We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel, staff, and vacation”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wow! What a great place. The hotel itself is lovely with beautiful terraces and cozy cave rooms. Our room had a sitting area with windows, very comfortable bed, and nice bathroom. The location was fantastic looking out over Ortahisar "castle", a large rock formation with multiple caves. Breakfast on the terrace was the best. Homemade pastries, really delicious sour cherry jam, great coffee and tea. There was a refrigerator available with free water and juice. There was available wine, beer, and liquor that you used on the honor system (although there was ALWAYS staff around). There was even free laundry! Ortahisar is a wonderful small town, not a tourist town (one ATM and one antique store). It is easy to walk "downtown" to see what small town life in central Turkey is really like. You can easily walk down into the valley below and hike along, exploring caves. We had an arranged guide for 2 days, but just hired a taxi for the day for our last day of exploring. The staff was enormously helpful; they just couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: The hotel has a room that's appropriate for families with small children with an alcove bed, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for this Wow review J and posting these beautiful pictures! We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your vacation and appreciated Hezen Cave.
We hope to see you soon in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 509 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and it was fantastic. The staff were excellent, friendly and professional and could not have been more helpful. Everything is beautifully designed and we would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a unique experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireBruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We very much appreciated your comments and hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hezen for 3 nights as we were visiting the region as part of our honeymoon. We feel truly lucky to have found this hotel, it was simply amazing! The minute we walked in we received welcome drinks and snacks and then were shown a map of the area and all our different options of exploring the area were explained to us. Although we booked a few activities in advance, Nil helped us book some other activities to fill our time. The service at this hotel is incredible, every time we walked in we felt so welcomed. They would book dinner reservations for us every night and even drove us to dinner one evening. I think staying out of the major towns was definitely a benefit and the taxi ride into town to have dinner was easy and inexpensive.

The views from the terrace are extraordinary and we loved having breakfast each morning on the terrace... and they made scrambled eggs! We had been traveling throughout Europe for a few weeks and had struggled to find scrambled eggs, we were so happy!

The service at this hotel was impeccable, we recommend anyone visiting the area to stay at Hezen it was simply amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Robin,
Thank you very much for this great review - we truly appreciated it!
We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave Hotel and hope you can come back again to Cappadocia.
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We loved our stay at Hezen Cave Hotel, even though the delightful Nil, whom we met only briefly, was off for most of our time there. We were well taken care of by the rest of the caring staff. The setting is enchanting and the hotel itself is beautiful. Breakfast is wonderful, too.
If you're without a car, as we were, you'll find the location a bit limiting -- we hired a taxi for sightseeing and to go into Urgup for dinner -- but the setting more than makes up for it.
We hated to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. We are pleased to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave Hotel.
Cappadocia is a region spread over 50 miles with limited public transport therefore we would recommend to all our guest to either rent a car or opt for daily taxi rental with driver (which has a cost similar to renting a car).
We hope to see you again in Cappadocia!
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Look no further for the cave hotel of your dreams! We loved Nil, the staff and the hotel who made us feel at home in every way possible. Believe all the reviews written here and just make your reservation asap. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Standard room was a charmingly restored cave. Suite was larger and more comfortable but not an actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Outwalkingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy that you felt like home and enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm writing this review while still sitting on the stone patio of the Hezen Cave hotel, hearing the call to prayer while several people work on restoring the large cave castle within view. This place deserves all of the praise it has received from other reviewers. The staff is welcoming and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, and the location is picturesque. The area is rich in sights and history, and it is well worth the cost of hiring a guide and driver to provide an informative excursion. The balloon ride is also worth the early wake up. If you are lucky, you will wind up in Sancho's balloon.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank P513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on your holiday! We are glad to see that you've enjoyed Hezen Cave and look forward to meeting you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 4 days at the beginning of September, and I could have easily stayed a week - both at the hotel and for the surrounding area. I travel alot for business and pleasure and I can say that Nil and the staff are in the upper 10% of hotel staff's anywhere in the world. They are intuitively attentive, generous, and go above and beyond what even a seasoned-traveler has come to expect. That's quite the accomplishment! The Hezen Cave Hotel has the stunning views that everyone raves about, but it is made even more enjoyable by being able to have breakfast outside and wine on the wonderfully comfortable deck in the evenings. If you like wine - listen to Nil and try the Turkish red wines - they are fabulous.

One note if you are tall (like we are) - you might inquire if some of the rooms have higher ceilings or access points (like into bathrooms) than others. Its wasn't a big deal, but we did have to pay attention (we were in room #7).

If you are looking to stay somewhere wonderful in the area, look no further.

Brenda

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sulfur16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. We are all very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
333 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 80 in Goreme
1,197 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 80 in Goreme
1,352 reviews
3.5 mi away
Jacob's Cave Suites
Jacob's Cave Suites
#1 of 9 in Cavusin
181 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sakli Konak
Sakli Konak
#2 of 31 in Uchisar
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range: $83 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing