the husband to be :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    54
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
168
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

In planning our trip to Cappadocia, it was unclear the difference among the different cities that comprise the area. We stumbled on the Taskonaklar Boutique Hotel courtesy of tablethotels.com; within 5 minutes of arrival, we realized exactly what a special find this is! Like many of the hotels in the area, the Taskonaklar incorporates caves and remodeled dwellings to create a 'patchwork campus' in the town if Uchisar which sits on top of the mountain overlooking Goreme. For all of the tourists, backpackers and travel services screaming from the main streets of Goreme, Uchisar has none of these distractions, and feels like an authentic town in Eastern Turkey, complete with a castle marking the highest point in Cappadocia.

The hotel has all of the modern amenities: free wifi, high-end bathrooms, and comfortable furnishings with a taste of the region's history. Each room as an outdoor space overlooking the Pigeon Valley, with amazing views of the sunrise. It is worth the extra money to upgrade to one of the suites, as the private terraces make a great respite after a dusty day exploring the wonders of Cappadocia. The area in which the hotel is located is very quiet - the neighbors are mostly local villagers who have lived in the area for generations. You will find no tour groups, loud party-goers or backpackers.

The service is impecable, and the staff will make every effort to accomodate your requests (including purchasing fresh fruit to have available in your room). The dinners served there are a relaxing treat, prepared from the freshest ingredients, and served under the stars overlooking the valley.

As the hotel is located in Uchisar, be prepared to take a taxi, or drive down to Goreme for additional dining options, and some of the best tour providers in the area. The hotel will arrange taxis which are inexpensive, and take about 10 minutes to Goreme.

We cannot say enough wonderful things about this property. Anyone contemplating a trip to amazing Cappadocia must stay here!

Room Tip: It is worth the extra money to upgrade to one of the suites, as the private terraces make a great re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We arrived here after an EARLY flight from Istanbul and didn't expect to be checked in immediately: we were. This is always such a big treat I feel like selling my first born to the proprietor - henceforth, we were grateful and I'm still looking for a child to sell.

The setting is idyllic. The rooms dotted around, appearing glued to the side of the hill and looking out over Goreme. It's quite captivating. As is the beautifully attended courtyard garden with a thick green lawn and easy seating.

The rooms are sublime. Small, maybe, but perfectly appointed. The arched ceiling in ours and the fireplace (pre-stacked with kindling, not kindles) along with the easy chair, immaculate small bathroom and ample storage space made a cool respite from the frankly quite grumpy heat that this part of Turkey slaps you in the face with. Worth knowing we'd booked the cheapest room available... it didn't feel that way.

Anyway, we had odd shaped stones to photograph. We arrived back having missed dinner but instead being given warm jackets - free of charge and full of initiative - to prep us for our balloon ride the following morning (but that's another hot air story)...

On our return a Turkish breakfast greeted us (well the proprietor did, but you know what I mean) and we ambled downstairs to smell fresh coffee, tea, breads, fried aubergine, more breads, cheese, some breads and fruit.

Delicious. As is this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Before writing our comment I'd like to tell you about the other tourists' reaction which was in the bus with us but not stayin in Taskonaklar, it was hilarious. Think you are going down this very narrow street in the middle of the town and in just one second you see a pearl named Taskonaklar on your rightside. I remember all the tourists saying "WOW", and they were right.

We spent two nights in a beautiful suit with a great balcony overlooking Guvercinlik Valley. Breakfast, hospitality, hygene, style everything were great. There are many things to write about but if you want quality time, Taskonaklar must be your first choice.

You can both feel very remote and distant from all the noise and tourist attractions but also if you want to take a look around and live that touristic feeling everywhere is a 5 minute walk around you (Uchisar Castle etc.). And I have to mention that maybe one of the best restaurants in Turkey (yes I am saying this as a person living in Istanbul) is again a 5 minute walk from Taskonaklar (It is called Elai). This place is a must go and for sure we will visit Taskonaklar again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burak O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tolgaakr, Owner at Taskonaklar, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Burak,
Thank you very much for all your nice comments. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we made a nice touch to your experience in Cappadocia.
Hope to see you again at Taskonaklar!
Taskonaklar Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The dinner we had both nights of our stay was absolutely amazing! I am a vegetarian and they prepared special requests for me. The service was fantastic and the staff were extremely friendly. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It was perfect holiday. Everything was perfect. The breakfast was stunnig. Nothing like i have ever seen before they really mean it when they say homemade. Sunrise and sunset were amazing. Hope to be there again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emresefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa Gauteng
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had the privelegde to be a guest at Hotel Taskonaklar. It was truly a special experience. The room gave you a feeling of living "in a cave" but with style, it was spacious, comfortable, and they spoiled us with the most luxurious bathroom amenities. The most breathtaking view awaited us at breakfeast every morning. The staff were very friendly and assisted with all our sight seen request, which made it an unforgetable visit and experience. Cant wait to go back. Elsa - South Africa

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has its own balcony, so you can enjoy the breathtaking view and remember to wake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Els001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
5.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 30 in Uchisar
698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
Uchisar Kaya Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#6 of 30 in Uchisar
718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Takaev Cave Hotel & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taskonaklar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonaklar

Property: Taskonaklar
Address: Gedik Sok. No: 8, Uchisar, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#4 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taskonaklar 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taskonaklar was built in respect with the nature and history. Every stone, every arch, every old chimney was preserved while Taskonaklar was brought to life. That’s why not one room is similar to another and each room has its own character, where simplicity is blended with comfort.You start your day with an amazing home-made open buffet breakfast with home-made jams, freshly baked pastries and cakes, various cheeses and much more. Within five minutes of walk from Taskonaklar lies a valley that will take you to another world. You are now actually a part of the amazing scenery you were watching from the terrace of your room; the Pigeon Valley... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taskonaklar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonaklar Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing