We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argos in Cappadocia
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Every now and then we anti up the fee and splurge. From the reviews on TA we did just that and were not disappointed. The hotel is exquisite and lovingly maintained. The grounds are manicured and the quality of the fit and finish is great for America, let alone Turkey. There is a warmth to this property that will bring us back again and again. I've hung a panoramic view we shot from the balcony and the view from the lounge is absolutely spectacular.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ObanSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
There are newer reviews for Argos in Cappadocia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 720 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

We would highly recommend this Hotel. It has a lovely warm feel about it and we thoroughly enjoyed our three nights there. The position is spectacular with lovely comfortable reception rooms. We had asked for a room with a window, which we had, but the room we were given was at the top of the property, and a long way from Reception and the Restaurant, which meant a lot of steps all the time and was also very noisey with building work next door. The room was airless with only a fan, no air conditioning and so constantly warm. The staff were very friendly and on the morning we were leaving showed us their cellars and the old oil factory, which is now a reception room. We wished we had been shown these earlier in our stay. It was very full when we were there, as it was a public holiday, and they unfortunately forgot to tell us they put their clocks back on the Saturday. We were an hour early for our tour! The food was very average for such a lovely Hotel and on two nights we had dinner at a Restaurant up the street. I felt the Hotel was beautiful but the staff needed more tranining.

Room Tip: Get a room nearer Reception unless you love climbing steps. Also one with larger windows to get the...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pamela021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

An amazing and magical place to stay. Amazing view. Wonderful staff. Quiet and serene.

Its a bit hard to get around from this location if you don't want to take a cab. There are local buses and it takes a bit to figure out where the transfers etc are. But if you are willing to go through that effort this place is great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HNaresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The facilities of this hotel are perfectly built to go along with the typical Cappadocian landscape: hills and caves carved in stone. Inside you have an outstanding sense of comfort, not only in your room, but also at the reception, at the restaurant and at the lounge (which, by the way, was one of the cosiest rooms I've ever seen).

The decoration of the rooms and common areas is a highlight: warm colours, soft fabrics, lovely pieces of wood furniture... You could tell each item had been hand-picked.

The restaurant / breakfast area is very pleasant, with large windows to a valley. We had dinner there once: if you like lamb, you should definitely try out their super-soft lamb chops. Hummus was excellent and the soup had a very nice flavour, but too spicy for my taste. Breakfast had enough variety and was served politely.

I think that the extra mile that Argos still needs to run regards service. It's not that we were badly treated by the staff, in fact they helped us with the bookings of daily tours and balloon ride, served us toasts on the lounge which weren't in the menu and, overall, were helpful. But we felt that a good "welcomer" was missing, someone charismatic who would show you the different parts of the hotel or at least show availability to do so (we found out an amazing conference room on a cave on our own), give you a short introduction to the hotel's "philosophy" of being environmental-friendly, tell you something about Cappadocia...

On a hotel as homie as this one, I was expecting an outstanding level of service, not just "very good". Things like the hearing the noise made by the lounge's staff, who were talking very loud with each other, should not happen in a charming and luxurious hotel such as Argos.

Of course that these details didn't jeopardise the quality of our stay: we had a wonderful time here and I definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying at Cappadocia!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inesruvina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Four of us stayed for three nights in two rooms next to the hotel restaurant, looking out to the valley. Room, lounge, in-room utilities, food, service, everything you need for a perfect stay, you get it in Argos.

We came in via Istanbul, pre-booked airport transfer, hot air balloon trip, private tour. Guest management is absolutely excellent and the other agency partners are also great. I believe this is important to ensure the guests are getting consistent experience through out the trip. Salute to the service team.

A number of reviews mentioned the climb up and down the stairway between reception, room and restaurant. True, but it's on a hill cave. Unavoidable but still within acceptable range I would say. May be tough for old ppl or those with bad knees and stair problems. We found it rather fine.

We loved the home-like cosyness through out the whole Argos property. If you have the time luxury, spare a day in the premises, Uchisar is also a nice village to explore and enjoy the lounge!

Would definitely try to come back!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank PS_Jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a nice night at Argos on Dec 3 but 1 night was too few for us. Unfortunately, we could spend 1 night only as we were with the local tour. Impressed by the spacious cave room, and full amenities with a fireplace in service upon request, plus a complimentary fruit basket, we enjoyed the warm night while the outside was at 3 degree Celcius only. And thanks to the Receptionists for the pick-up to and from the hotel, and the recommendation to try the Turkish Bath at Goreme. Relaxing and warm massage experience. The hotel restaurant served Italian with a nice window view. Waiters were passionate and made friends with us. Everything was wonderful. Thank you~!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne_To
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending three nights at Argos in Cappadocia in October. This hotel is unforgettable; every detail has been meticulously planned and executed to perfection. And of course, the setting itself is utterly unique and magical. The hotel has gone to admirable lengths to ensure that it seamlessly co-exists with the Cappadocian landscape, and as a result, the entire space is infused with a great sense of serenity. The location in Uchisar is perfect for those seeking a peaceful respite from the the crowds, and I would highly recommend it for couples. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay: a deluxe and a suite (interestingly, we both preferred the deluxe as it was more intimate and enjoyed an incredible view of the valley). We also had virtually all our meals at the hotel's main restaurant (Seki), which was amazing both in terms of food and service (and setting). During our stay, the manager also gave us wonderful tours of the property -- these are not to be missed. The sprawling gardens, underground tunnels, and wine caves gave us great insight into the history of this unique property. My husband and I truly did not want to leave at the end of our stay... if and when we return to the region, we will not stay anywhere but Argos!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank NYC10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 30 in Uchisar
708 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#6 of 30 in Uchisar
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 30 in Uchisar
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argos in Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argos in Cappadocia

Address: | Kayabaşi Sok. No: 23, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Family Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range: $212 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argos in Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting blend of two thousand years of history, passionate devotion to authenticity and traditions of hospitality along with design, the 51 room boutique hotel argos in Cappadocia must be experienced to be believed... argos in Cappadocia includes an outstanding 80-seat indoor and outdoor Seki Restaurant-Lounge-Cellar serving local and regional dishes as well as international fare. The hotel's huge wine collection, housed in its own wine cellar underneath the restaurant showcases bottles from its own vineyards as well as other local selections... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argos in Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argos In Cappadocia Hotel Uchisar
Argos In Cappadocia Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing