We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 1 week adventure vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kale Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We (2 adults and 3 teenagers) stayed for 7 nights in the family suite at Kale Konak.

We came to Cappadocia to have an adventure week with hiking, riding balloons, and exploring caves. The hotel arranged pick up at Kayseri airport. First impression of the hotel was perfect, we were taken down to our room in a cave right next to the Turkish bath. The kids loved it! The rooms were super quiet, all rooms are spread out within the hotel with very thick stone walls between. We never heard any noise at all in our room - we could not even hear the early morning prayers from the Minarets!

Every morning we were greeted by the friendly staff, with a nice home made breakfast. The breakfast is served with a fantastic view of the landscape. Abdullah and his crew were extremely helpful with advice and bookings of trips, suggestions for hikes, etc. He helped with reservations before we arrived, and to make additional ones once we came there and realized what we wanted to do and see.

Every night after our adventures, we spend an hour in the Turkish bath at the hotel to recover. The hotel is located very centrally in Uchisar, right next to the castle and a short walk (5 min) to the town center.

We highly recommend Cappadocia as an excellent place for adventures, Uchisar is a nice town, a little quieter than Göreme (a short taxi ride away), and Kale Konak is a fantastic hotel both for families and couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrdlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 364 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Kale Konak Cave Hotel in Uchisar for 2 nights while visiting Cappadocia. What a wonderful experience! The staff is so friendly. We even ran into the hotel night manager while in town and he introduced us to his wife, and made us feel like old friends. The views are magnificent from the terrace where we ate breakfast. The food was traditional Turkish. Fresh, tasty and there was plenty of it. The dinner was a little pricey but this hotel had so much to offer, the whole experience was really a bargain. We paid around $140 per night, and for this we received plenty of attention, breakfasts, a very comfortable room in an elegant old building/cave, superlative views. At night it was so quiet it was like we were the only people in the whole town.

Uchisar is very small with not much happening but that made it all the better. One day we hiked to Goreme, which takes about an hour, and caught a Dolmus back to Uchisar for only 2 1/2 lira. So don't let the smallness of the town affect your decision to stay at the Kale Konak. It was great & we thank the staff for making us feel so welcome. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 2 was quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is in a great location next to Uchisar Castle. The patio dining area and the garden area just below overlook a valley with over 20KM views. While we were there a wedding party stopped by for pictures in the garden area overlooking the valley.

The rooms, most in 1500 year old caves, were well appointed and spotless. The hotel is in a quiet area a short walking distance from town. There is a small shopping area 75 meters from the hotel. Breakfast was cooked to order and dinner (extra) had 5 courses and was excellent. Dinner is a fixed menu and changes every day. Make you reservation by 1pm as the chef shoppes every day.

It would be hard to have better service and Abdullah, the manager, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we wanted. He was very helpful in setting up tours and a balloon ride which is a must for Cappadocia.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil and Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My friend and I were intent on having a unique hotel experience when we visited Cappadocia in September and we absolutely did at the Kale Konak. Our host, Abdullah was so gracious and helpful as were the rest of the staff. We got a personal tour of all of the amenities of the place. Abdullah is clearly proud of the wonderful hotel he and his business partner created some years ago. It was a true cave dwelling experience with all of the amenities that you want. The furnishings were fascinating and lovely to behold. Breakfast is served on a delightful patio with a spectacular view of the valleys below. Sitting across the street from the Ushisar Castle, it is the highest hotel in the town.

We especially appreciated Abdullah's help in arranging for us to join a tour at the last minute, he made sure that all of our trips went off without a hitch. It was some of the best service I have experienced from a hotel. Ever.

Everything is Ushisar is within easy walking distance and Goreme is just a short, inexpensive taxi ride away.

I highly recommend staying at the Kale Konak if you want an intimate and charming experience.

Room Tip: Check out the hotel website to get a view of the different rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSullivan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

No doubt, there are many charming and unique cave hotels in the region. But seriously, pick this one. First of all, the location is flat out the best. Right across from the castle, a short walk to the center of town. Stunning views. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, Architectural Digest perfect. Respects the antiquity of the environment, while providing sophisticated touches that are not out of place. The space itself has nooks and crannies so exploring provides a very realistic sense of living in the caves, without claustrophobia, mustiness, etc. Breakfast is wonderful, and served to you, (no cruise-line style buffet, but you do have choices). And finally, the people. Abdullah is so knowledgeable, personable and helpful. The staff are incredibly nice, they really make you feel at home. I was traveling with a friend, we stayed in the Karmerli Dam room - loved it. There are more expensive hotels, the Argos is undeniably stunning, but the Kale Konak has soul - and it is small enough that you're not surrounded by bus loads of tourists like at the CCR. Oh, and re the Uchisar/Goreme decision. We preferred the more intimate feel of Uchisar, and if you don't feel like walking to Goreme for shopping or eating (and why would you, Uchisar has plenty of both), the taxi is cheap. I travel a lot and have high standards, in Istanbul stayed at the Sumahan on the Water - so trust me when I say, this is the perfect choice in Cappadocia.

Room Tip: Being an authentic cave hotel, if you have a problem with stairs, ask Abdullah which rooms are best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for five nights and we could not have been more pleased. Pros: great location right next to the Uchisar Castle; rooms are very large with bathtub and shower; breakfast is great; turkish hammam for guests (available 24/7); great view from the breakfast terrace; and dinner is very good (not included). This hotel is also the most unique place I have ever stayed with plenty of common areas and well decorated. It is the first hotel I have ever spent time exploring the different rooms and halls. Cons: room was a bit humid (it is a cave after all); and Uchisar is a quieter area not in the main tourist districts (this was a plus for us, but it might be a minus for someone looking to be where the action is).
What set this hotel apart from other places, however, is the service. Abdullah and his staff were fantastic and perhaps the best service I have ever received from a hotel. One of the several examples of how they go out of their way was when our balloon ride was delayed, (making us late for our per-arranged day tour), Abdullah ensured the tour pick-up waited for us and then put together a breakfast "to-go", since we wouldn't have time to eat at the hotel (and we hadn't book the tour through Kale Konak). He also provided very useful information before our trip. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We choose the Samanlik room. It was beyond our expectations and was a true cave room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGP613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Kale Konak Cave Hotel. If you are going to visit Cappadocia, staying in a cave hotel is an absolute must. This is an incredibly charming hotel run by staff who are equally charming and lovely. The guest rooms and public spaces are comfortable and uniquely furnished with antiques. The hotel's hammam (which we made our private hammam as the owner told us we could lock the doors since we were on honeymoon) is a blissful retreat after a cold morning of hot air balloon riding. We ended up dining at the hotel for dinner almost every night. The meals were so delicious and, as the owner described, is very much Turkish home cooking. I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmberNatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.2 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#8 of 30 in Uchisar
395 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 30 in Uchisar
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ansia Hotel
Ansia Hotel
#1 of 30 in Uchisar
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 30 in Uchisar
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kale Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Address: Kale Sokak No 9, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range: $114 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kale Konak Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kale Konak welcomes its guests in a typical Turkish mansion with cave and old stoned rooms dating back to the first centuries that has been totally and tastefully renovated while maintaining its original charm and elegance. Kale Konak is situated just next to the Uchisar Castle from where you can appreciate a breathtaking view of the entire Cappadocia and the Argeus Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kale Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kale Konak Hotel Uchisar
Kale Konak Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing