We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily off the beaten track”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Happily off the beaten track”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel was stylish, with a friendly and hospitable staff. The location is off the beaten track, perfect for those who don't want the hustle and bustle of the larger touristy towns. Hezen Cave is located in a safe and quiet residential area. The view of the small town, as viewed from the hotel's patio, is stunning. An excellent restaurant, perfect for dinner, is a ten to fifteen minute walk away. Breakfast was included in our stay. A buffet contains cereals, fruits, yogurt, pastry and an egg menu offers more varieties of egg dishes than I ever thought possible. In addition, there is a washer and dryer on site which can be used by guests free of charge. Be aware, however, that there can be lots of stairs to maneuver, depending on the location of your cave room. The location is somewhat isolated for the typical tourist sites. This can be easily overcome by renting a car or arranging a tour with a reputable company that picks you up in the morning and brings you back at the end of the day. We did the latter and had a marvelous stay in Capadoccia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelilnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
227
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mersin, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,867 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

An unforgettable and unique experience for a Cappadocia traveller.the hotel is situated in Ortahisar village with a breath taking view on the Ortahisar cave castle.this little boutique hotel has only 6 suites and 8 rooms which are furnished in elegant ottoman style.the brand-new elegant & clean bathrooms make you feel the atmosphere of an ottoman palace ham am .the staff and service friendly and effective,the atmosphere like a fairytale.an excellent and rich breakfast,and afternoon tea or coffee served with homemade cookies,cakes and pastries which are offered by the hotel.the evening or late afternoon sunset drink on the outside lodge with the magnificent view is an unique experience.congratulations to the manager Hakan Bey and Nil Hanim for this unforgettable dream stay and their excellent staff.this hotel with its warm atmosphere,superb view, beautiful decorated rooms and excellent service is the best boutique hotel of the region and definetely deserves to be visited of course if you can find an empty room.

Room Tip: Do not miss to stay in the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank amirzekeriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Amir,
Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed Hezen Cave and look forward to seeing you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Really I think is the best place I have ever stayed. Set in an idyllic location, yet the premises and staff do not rely on this alone to make Hezen Cave Hotel so fantastic.
The décor is divine - I felt like we were staying amidst a 'Harpers Bazaar Interiors' feature. Every room has a unique personality. We stayed in a Superior Suite (thanks for the upgrade, guys!) but managed to sneak a peak at some of the other rooms and they're all amazing.
But what made the place so spectacular for us? The staff - we've never encountered such a warm and hospitable group who really want to go the extra mile. Fun, attentive and caring. By the end of our 3 nights we felt like the staff had become friends.
I don't have enough superlatives for Hezen. Just go there.
(And yes, they really do have an honesty bar - which is fantastic if you befriend your neighbours one evening and decide to sit up late sipping local rosé on one of the many outdoor balconies.)
To Hakan & the rest of the team: Teşekkür ederim. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r-r-hassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Rami,
It was really a pleasure meeting you and your wife! Thank you very much for this great review.
I really hope to see you both again next year J.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My entire family was in Turkey this past August for a wedding in Istanbul. My parents, brother and I decided to take a few days to explore Cappadocia and Konya before the wedding chaos began. I have to say, Hezen Hotel, with its warm & generous staff, was one of our highlights of our trip. Nil/ Mehmet, and the rest of the staff, made everything possible with poise, professionalism, and kindness. I never write reviews, but this hotel really deserves one.

I've listed some reasons below why Hezen excels among other hotels (not only in the area, but around the world - and I travel a lot):

1) Fantastic breakfast offerings included in the room price. Offering freshly squeezed juices and eggs made to order. Along with many local favorites.

2) Honor Bar. Take what you want and pay for it at check out. What hotel does this today? Amazing.

3) Free use of laundry facilities. Wash and dry whenever you want - even if it's at 3am. Every guest gets a key to the laundry room.

4) Arrangement of private taxi and tour. I usually book private tours ahead of time to get the best value and itinerary, but we just didn't have time before our flight. The managers at the hotel were able to arrange a private driver/ taxi for us. The taxi took us to the exact same Cappadocia sights as a larger group tour, at 1/4th the price and on our own timeline. We saw so much and got the local take on all the sights.

5) Restaurant recommendations and reservations. Great local recs - one that was walking distance from the hotel.

6) Bus tickets to Konya. Nil called to reserve bus tickets for us and had one of the taxi drivers pick up the tickets and deliver to us at the hotel. Very convenient.

7) Unique rooms and extra large bathrooms. Lots of character.

8) All round service and care. Everything was done with class and professionalism.

And last but not least, they had great quality peshtemals for sale (that were also in the bathrooms). I loved them so much I bought 6! Did all my gift shopping right at the hotel.

Overall, Hezen is definitely recommended. Also, we liked that the hotel was not in such a touristy city, and a little off the beaten path. Loved it and will hopefully return soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSQ2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you very much for this detailed review! We really apprecite it very much!
I hope to see you again at Hezen Cave in the near future.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

From warm welcome to sad goodbye 5 days later, my stay at Hezen Cave Hotel was out of this world. Facilities are excellent and breakfast sumptious (have the menemen). But best of all, the staff are tops. Do yourself a favour; meet and talk with all 11 - their kindness will repay you many times over.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pax B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Pax,
It was a great pleasure having you at Hezen Cave. We really appreciated talking to you too J. I really hope you can come back next year.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband, teenage daughter and I stayed at the Hezen for one night while in Turkey - I wish we could've stayed a week. The service was excellent, and we loved the intimacy of the hotel... not to mention its great view! Everything was very clean and comfortable, and I would definitely stay this is the best hotel we stayed at during our entire time in Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Courtney,
Thank you very much for this very kind review! We are very pleased to see that all of you enjoyed your stay at Hezen and we really hope you could come back in the near future.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really enjoyed the Hezen Cave Hotel, located in the quaint town of Ortahisar, Turkey. The location was very nice, in a less touristy section of Cappadocia, right next to a very cool ancient cave castle. We opted for the cave suite, and really loved the ENORMOUS shower and stylish furnishings of the cave.

The Good:
-VERY helpful and friendly staff
-Location within the quaint town of Ortahisar - can walk to the small town for very authentic local Turkish shops, or meander up the castle next door. Also right off the main road to tour the sites of Cappadocia. Couldn't be better in my opinion.
-Free, well appointed breakfast
-Free waters and soft drinks 24/7 from the pantry room, and moderately priced alcohol/wine
-Well appointed rooms, the suite was particularly large and fun to stay in

The Bad:
-Our A/C went out one night, but think this was just a fluke thing. No other complaints or concerns that I can think of.

In summary, GO TO CAPPADOCIA, it is worth the visit!

Room Tip: Go for the superior cave suite, worth the extra $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgordon24d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for this great review and taking the time to recommend to others Hezen Cave Hotel and Cappadocia. We hope to see you again at Hezen!
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 77 in Goreme
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,121 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
952 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing