We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice accident” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kale Konak Cave Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here after the hotel we had booked for 2 rooms lost our reservations on a change of ownership. We found out the night before arrival. Our brilliant travel agent (Mehmet, Argeus Travel, Urgup) moved the heavens and got us into Kale Konak.

This is an excellent and interesting boutique hotel with a mix of cave and non-cave rooms. They are all beautifully furnished and which one you might choose is a matter of personal taste. The view from the rooftop and the garden restaurant are all you might expect from an elevated site in Cappadocia. Take a cold beer onto the roof and watch the light fade over the valleys and the fairy chimneys, then turn and see the mass of Uchisar Castle towering behind you seemingly close enough to touch.

The food was fresh, well priced and seemingly endless.

But, even given all this, it is the hospitality of Emel and Abdullah that will stay with you as you reluctantly leave. He is justly proud of his hotel and his staff; she is just a delight. Everything with a smile and usually before you had thought of it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastravellers53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
135
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Once every so often something really wonder-filled is placed into your life and the lives of those whom you share it with.

For me, Kale Konak and staff was one of those encounters!!!!!

St. Augustine wrote in the 5th C.E. "The world is a book, and those who do not travel, read only one page."

Travel makes us interesting and interested in new experiences of which we by providence or a conspiracy of accidents places within our life-journey's reach.

Arriving at the hotel ... I was first taken by the one of a kind view and that was the preface. Moreover I was stunned that no matter where I ventured to in this surreal life-scape, full of sights, sounds, and hospitality, the Kale Konak was literally the top of this lunar-landing site! What a book ...

Cave rooms, expertly carved by artisans with unmatchable skill. They must have had an interior connect from birth with Cappadocia because it is reflected in these fantasticly tasteful spaces. Earlier in my life-journey I opened the first Sheraton Suites in the world as the General Manager. I now know what a true luxury room is meant to look like!

Nevertheless, no matter how excellent the ship without wind ... it cannot sail.

Hence Troy rose to prominence in the ancient world because to get up to the Bosporus explores,merchants, and Emperors needed favorable winds to navigate the strong currents of the Dardanelles.

The ship at Kale Konak was powered by a staff who filled the hotels sails with a contemporary form of scared hospitality. I was most thankful to Emel. Her graciousness was infectious and her passion for people inspired everyone ... guest and staff alike.

An excellent selection of the Regions best wines eases weary bones and its magical affect reminds me that in this the Italians got it right: "In vino veritas."

My stay proves Mark Twains insight to be true. So listen to his words carefully and act!

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the things you did. So throw off the bow lines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the free wind in your sails" and make sure to moor at the kale Konak in this land of a thousand smiles!!!

Patrick Olson
South lake Tahoe , California

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Although Uchisar is a small village at the base of the "cave castle" that is the highest point in Cappadocia, the "Kale Konak" is a charming boutique hotel with amazingly unique rooms that, never-the-less, have very upscale bathrooms, delightful breakfasts - with the possibility of planned dinner -, a private Turkish bath (hammam), several reading/gathering rooms at the center of several guest rooms that would be great for families, and a lovely, small staff who are warm and eager to please.
info@kalekonak.com
www.kalekonak.com
Veli TOREN is GM
0 384 219 28 28 (telephone)

Room Tip: Two cave rooms(10 and 11), also rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimicarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Can't recommend this place enough. Its in a great location on the hill overlooking the beautiful valley. The Hotel itself has been beautifully renovated and very tastefully decorated. The staff are all very helpful, particulalry the manager who is charming. THe private hamam was a treat we were expecting and we loved it. Overall a wonderful place to stay in Uchisar, highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose either cave room or room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbarellanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

My friend and I enjoyed a spectacular trip to Turkey which included 2 nights in Cappadocia. We stayed at a wonderful hotel, Kale Konak. I cannot say enough about how wonderful it was. The rooms were delightful and all different. The view took our breath away. Our host was so warm and genuine, and the food was delicious. I now want to go back with my family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauramdavis90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Staff really nice, very helpful and sympathic. Food relly feels like home made delicatessen. One of the highlights!
Room is comfortable, well decorated in a rustic style within the rocky walls... Really interesting. AMAZING VIEW TO THE REGION.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BernardoTinoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

The Kale Konak offers amazing views, great food, and warm smiles. This boutique hotel exemplifies the very best in Turkish hospitality. The staff will do whatever it takes to ensure your happiness. The rooms are traditional cave-style suites, and they are spacious and inviting. The terraces are a fantasic place to enjoy a glass of wine and take in the spectacular valleys. My stay was absolutely perfect, nothing more could have been done to make it any better.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktier77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.2 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.3 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 27 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kale Konak Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kale Konak Cave Hotel

Property: Kale Konak Cave Hotel
Address: Kale Sokak No 9, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Uchisar
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kale Konak Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kale Konak welcomes its guests in a typical Turkish mansion with cave and old stoned rooms dating back to the first centuries that has been totally and tastefully renovated while maintaining its original charm and elegance. Kale Konak is situated just next to the Uchisar Castle from where you can appreciate a breathtaking view of the entire Cappadocia and the Argeus Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Kale Konak Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kale Konak Hotel Uchisar
Kale Konak Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing