We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is that good”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm writing this review while still sitting on the stone patio of the Hezen Cave hotel, hearing the call to prayer while several people work on restoring the large cave castle within view. This place deserves all of the praise it has received from other reviewers. The staff is welcoming and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, and the location is picturesque. The area is rich in sights and history, and it is well worth the cost of hiring a guide and driver to provide an informative excursion. The balloon ride is also worth the early wake up. If you are lucky, you will wind up in Sancho's balloon.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank P513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review on your holiday! We are glad to see that you've enjoyed Hezen Cave and look forward to meeting you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

264 - 270 of 494 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 4 days at the beginning of September, and I could have easily stayed a week - both at the hotel and for the surrounding area. I travel alot for business and pleasure and I can say that Nil and the staff are in the upper 10% of hotel staff's anywhere in the world. They are intuitively attentive, generous, and go above and beyond what even a seasoned-traveler has come to expect. That's quite the accomplishment! The Hezen Cave Hotel has the stunning views that everyone raves about, but it is made even more enjoyable by being able to have breakfast outside and wine on the wonderfully comfortable deck in the evenings. If you like wine - listen to Nil and try the Turkish red wines - they are fabulous.

One note if you are tall (like we are) - you might inquire if some of the rooms have higher ceilings or access points (like into bathrooms) than others. Its wasn't a big deal, but we did have to pay attention (we were in room #7).

If you are looking to stay somewhere wonderful in the area, look no further.

Brenda

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sulfur16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your great review. We are all very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

All those 5 star reviews are accurate. The hotel staff was helpful and informative by email, long before we arrived. The welcome was warm and inviting. We arrived late in the afternoon. They invited us to sit on the patio (amazing view of the town) and gave us a small snack and complimentary wine while we checked in, and each afternoon of our stay. Our rooms (one of the suites) were pretty close to perfect. Breakfasts were great. They had excellent descriptions and recommendations for three tour circuits in the area. The balloon ride they arranged for us was more than amazing (this is a must do). They made reservations for dinners on short notice (excellent suggestions). For guests staying at least 3 days, Murat, the owner, extends an invitation to have dinner at his carpet museum and shop in Urgup. After a delicious dinner with him, his wife and son, he entertained us with a Turkish song of love with him playing a Turkish mandolin and his brother accompanying on percussion. He has performed professionally. It was delightful. Take them up on the opportunity. Ortahisar is less than 10 minutes from Urgup, 15 minutes from Goreme. I can't recommend the Hezen highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljljrichco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed both Hezen Cave and the dinner in the carpet museum. We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This gorgeous, stylish hotel perched on the side of a hill in Ortahisar is an absolute gem. The location itself is charming, with various terrace levels offering breathtaking views of Ortahisar Castle and the surrounds. You can enjoy breakfast indoors or on the terrace, or relax on comfy lounges with a drink or two on the top level deck. It doesn’t really matter where you are at Hezen – it’s all picture perfect.

The rooms are a delight – spacious and impeccably appointed with colourful artistic decor, comfortable beds and quality toiletry items. We stayed in a double room for two nights, and then were offered a complimentary upgrade to a suite for the remaining three nights of our stay. The double room was spacious and hard to beat, although it was a treat to have the additional lounge room, mini bar and cosy cave alcove available in the suite.

The breakfasts are simply superb – fresh orange juice, coffee, tea, a sumptuous selection of fruits, cereals, yoghurt, cheeses, homemade pastries, breads, cakes.... oh yes, your waistline will suffer! Their wonderful cook also makes the best omelettes ever – I’m not a fan of eggs but I couldn’t resist her fabulous omelettes made to order each morning. Guests are also encouraged to help themselves to complimentary bottled water, soft drinks, juice, fruit and cheese at any time of the day or night. Wine and beer is also available – this operates on an honesty system so keep a tally of what you drink (if you can!) and confess your sins at the time of check out.

But what’s the BEST thing about Hezen Cave Hotel? The staff - pure and simple. Customer service just doesn’t get any better. And manager-extraordinaire Nil Tuncer is the best of the best! She is undoubtedly their greatest asset – her embracing natural warmth and vivacity made us feel so welcome and at home. The vibe was right even prior to arrival - my various emails regarding our booking and possible tours were all answered warmly and informatively. From the moment we arrived until the time of our departure, we were looked after in every way by Nil and her exceptional team. Each of the service staff was wonderful – gracious, attentive, always willing to oblige with any requests – even preparing platters of cheese and fruit for us late at night when we were too settled to venture out for a meal ( thank you boys!)

Each morning Nil, or her lovely counterpart Gokhan, would generously spend time with us to help plan our day, assisting with suggested itineraries, maps, or arranging drivers, hire cars or tours as required. I can’t thank them enough - their input was invaluable and made our 5 day stay in Cappadocia such a very special experience.

Hats off to the fabulous team at Hezen Cave Hotel – you set the benchmark for quality customer service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Kris,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are very much delighted to read your comments and it made us very happy! We hope to see you again at Hezen Cave.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Hezen Cave Hotel is a great spot with just ten rooms. Upon arrival they voluntarily upgraded my room to a suite. Mehmet and Nil both ensured that my girlfriend and I were very comfortable and that we had activities planned each day. They even gave us a free bottle of wine when we left. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were brought to the hotel via a shuttle van and had the chance to see other hotels as others were dropped off. We thought others all looked nice along the way but we were so happy with the Hezen Cave Hotel! The lobby is spacious and modernly designed and we were instantly made to feel welcome and at home by Mehmet, the evening manager. He gave us a well-organized and informative briefing of the area, along with tour and activity recommendations.
We were in Suite 5, which we were told was an authentic cave dwelling used by families in the 15th century and whose physical structure may have been 1000 years old. It was a large room with a sitting area and TV in a separate mini cave room. Wifi access was fast, linens were soft, bed was great, beautifully modernly decorated with colorful accents. We loved this place! The only one thing that I would recommend to address is a musty smell from the bathroom – it’s likely that all cave hotels have this challenge so we just left the room door open when we could to help with the air circulation.

There was a wonderful view of the Ortahisar Castle directly across from the hotel terrace which is where we had breakfast. The breakfast at the Hezen Cave Hotel was just wonderful. Everything was freshly prepared including the orange juice (compared to the Tang orange drink that we had at some other hotels in Turkey) and breads/pastries. They also offered to prepare eggs or whatever additional breakfast items we wanted. There was no better way to start off the day than having a delicious homemade breakfast.

We were quite happy to avoid what seemed to be large touristy crowds in Goreme. This hotel was quite close to Urgup and Goreme and the hotel staff were quite accommodating to drove us to dinner in Urgup as well as to the bus station in Goreme for our departure. Gokhan was really helpful in arranging an overnight bus to Antalya. Because our bus departure was quite late at night, after check-out, the staff stored our bags and even let us stay around after our day tour was finished until our late night bus! Overall, we had a wonderful time at Hezen Hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you for your great review! We are very happy to see that you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave Hotel and had a good time in Cappadocia!
We look forward to meeting you again at Hezen Cave.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Just wrapping up a 3 night stay here. The hotel is charmingly and cozily decorated, and the staff is impeccable. There are a total of 10 rooms and a lot of very friendly people helping you. Nil, the female manager, is indeed warm and filled with helpful details. The other 2 male managers are also very pleasant, but she is the best. They will help you arrange all-day taxi transports for tours around the region. We opted for that as driving in Turkey seems to require a lot of skill and nerve.

My friend and I stayed in Rm 6, which has two very comfortable twin beds. Only thing I could wish for is more electric outlets for our gautlet of electrical devices. But the charm of staying in a cave made that only a minor annoyance. The shower had excellent water pressure and the toiletries and amenties were also very nice (Head and Shoulders shampoo and Dove bar soap). The wifi could be spotty and cell service in caves is tenuous.

The breakfast buffet 8-11am is something I will definitely miss too. They will make you eggs any way you wish, including an omelet. I highly recommend the Turkish breakfast -- cheese, olives, bread, tomatoes, cucumbers with yogurt and salami. But they have cereal, nutella, muffins and breads as well. Eating it on the terrace with a view of Ortahisar castle was a great way to spend the day. There are lots of terraces and sitting areas, so plenty of places to just sit around and hang out.

The night manager and two members of the staff sleep on site, so if there should be any problems, they can be resolved right away. We had no problems...

The managers arranged day trips for us, which included trips to Avanos to see some pottery making, the whirling dervishes at Saruhan, the hot air balloon trip, and meals at local restaurants. Ziggy Cafe in Uchisar was very good -- also recommended. Hiking in Love Valley is also fun, and the hotel staff will drive you to the Sunset Point (about 5km away) to start the hike. Ortahisar is a little on the quiet side, but in an enjoyable way for me.

The service was wonderful, on top of a beautiful location and comfortable rooms. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Agnes,
Thank you for you great review! We are pleased to see that you've had a great time in Cappadocia and hope to see you again at Hezen Cave.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz - Hezen Cave Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
2.4 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#1 of 17 in Ortahisar
297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range: $98 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing