We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, welcoming, and affordable”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Ortahisar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy, welcoming, and affordable”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Castle Inn plays off of the fairytale cave environment in Cappadocia but being down the street from Ortahisar Castle it also adds its unique castle theme to the mix. Indeed, throughout your whole stay there, you will feel like royalty.

The rooms:
The beds are fit for kings, and after a long day of sight-seeing and walking, you will have an incredibly comfortable sleep. The rooms were spotless and very well stocked with toiletries and bed sheets. Despite traveling in the Winter, the room was warm and comfortable, thanks to several electric heaters that were turned on prior to our arrival by the staff.
The arch rooms were spacious and cozy, each with a dresser, nightstands, small table and chairs. The bathrooms for each of the arch rooms were different and gave each room a different flavor. One of the rooms had a jacuzzi bathtub while another had large, spacious, arched, glass windows that brightened up the entire room. Another had a window that offered a view to the gorgeous valley below the hotel.
The cave room is on the bottom floor and is a full dug-out cave remodeled to serve as a room. It was incredibly comfortable and cozy.
All of the rooms were built with an attention to detail. Each decorative item matches the theme of each room and all have a story attached to them. The experience of rooming at Castle Inn is unlike any other.

The location:
Castle Inn is located in Ortahisar, which is in a pretty central location close to Goreme. It is near the top of a high hill that overlooks a valley. On the top of the hill is Ortahisar Castle, which is one of the smaller tourist attractions (at least during the off season when we went). This is great because it pits the hotel in an extremely local environment and you will be able to experience some of the authentic Cappadocian community.

The staff:
The owner, Suat Ulusoy, is a wonderful host. He is a traveler by heart, and built the hotel with the intention of meeting other travelers. He arranged our tours and travel while in Cappadocia, which was extremely helpful. In the late afternoons he would invite us to have tea and chat. The rest of the hotel staff were equally hospitable.

If you are traveling to Cappadocia stay at Castle Inn for the best experience in the area. The rooms are magnificent and at very affordable prices. You will feel like you are in a five star hotel with the charm and coziness of a small, local bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
99
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our stay at Castle Inn was absolutely magical.

My boyfriend and I stayed at Castle Inn for two nights earlier this month, and we were amazed at the world-class service and luxury accommodations at such affordable prices. Suat was extremely helpful and wanted to do everything possible to make our trip absolutely perfect, and he had great recommendations for tours and eats.

Walking into Castle Inn is like walking into medieval times - everything from the building itself to the decorations are castle themed and reflect Suat's extensive travels around the world. It's basically a traveler's paradise.

The rooms are spectacular, each with its own personality and decor that differentiates it from the others. They are personally designed and have a very cozy feel. There's also free wifi and a free mini bar in all of the rooms for convenience, and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful.

What really tipped the scales for us was the top-notch service and friendship that Suat offered us from the very beginning. He really wanted us to feel at home and ensured that we had everything we needed from the beginning to the end. We can't wait to stay in his lovely hotel again!

Room Tip: They're all different! Check them out on the website so that you can choose the best one for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekaydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood Crest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

The accomodation at Castle Inn was way beyond our expectations. Its a little castle. The comfort of the rooms is faultless. Comfortable mattress,clean and fine beddings,nice room decoration,all beverages are free of charge in the minibar of the room,large choice of bath amneties,nice and satisfactory open buffet breakfast.

The owner,Suat Ulusoy is an enthusiastic great host,has history degree, long time balloon pilot,also a traveller,had been many times in the US and has fluent English. He arranged all our needs,balloon ride,daily tours,airport shuttle and others. Happy with his arrangements.

The location of Ortahisar is almost in the middle of Cappadocia,close to Goreme and Urgup. Its not very touristy and crowded where you can see and observe the local life.

Overall, you can stay in a luxury cave hotel but with reasonable prices. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: each room has different design.No doubt you will enjoy by staying in any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Castle Inn really looks like a small castle and gives you a kinda fairytale feeling. There is a lovely terrace on the upper floor, with a fantastic view.

The first 2 nights I stayed in one of the Arch Rooms, which was very pleasant. I even had a fire place facing my bed. The room was spotless clean and bright with a big glass window to the bathroom. The mattress was very good - not too hard and not too soft.

The hotel owner put a lot of effort in the details. He's a collector of antique furniture and has an impressive collection of old telephones, gramophones, Chinese carvings, armor displays and anything else you can imagine. Each room is unique and beautiful in its own way.

After two days I changed to the cave room. It was really like a cave, dark, but very cozy. My jaw dropped when I stepped into the bathroom and saw the jacuzzi. After a long day of walking and sightseeing, this bathtub will save your life.

There is free WiFi all around the hotel, only in the cave the signal is not very good (it works close to the entranc door or window). All rooms come with a flat TV, an impressive old telephone that you can even use it for free for local calls, a fridge, a kettle and free tea/coffee.

The complimentary mini bar for all guests, filled with coke, juice and 2 small bottles of water. There is a closet in every room. The bigger rooms also have a couch which can be extended to a bed.

The breakfast is included and it's basically a traditionally Turkish Breakfast: sausages, olives, feta and yellow cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, omelet, white bread, different kinds of honey and jam, ham and salami. Tea and coffee is free all day.

The Castle Inn Hotel is located in Ortahisar, a few kilometers away from Göreme. Getting around can be a bit tricky as there is no public transportation to Göreme. But the hotel offers organized day trips, starting from €50. If you like an easy and comfortable trip, the day trips are a good option to see Cappadocia.

I had a great time at the Castle Inn, it was a lovely and surreal experience. The owner Suat was always checking if I had everything I needed and tried as much as he could to make me feel at home. And Cappadocia is a natural wonderland, the scenery gives you the feeling you're on a trip to the moon...

Room Tip: Each room is unique, have a look at all of them (if possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365DaysSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our Cappadocia trip was a great success to Suat and Ercu who go out of their way to make their guests feel at home. The hotel setting itself is lovely. Accompanied with friendly staff and excellent service, Castle Inn was a pleasure to stay at during our trip to Cappadocia.
I would strongly suggest Castle Inn to anyone who wants to stay in a place away from the tourist hassle but still within walking distance to one of the landmarks of the region.
I should also add that a trip to Cappadocia without a balloon flight is a wasted opportunity! Royal Balloons is one of the best in the region as they provide a full breakfast before flight and carry less passengers than the balloon's capacity in order to provide some comfort in the air, not to mention that they fly the longest. We were the last balloon to land and the only balloon which flew for 1 hour and 50 minutes!!

Room Tip: Room 22 was quite large and decorated with taste. Placing the bed into space carved out of rock is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 67sunshine67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were so lucky to have stay in This beautiful cave hotel which Suat, the owner make us so comfortable we felt did not felt like we are in a hotel instead we felt like we are in our own home. It is situated in this little town with all the friendly people and the restaurants served really good Turkish food. We came home with lots of wonderful memories especially up in the ballon with Suat piloting it.:)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I actually can't believe the price of the Castle Inn, it's a beautiful boutique hotel. Feels really luxurious and you'll never get better value than this in Cappadocia. And Suat, the owner, is an awesome guy! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onestep4ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hezen Cave Hotel
Hezen Cave Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ortahisar Cave Hotel
Ortahisar Cave Hotel
#8 of 17 in Ortahisar
65 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Tafoni Houses
Tafoni Houses
#3 of 17 in Ortahisar
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: Eski Mahalle, Bahce Sokak, no 5, Ortahisar, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Inn is a small but comfortable, friendly and a nicely designed boutique hotel in Ortahisar town which is very centrally located town in Cappadocia. The hotel itself is originally a very old Greek house and restored carefully to serve a fine accommodation to its guests. The hosts are in tourism business almost two decades and happy to assist you for all your needs in Cappadocia and share their experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing