We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing gem !”
Review of Tafoni Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tafoni Houses
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing gem !”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

After a wonderf 3 night stay I can't fault this hotel is a beautiful boutique hotel with a fantastic family feel not touristy a perfect private escape to enjoy


Great couples stay, well priced, great spa and perfect big pillows. Loved my stay I highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Maraeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you are looking to remember your trip to Cappadocia, the Tafoni Evleri will stand out as a high light and a wonderful place to stay in a town that has much of the charm of an old world Turkish village in the 21st century. The accomodation is first class and the staff make your stay very pleasent, the meals were excellant. This stands out as a memorable experience of our trip to Turkey

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

You have arrived at the Jewel of Cappadocia!!! From the warm welcome, to the gracious and attentive team to satisfy your every request to Traditional Turkish Gourmet Cuisine and well appointed and spacious accomodation ... you will be pampered during your stay at Tafoni Evleri!! Nestled in an interesting rural Turkish village, you are within strolling distance to the town centre!! Enjoy the sights and handicrafts of this region, while experiemcing the culture and tastes of Cappadocia ... definitely a highlight of my visit and hope to return soon!!
Anita, Calgary AB Canada

Room Tip: All rooms/suites are designed with your comfort and luxury at the top of their list!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
15 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The hotel is gorgeous! Beautifully designed and with a unique architecture that makes it a true gem.The high standards of the owner translate into a service that caters to detail and attention to the guests. They all made me feel like a queen! Foodies will love the cuisine experience and wine lovers will enjoy the tastings of unique local wines. We had a beautiful experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JRTPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Amazing hotel!
We stayed here for 2 nights. Oct 2011
Beautifully appointed rooms with stellar service and friendly staff. The service and environment at this hotel is excellent. A great cave hotel experience. Shere luxury!
The attention to detail is just fantastic beautifully furnished rooms.
Bathrooms as big as the bedrooms – with marble walk in shower and gorgeous tub .
Felt like Royalty, having been spoiled and pampered from the moment we arrived. Fabulous meals and the best wine.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Karen742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our stay at Tafoni was outstanding. The room was absolutely beautiful - spacious and luxuriously decorated with a bathroom the size of a hotel room - including a jacuzzi tub and a walk-in marble steam shower. The food was delicious and included local cuisine - a gourmet delight. The service was impeccable and they catered to our every need. The location of this boutique hotel is in a small village with a panoramic view of an ancient castle and a breathtaking canyon. A must see and stay in Cappadocia, Turkey. We would definitely recommend Tafoni Evleri to our friends!

Room Tip: We viewed all the rooms in the hotel & all were beautiful - we would not hesitate to stay in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Joan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.3 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.6 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.4 mi away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#13 of 28 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.3 mi away
Argos in Cappadocia
Argos in Cappadocia
#7 of 28 in Uchisar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.4 mi away
Yunak Evleri
Yunak Evleri
#8 of 65 in Urgup
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tafoni Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tafoni Houses

Property: Tafoni Houses
Address: Eski Mahalle Ortahisar Urgup, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Tafoni Houses 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE PROPERTY With its unique location in Ortahisar Village, literally meaning Middle Fortress, Tafoni Houses offers the discerning traveler convenience of being minutes away from major sites as well as proposing an ambience of seclusion and tranquility. Having thirteen spacious suites that are hosted in ancient cave dwellings, accommodation at Tafoni Houses expresses finess and elegance accessorized by objets d’art and art deco furniture. With its spacious outdoor terraces and lush landscaping, Tafoni Houses offers the aura of a private club where guests can enjoy socially inviting ambiences, or else, they may prefer to disappear for an intimate getaway. Whether the call is for a relaxing massage treatment in your cave or a sip of cocktail while watching the starlit skies with vintage telescopes, at Tafoni Houses you will “Unveil Il Canto di Cappadocia”. Surroundings As soon as the sun rises, upon hearing the ballads of chanting sparrows and hoopoes, you will feel that at Tafoni Houses you are at a fabled place…immersed in an enchanting ambience of pastoral life located in the midst of cave homes of local villagers. Taking a morning hike through the narrow streets and alleys of Ortahisar Village, as a gesture of traditional hospitality, you will be invited into homes of locals that will greet you with warm smiles offering you a glass of home-made lemonade or a slice of halva. Embraced by Greco-Mediterranean stone-built houses, you will be exposed to a non-commercialized, authentic ambience of daily life of the indigenous people that may walk by you with their mules, or flocks of sheep and cattle. If you prefer to walk across from Tafoni Houses, you will reach the view point that has one of the most stunning panoramas of Cappadocia embellished by picturesque rock formations, and surrounding valleys hosting vineyards and fruit orchards. For hikers, bikers and equestrians…surrounding valleys of Tafoni offers breath taking tracks. We invite you to come and experience an amazing ambience of “Undiscovered Cappadocia”. Amenities In Cappadocia time seems to flow with more eloquence. At Tafoni Houses that you will live joyous moments in style enhanced by hospitality of our passionate staff. After spending days of touring exploring the treasures of Cappadocia, you can return to your room to enjoy relaxing moments by immaculate treatments of our masseur. In the late afternoon you are invited to join us at Hookah Terrace to experience smoking the famed tobacco hookah of Turkish culture with the company of a selection of teas on charcoal fire. After dinner, we would like to see you visit us at Galileo Terrace to watch the starlit sky with vintage telescope; an experience unique to Tafoni Houses. If you are in the mood to listen to the songs of the spurs echoing on the steep slopes of surrounding rock formations, join us for a ride on the famous horses of Cappadocia. At Tafoni Houses we are fine-tuned to “wow” you with experiences and sincere hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tafoni Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tafoni Houses Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing