We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If there is Heaven on Earth, it IS the Kale Konak, Uçhisar!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kale Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If there is Heaven on Earth, it IS the Kale Konak, Uçhisar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Our Turkey holiday began with our stay in Uçhisar, at the picturesquely stunning Hotel Kale Konak, nestled amid the spectacular Uçhisar Valley, underneath the tall and imposing Uçhisar castle. We knew nothing about this cave hotel, and it turned out to be a thoroughly captivating and charming experience.

First off, we were welcomed warmly by the owner Abdullah and his beloved Great Dane, Zeus. Abdullah took us on a tour of the hotel, and we instantly fell in love with the rooms, which are reached through a series of tunnels which almost got us lost, but it was an adventure each day for us to find our way around the tunnels. At night, the bed was so large and so comfortable, that we had the best sleep ever, of our entire 25 days holiday in Turkey! The friendly housekeeping staff ably supervised and managed by the ever-smiling and helpful Emel made our stay a memorable experience. The hotel itself has been furnished in an antique style besides having all modern amenities. Maintaining the cleanliness of the rooms is probably difficult as bits of the tufa walls keep falling down, and yet the rooms were immaculately clean and beautifully maintained!

We stayed in Kale Konak for thee nights only, but my wife wished that she could have stayed there longer. Emel’s beautifully laid out breakfast each morning was a work of art! Her home-made jams and menemen, which was to die for, made breakfast time an event we looked forward to very eagerly. Hats off to Emel for the excellent care and creativity she put into each and every breakfast that was served to us, and also to the housekeeping staff for their superb hospitality-training and being ever willing and obliging to help out, and their minute attention to all details and aspects.

The other amenities like the complimentary use of the Hamam, the fact that Abdullah was always present to help you out and guide you about the routes to take to various places, and provide very useful recommendations on the surroundings and the available activities, all contributed to making our stay in Kale Konak unforgettable! Sitting on comfortable bean chairs, with Abdullah and Emel on the flawlessly landscaped terrace, with a cup of tea or cold drink, looking up at Uçhisar Castle, or at the magnificent valley below the hotel, was pure paradise. Kale Konak was unquestionably, undeniably and absolutely our favorite hotel from all the hotels we stayed at during our 25 days vacation in Turkey, and personally, one of the most unique, distinctive and exclusive we have seen so far. Not only because of the breathtaking scenery and views, the spotlessly exquisite rooms, but primarily and chiefly, because our hosts made us feel so very welcome and “at home!” Undeniably and truly the best and only option we would recommend whole-heartedly to anyone visiting Cappadocia. We will surely miss Emel and her breakfasts, and Abdullah and Zeus, until we can go back again to Kale Konak.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron007HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
135
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed in Kale Konak for 2 nights in May 2011 and it has been a wonderful experience.

The structure of the building is beautiful and very fascinating, as the hotel is a traditional Cappadocian villa composed by cave rooms.
The location is great, the hotel is on top of a hill and has a very suggestive view of the underneath valley.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and will try in any way to make your stay memorable. There is
great attention for details, everything felt tailor-made and customized for us, even the room cleaning.
Indeed, the housekeeping staff managed to pleasantly surprise us with the maximum care and a bit of creativity. :)

The management speak multiple languages and can provide very useful recommendations on the surroundings and the available activities: air balloons, underground cities, trekking...

If you are visiting Cappadocia, Kale Konak definitely is a must-stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto-Xodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

My family and I stayed 3 nights here in a cave room. The rooms are large, the bathrooms quite beautiful and well-appointed. The public areas are also beautiful. Situated just below the Uchisar Castle, the breakfast area/garden and patio all look over the valley - very beautiful. The breakfast was terrific with lots of selection. Abdullah was very kind and welcoming and we really enjoyed getting to know him and Zeus. Soft jazz plays all day and into the evening throughout the property. While this is lovely, we found that there wasn't a place to escape the music, if you so wanted. While Abdullah and staff turned off the music when we asked, I wonder if it was possible to just turn off the music in the hallways where the rooms are? That way the music can be enjoyed in the common areas but if you wanted absolute peace you could retire to your room.
Hamam, and free use of it, was a wonderful touch. We, too, also enjoyed a meal and were very happy with the value and quality.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patches07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We loved Kale Konak and were so impressed by their hospitality we extended our stay just to enjoy it more. We were impressed by the amenities (complimentary use of the Hamam for example) and the hospitality of the staff, who helped us with everything we needed. Fantastic views, excellent food, and a hotel that really does feel like a castle. Just outside the hotel walls, we found a great informal restaurant, a market, the Fairy Castle, and many great treks. The manager, Abdullah, gave us great advice for hiking Uchisar's many valleys, and we will miss him and his staff until we see them again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GargoyleAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Our stay at Kale Konak was delightful. The room, view from the eating area, service, hamam, and breakfast were all wonderful. We also had dinner at the hotel one evening, and the food was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel, including paying extra for the private hamam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Char-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

I didn't know anything about this cave hotel but Argeus Travel booked me in there. It was a delightful surprise. The first night I stayed in a cave room but I switched rooms the next night for something brighter. The staff was very accomidating. Abdullah and his three great Danes are excellent company and overall the place has a lovely vibe.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed for a few days at Kale Konak, and it was the best hotel of our holiday. The hotel is at the top of Uchisar, just below the "castle" and has gret views from the roof-top terace garden. The staff were very helpful and attentive - Abdullah helped us sort out a taxi to the underground city and an excursion to most of the other sites much more cheaply than we were expecting. We had a cave room (9) which was huge, very clean and nicely decorated. We had a double bed and two single beds in an annex. There was no TV (we didn't miss it) and no air-conditioning (the room was a very pleasant temperature even though it was about 30C outside). We didn't see any other rooms. Breakfast was like a work of art, and the terrace setting was wonderful. If you get up early enough you can watch the hot-air balloons as you're eating. We tried the Turkish bath (which is free for guests) and was very nice - we had it completely to ourselves. We also ate at the hotel two evenings - they have a fixed menu. The food was excellent and good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nei_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.2 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#6 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
3.3 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kale Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Property: Kale Konak Cave Hotel
Address: Kale Sokak No 9, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#1 Family Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kale Konak Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kale Konak welcomes its guests in a typical Turkish mansion with cave and old stoned rooms dating back to the first centuries that has been totally and tastefully renovated while maintaining its original charm and elegance. Kale Konak is situated just next to the Uchisar Castle from where you can appreciate a breathtaking view of the entire Cappadocia and the Argeus Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Kale Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kale Konak Hotel Uchisar
Kale Konak Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing