We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, great wine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Argos in Cappadocia
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Views, great wine”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Cappadocian hotel is highly recommended for those seeking a luxury experience in Cappadocia. It is very well located in Uchisar, just a 15 minute walk to the Uchisar castle, within minutes drive or an hour hike to Goreme and its position on the hillside offers great views throughout the day of Cappadocia and Pigeon valley. The hotel grounds and rooms definitely blend into the natural surroundings and landscape and is a very picturesque hotel.

During the summers there are concerts held in the main event hall of the Argos which is a great experience to hear an orchestra playing in an ancient monastic cave.

The service is quite good for the price you are paying, the guest relations manager (who is very attentive to guest's needs and is very outgoing) conducts daily tours of the hotel to explore the caves and terraces and hidden secrets of this historic area, which was once a monastery. In general though, it is a very fun and intriguing hotel to explore.

The rooms are very spacious. Definitely opt for a cave room, as it is unique and characteristic of the region. BUT, be warned that most cave rooms do not come with windows and are surprisingly hot inside, even at night when the outside temperatures drop, and Argos does not have any form of air conditioning inside the cave rooms. This is the only downside to an otherwise unique and cool experience.

Their main restaurant has great seating and views, while the breakfast is ok at best, the dinners are amazing, especially the slow roast lamb shoulder is not to be missed.

Argos has a very nice cave wine cellar and offers guests a unique and tasty wine tasting experience within its caves. They offer a Turkish or Cappadocia wine tasting, we opted for the Cappadocia one and it was worth it, the selection of Cappadocian wines Argos has are all very good, both their whites and reds. The wine tasting/ F&B staff are all very friendly, and knowledgeable about Turkish wine and culture which made for an informative and one of a kind wine tasting experience inside the caves of Cappadocia.

This is a great hotel in Cappadocia for those seeking a bit of seclusion, romance, luxury, or high end comfort, oh and the views. I'd say if anything, simply have a drink here or a meal here for the food/ wine and view if you do not want to or cannot stay here. The wine and view are definitely worth it. It is definitely most suited for couples and families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    83
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
137
351
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I couldn't recommend this hotel any more. The overall hotel is a unique experience in itself. The rooms are cosy, the views are stunning, the restaurant serves some of the best food in area. Most importantly, the staff was incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful. I planned a trip for 15 very picky people and we not only enjoyed our time, but truly fell in love with Cappadocia because of our experience at the Argos in Cappadocia hotel. If you are lucky enough to make your way to this pocket of the world, there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjb_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed in Room 3504 for 3 nights and loved it. The room was built into the mountain and located right by an area that overlooked the landscape where all of the hot air balloons launch from. If you're into photography at all, check what time sunrise is and set your alarm because this is a perfect location for some very cool shots. Make sure to take the tour if the facility that they give nightly at 6 pm. The wine cellar is a must see. 70,000 bottle capacity! This was one of the most unique hotels that we've stayed at and really completed the full Cappadocia experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aameer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Perfect view. Feels like home. Modern and very cosy design. Travelled with a group of families with kids aged 8 and 12. They also loved the place. Must visit the tunnels, cellars and Bezirhane in the hotel. The owners achieved to create a very modern setting without losing the Cappadocia spirit. Just bring all your books and read while drinking the house wine and watching the scenery at the terrace.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elif Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This property is truly amazing, and has a little bit of everything from Cappadocia, from caves, to underground tunnels, to a huge wine cellar and amazing rooms. Additionally, the staff is incredibly friendly and well trained; they truly seem to enjoy their jobs!

MAKE SURE NOT TO MISS THE RESTAURANT. The food is very authentic, grown locally, and tastes incredible. We were fortunate enough to be able to watch a full moon rise over the hills as we sat out on the patio, which is something I will never forget!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Argos is the perfect example of tasteful luxury - its stoney and cave-like decor was totally in keeping with the town of Uchisar and the region more generally.

The cliff-side balconies (both in some rooms and by the restaurant) and the open and multi-layered design of the hotel ensure that the stunning landscapes of Cappadocia are always in view. I also agree with a previous poster, that the location close to a nearby mosque really adds to the ambience when the call to prayer sounds out across the town.

The food was delicious, and the local wine choice excellent. The hotel arrange for balloon-tours with the most reputable company, and can also arrange walking/horseback tours. Without fail, the staff are incredibly helpful and always looking to enhance your experience.

And of course, the Splendid Suites at the hotel are among the most impressive hotel rooms I've ever seen.

Only area of improvement is that it would benefit greatly from a spa area (I believe this is being built), which would add to the total-relaxation and chillout vibe of the hotel.

Room Tip: The stone rooms are a great value option but this hotel is
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_B111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel in all it’s natural beauty and grandeur made for a simply dreamy stay in Cappadocia. Argos managed to combine culture, serenity and pure luxury in impeccable fashion. With the beautiful sound of the Islamic call to prayer as well as the opulent cave rooms and complementary bottle of Cappadocian wine and dried fruit, we truly felt emerged into the Turkish culture and Uchisar in particular.

My boyfriend and I were undoubtedly the youngest in the hotel, in our early 20s but found the hotel to be simply paradise, and other guests as welcoming as the staff. I would highly recommend the room with the swimming pool on the lower level as it was divine.

If you are considering staying in Cappodocia, there is no better place to stay other than the Argos.

Room Tip: Definitely choose one of the two rooms with a swimming pool, we stayed in both, my boyfriend preferr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#14 of 30 in Uchisar
698 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#7 of 30 in Uchisar
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 30 in Uchisar
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 30 in Uchisar
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argos in Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argos in Cappadocia

Property: Argos in Cappadocia
Address: | Kayabaşi Sok. No: 23, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Family Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Argos in Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting blend of two thousand years of history, passionate devotion to authenticity and traditions of hospitality along with design, the 51 room boutique hotel argos in Cappadocia must be experienced to be believed... argos in Cappadocia includes an outstanding 80-seat indoor and outdoor Seki Restaurant-Lounge-Cellar serving local and regional dishes as well as international fare. The hotel's huge wine collection, housed in its own wine cellar underneath the restaurant showcases bottles from its own vineyards as well as other local selections... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Argos in Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argos In Cappadocia Hotel Uchisar
Argos In Cappadocia Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing