We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel in a stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Argos in Cappadocia
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Uchisar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Unique hotel in a stunning location. Very friendly and professional staff. Rooms vary in layout but are all of a high standard and comfort. To sit on the terrace and look over the landscape is a truly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Logesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 733 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

I have travelled all over the world and visited many luxurious hotels but never a place brought out such wonderful emotions like Argos did. Argos for sure is a luxurious place in a dreamlike setting where each detail has been thought of yet you never feel the overburden of such luxury. The staff was always courteous and warm but at the same time very professional. The accommodations are unlike anything you would experience anywhere else, where Cappadocia’s unique character has been converted into each room where you feel as if you are staying in a cave in a very contemporary setting. Cappadocia is a sight not to be missed in your lifetime but Argos only makes the better experience so much better.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Levent Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The enjoyment in staying here is as much about the location as it is about the hotel itself. Nestled high on the hill in Uchisar, the hotel enjoys spectacular views over Pigeon valley. We were booked into a Duplex suite with private roof terraces for each apartment. The furnishings are subtle and understated and allow nature to be the star of the show.

The staff are excellent, incredibly friendly and we really enjoyed the food as well. The owner’s plans to restore the area are inspired and it would be great to go back and see what he has achieved in a few year’s time. The resort is hilly and is not suitable for people with limited mobility. At breakfast time, the bifolds are opened up and you feel like you are sitting in the mountain itself. Only downside is, as commented previously here, the beds are too hard but this should be easy to fix. Overall, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Our stay in Argos in Cappadocia was perfect. Excellent Service. We had our best Dinner during our 4 nights stay in Cappadocia. Very charming and individuell rooms, perfect decoration, very friendly stuff. I'm looking forward for my next stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulgun_Yurdaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Probably the most beautiful in Cappadocia! The views are spectacular, food is outstanding and the service is impeccable. Not to miss, ask the bartender, Volkan Zengin,, for his special drink, Turkish Sunrise, to be savored on the balcony overlooking the castle and Pigeon Valley. It ranks as a 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I'm a journalist who stayed at Argos while I was covering a music festival in Kapadokya in August 2011. I enjoyed four divine days and nights at Argos. I included them in my newspaper review because not only did I think the hotel was special, but because of their important connection to the vitality of the festival. Here is the section from my article about Argos:

Argos’ musical commitment

Ergiyes is a dry volcano looming above the many valleys in Kapadokya’s famously bizarre terrain of caves and vertical projectiles, or “fairy chimneys.” The Greek name for Erciyes is Argos, which creative enterpreneur from Istanbul, Göksin Ilıcalı, took as the name for his hotel in Uçhisar, which has become one of the important venues for Klasik Keyifler. The Argos hotel, perched villa-style on the side of a hill overlooking these natural wonders, has five different buildings remodeled from their previous existence as caves used by ancient civilizations.

One of these is the Bezirhane, an ancient stone caravansaray that was named after the linseed oil that was used medicinally and for lighting fires, and was a resting place for 40 camels and their owners travelling on the Silk Road route. The animals’ feeding troughs carved in the walls are now used decoratively as light sources for events held there. The acoustics for live music are superb and the ambience is romantic.

Owner Ilıcalı, a musician himself, is so enthusiastic about creating a concert life in the Bezirhane that he bought a new grand piano for it. Musicians from around the world congregate there and the hotel is abuzz with performances, often alongside visual art and jewelry exhibits as well. Ilıcalı’s creative approach to hotel life includes many environmental commitments like recycling grape vines into firewood, using old baskets as flower pots, and even the room keys are attached to antique wooden finger covers for reaping corn. The service team reflects Ilıcalı’s enlightened attitude; the atmosphere there is less like a business and more like a dream home away from home. And now with a built-in artistic life that draws from the community and abroad, Argos is becoming a magnetic center for Turkey. Their website lists what’s happening: www.argosincappadocia.com. --Alexandra Ivanoff

Room Tip: Take their personal tour! Each room is different and special. --Also, a side note, the breakfast are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xanthippe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is different to any other hotel have stayed at so not easy to rate Predominantly built into the side of a hill it has magnificent views over the valley
Would be fair to say is a work in progress not that you notice all that much
Our room was small (you get what you pay for) but still felt it was on the expensive side
Giray the manager was very helpfull but was let down by "the showbags" in front office
Would we stay here again?? Probably not once is enough

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CROC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uchisar
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#12 of 30 in Uchisar
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sacred House
Sacred House
#11 of 69 in Urgup
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#8 of 30 in Uchisar
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millstone Cave Suites
Millstone Cave Suites
#5 of 30 in Uchisar
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argos in Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argos in Cappadocia

Address: | Kayabaşi Sok. No: 23, Uchisar 50240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Uchisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Business Hotel in Uchisar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uchisar
#3 Family Hotel in Uchisar
Price Range: $202 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argos in Cappadocia 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting blend of two thousand years of history, passionate devotion to authenticity and traditions of hospitality along with design, the 51 room boutique hotel argos in Cappadocia must be experienced to be believed... argos in Cappadocia includes an outstanding 80-seat indoor and outdoor Seki Restaurant-Lounge-Cellar serving local and regional dishes as well as international fare. The hotel's huge wine collection, housed in its own wine cellar underneath the restaurant showcases bottles from its own vineyards as well as other local selections... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argos in Cappadocia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argos In Cappadocia Hotel Uchisar
Argos In Cappadocia Turkey - Uchisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing