We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!”
Review of Hezen Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hezen Cave Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Worth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Wonderful experience. Very intimate and luxurious feel. The staff was very friendly and spoke fantastic English. The breakfast was unbelievable. I would recommend this place and would return myself if I am fortunate to come back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper level have a better view of Ortahisar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Daniel,
Thank you for your great comments. We really hope you can come to Cappadocia in the near future.
Best regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
227
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed with a friend for 2 nights and left wishing we had stayed an additional night or two. The hotel is beautifully built on the side of a hill and is impeccably decorated. it's classy but cheerful and should suit everyone's taste while staying true to Turkish heritage. We heard it was designed by a famous interior decorator. The staff are very helpful and give an honest local's input on what's worth seeing, what's not, where you should go with a guide, which you should skip. They also provided great conversation during our stay there.

The best part of the hotel is its distance away from the Capadoccia crowds. It's nestled in a small town a short ride away from Goreme and at night it's completely serene and I woke up to birds chirping in the morning. If you are looking for something noisier and crowded, this wouldn't be the place for you but if you are traveling to Capadoccia from Istanbul, you will certainly need some peace and quiet, and this would absolutely be the place for that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are very happy to see you've enjoyed your stay at Hezen Cave and hope to see you again in Cappadocia!
Kind regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at this luxurious cave hotel in March 2012 and absolutely loved it! When we arrived late evening, the night manager told us we should feel like we were staying at home, showing us how to access even the kitchen if we wanted to! The decor is light, bright, airy, and very tastefully done. The beds were super comfortable and provided everything you would need. If there is anything missing, though, the staff is wonderful and ready to help with anything. There are free laundry facilities available for you to do your own laundry, which is a great PLUS since into our second week of travel, it was time to do some washing. Daily breakfast was provided, with various fresh pastry items handmade daily. Nil was excellent in assisting us in arranging day trip plans, restaurant reservations in town, and transportation. The only downside we found was that while WiFi is provided free of charge, it did not work most of the time we were there. However, I believe that was only a temporary problem that they were working on rectifying. Also, the hotel is not very near the core of town, so you do need transportation to/from the hotel to most anything. But this is a minor inconvenience since a taxi isn't that expensive and can be summoned quickly. Note that the rooms have no televisions (but that was fine with us). They seem to really enjoy helping you to have the greatest experience while in Cappadocia--true Turkish hospitality. We highly recommend this superb hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoboxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Hezen Cave. We were very pleased to having you at the opening days of our 2012 season.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the WiFi that happened during your stay in March - the ADSL phone line was damaged due to heavy snow in early March but we have renewed the entire infrastructure and the WiFi is back on track and Fast as before!
Ortahisar village is at 3 miles from Goreme and 5 miles from Urgup town. Following your feedback, we have just started a new Free shuttle service to and from Goreme and Urgup to bring our guests to nearby restaurants. We care very much about your precious feedbacks and try to improve our guests stay in Cappadocia.
We look forward to seeing you again in Cappadocia!
Kind regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Outstanding visit, and a great value for the Kapadokya area. The staff was very personable and attentive, and overall service was excellent. Both day and night managers spoke English very well, and graciously entertained our elementary Turkish. The location, which was no issue for us since we had a car, was nicely situated in a not-so-touristy neighborhood, with a great view of the Ortahisar (a 10 minute walk through town) from multiple terraces. It was also calm and quiet in that neighborhood. Urgup, a larger town where we ate dinner (at a great place recommended by the staff), was a short drive away. Breakfast, which was included, was a full spread buffet, and everything was delicious, including the made-to-order eggs!
The room--carved into the hillside--had all of the allure of living in a cave with none of the shortfalls. It was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water--which was nice since it was a little cool in the room. We did stay in March, right at the beginning of their open season. WiFi was available; no TV, but who needs one when you can go outside and enjoy the view? The hotel is intimate; I think there were only about 10 rooms or so, making the service overall very personal (in a positive way).
I would come back here again without question.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Dennis,
Thank you for this great feedback. We were very pleased to having you at Hezen Cave and hope you may come back soon again.
Kind regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My girlfriend stayed here in later October 2011. It was recently renovated. The owner is French, but has lived in Turkey for years, and clearly has a sense of style. You'll need a car here as there isn't a lot to do in walking distance of the hotel. However, it's well worth it. You're a short drive to several of the major spots in Cappadocia. The staff spoke excellent English and were exceedingly helpful. I recommend this place big time!

Room Tip: We stayed at a cave room on the lower level. Gotta say, it's pretty cool sleeping in a cave!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank providingfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback.
In Cappadocia, all major spots are at few miles from each other (e.g. Open air museums, hiking valleys, underground cities, etc.) and Ortahisar is quite centrally located (at the middle between Urgup, Uchisar and Goreme).
We hope to see you again in Cappadocia.
All the best,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We arrived late and I only had one full day in Cappadocia. The staff at the Hezen Cave couldn't have been more accommodating starting with Nil providing prompt and accurate information prior to our arrival. The hotel was clean, the rooms inviting, charming and comfortable, the staff exceptionally warm and helpful, and the breakfast - scrumptious. My only complaint was not having more time to spend at the hotel. The Hezen Cave Hotel exceeded my already high expectation. I would, without a doubt, return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank loriswb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you very much for this great review. We really hope you see you again in Cappadocia and have you stay at Hezen Cave few days more.
Kind regards,
Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

If you visit Cappadocia and stay in the Hezen Cave, probably will be one of your best trip in the world.
Cappadocia is a magic place, full of energy and has something in the air you can´t describe, you just feel it! And the Hezen Cave is a complementary place that will help you to feel this energy.

I had the pleasure to know all the staff and they are extremely friendly and lovely. The Hotel has few rooms, delicious and wonderfull breakfast and very confortable bed and bathroom.

For sure I will return to this magical place to have a glass of wine on the terrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RenatoCarneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hezen, Owner at Hezen Cave Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2012
Thank you very much for this flattering review! Cappadocia has really something magic in it, with this fairy landscape, life & people. We are very pleased to see that you've enjoyed your journey. We look forward to having you at Hezen Cave and offer you local Wine on the terrace!
Kind regards, Hakan Guzelgoz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortahisar
2.4 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.2 mi away
Elika Cave Suites
Elika Cave Suites
#2 of 17 in Ortahisar
274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 77 in Goreme
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,117 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
950 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hezen Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hezen Cave Hotel

Property: Hezen Cave Hotel
Address: Esentepe Mah. Tahir Bey Sok. No:87, Ortahisar 50400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Ortahisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ortahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hezen Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hezen Cave Hotel is an unique design boutique hotel located in Cappadocia, Turkey. This exceptional old house of cave bedrooms was fully renovated and refurbished to the highest standard and comfort.Located in a very central village in Cappadocia, our hotel has a magnificent view, overseeing the Ortahisar castle and old town. Hezen Cave hotel is ideal for guests willing to spent some charming moments in Cappadocia, resting in this quite location.HistoryOriginally Hezen was an old Orthodox Greek house with rooms build in the original rock of Cappadocia. We have kept the original structure of the cave rooms and re-decorated the interior with an unique style and colorful trait of character.Our cave hotel is designed by considering ideal contemporary comfort as well as the feeling of being at home. All rooms are in cave and each have a unique design and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Hezen Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hezen Cave Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey - Ortahisar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing