We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best place to stay in Cappadocia trip”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the best place to stay in Cappadocia trip”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent hotel.
If Cappadocia is one of the stops in your vacation, Ortahisar is one of the best towns to stay. Goreme, which is 10 min. away from Ortahisar, is very touristy. If you want more quiet stay during very active stay in the region Ortahisar is the best option. We realized that once we get to Cappadocia. And the Hezen Cave hotel was very satisfying.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful interior design. You can tell that so much love put for it.
The breakfast served was really delish. I am in love with this place :)
Activities we did: Whirling dervishes, Hot-air balloon ride, open-air museum, 2-hour atv tour.
Time we spent:2 days, 1 night

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Murat,
Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are happy when we hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. I share your appreciation about Ortahisar: it is close to all main sights-seeing spots in Cappadocia and it is an authentic village which is not "touristy" like others.
We really hope you can come again to Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
98
227
15
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huskisson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter spent 3 nights at the Hezen Cave hotel in late April this year. After approx 30hours of travel time from Australia it was such a wonderful experience to arrive at the Hezen Hotel.
Nil was there to greet us and yes she dose treat her guests like they are family or friends. She was so helpful with every aspect of our stay in Cappidoccia, from tours, car hire, resturants, shopping, you name it she can and will help. I thought she was the owner ther way she treats the guests and speaks of the hotel, Murat is lucky to have such a dedicated employee.
The rooms are tastefully decorated and built like a traditional cave hotel, but with all the creature comforts I have come to expect.They are clean, warm and very comfortable. Around the hotel there are several balconys to relax and enjoy a glass of wine , cup of tea or just read your book, while taking in the view of the castle.I just wished I had a couple more days so I could have made the most of what they had there, but there is also so much to see and do outside the hotel....
The hotel is a short taxi ride from Urgup where there are many resturants and good shopping.
Don't miss a visit to Ziggys reastuarnt...
Breakfast was served inside or out on the beautiful sunny terrace, once again with the view of the castle. Breakfast was great with plenty of variety, which was a nice suprise as I wasn't expecting breakfast in turkey to be anything special.The morning we left we had an early departure, they had packed us a breakfast pack to take with us and one of the staff was there squeezing us fresh orange juice, getting us tea and what ever we wanted while we waited for our taxi. Amazing service, never had that before in all my travels...
There is an honesty bar, help yourself tea and coffee 24/7 and we were told to help ourself to the kitchen if we wanted anything!!!!
The owner of the hotel also has a rug store in the town which offers a discount to guests of the hotel, but better still offers plenty of advise and knowledge of different carpets without being pushy. A carpet buying experience I enjoyed rather than the one I was expecting and dreading..
Overall Cappidoccia is an amazing place and staying at the Hezen Hotel made the whole experience unforgetable, Thank you Nil and your staff xx

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supsupplyjbply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for sharing these beautiful pictures with us! We are very happy to read that you've enjoyed your journey in Cappadocia.
We hope to meet you again at Hezen Cave.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel treats you like family. We arrived early morning and they treated us to breakfast, even though we were only staying one night. The rooms are unique, clean, tastefully decorated. All staff are friendly and helpful. However, even these great assets are outshone by the care given by both Nil and her assistant manager. Both treat you like the long-lost relative they can't wait to see. Turkish hospitality at it's best. Highly recommended. Trust these people to help you plan, make arrangements, and advise you well. this is my third time in Turkey and this is the most wonderful place I have stayed. Thanks!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. The owners are currently finishing three new ones. Each is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you very much for this great review! We were delighted to hear that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave. Following your stay, we've opened our new Superior Suite cave rooms on 1st May.
We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The best cave hotel we stayed at. If you have a car, it is not hard to find. Just follow the signs, the town is not big. The people at the hotel are very helpful, hospitable and friendly. There is wifi even in the cave rooms, laundry was a big plus, the rooms are cool temperature wise and interior design wise. Parking is right in front of the hotel. The view from the hotel is that of Castle Ortahisar. Breakfast is great especially the many different kinds of omelette you can have. And the little out of the beaten path places that they told us to go to - great. We love it- the place is a gem. The location is great if you have a car - it is more central to everything - close to the Red Valley, Goreme Open Air Museum and just outside of Urgup and not as crowded as in the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review and for sharing your pictures.
We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay in Cappadocia and that we could contribute to this. We really hope to see you again at Hezen Cave!
Kind regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is no wonder that the curious pillar-like stone structures scattered around the landscape in Capadocia are called fairy-chimneys. Staying in Hezen Cave Hotel is somewhat like a dream, probably one of the most interesting experiences a traveler can have, a perfect place to explore the wonders of Turkey's most famous region.

The visitor is first greeted by the extremely amiable hotel administrators, in our case Nil. She immediately made us feel at home, and took many minutes out of her day to plan a perfect route for our two day visit. Nil told us about the attractions surrounding the hotel, drew routes for us on a map, estimated travel times by car, suggested the best places to eat in Ortahisar and in the surrounding cities and made restaurant reservations for us. It was fantastic. We paid for a wonderful hotel room and also got for free an amazing tour guide. Location is also prime, with the hotel on average being distant 30 minutes from the major attractions in the region.

Excellent service aside (probably the best service I have ever seen in any hotel - all the staff really works hard to make your stay impeccable), it must also be said that the hotel is beautiful. From the beatifully furnished "lobby", set atop the many-tiered terrain, to the kitchen and dinner room, and the guest rooms, nothing will fail to amaze you.

The guest rooms are escavated in the rock, resembling caves, with naked rock walls and wooden flooring. The rooms are cool during the day and cozy at night, granting a very comfortable sleep. Although cave-like, all rooms are modernly furnished, with all fixtures and comforts of any regular high-class hotel. The bathroom is also very clean, spacious and comfortable, with a good shower (no bathtub in my room) and plenty of towels.

Breakfast, included in the daily rate, is delicious, with many options of breads, eggs, yogurts, fruit, juices, cereals, olives and several other local foods. Wines and sodas are also readily available 24-7, for consumption on a trust-bar basis.

Hezen Cave Hotel justly merits its place as Trip Advisor's top hotel in Capadocia. If you are looking for a unforgettable experience, you cannot go wrong with Hezen.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurismoRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful detailed review. We are very pleased to see that you felt it like a "dream". Myself and all the other Hezen team members too enjoy very much being at Hezen Cave ;) Hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hezen Cave Hotel for two nights mid-May. The hotel and rooms were extremely clean and the decor was modern with nice touches of Turkish decor. The management staff Nil, Mahmet, and Gorkhan were awesome along with the rest of the staff. They have laundry so you can wash clothes at your own convenience. The breakfast is perfect without being too heavy and greasy. Our rooms were newly added to the property. They were working out some kinks but it was nothing that dampened our overall trip. The hotel does offer wi-fi as part of their amenities and some rooms have TV.

The view from the deck is lovely. You can take a cab to the open air museum or the touristy city center. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IK_Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to hear that you would recommend Hezen to your friends. We hope to see you again in Cappadocia!
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Most friendly, beautiful, warm and boutique hotel that I've ever seen among hotels! Strongly adviced! You feel like at home and it's so natural. Silent and peaceful! Very kind, warm and helpful staff. Nice, natural and delicious breakfast! Good location to all cappadocian destinations. Just go and live the atmosphere! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minnyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your great appreciation. We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed our hotel and your journey in Cappadocia.
Best wishes,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
264 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.5 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kemerhan Cave Suites
Kemerhan Cave Suites
#1 of 65 in Urgup
345 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 28 in Uchisar
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing