We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cave room a great experience”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Cappadocia is a place not to be missed during your lifetime, and when you make it there you should stay in the lovely laid back town of Goreme and further in the fantastic hotel Sultan Cave Suites. The hotel's manager Mustafa made me feel welcome immediately on arrival (and on several occasions subsequently including a few drinks down at Fat Boys cafe). I was a little apprehensive about the 'cave room' but decided to give it a go and was glad I did. It's very dark but that just lends to the experience. The room was nicely decorated and the toiletries proved were extensive, including TWO body scrub sponges which came in VERY handy after a day's hiking of the dusty valleys. I would probably splurge a little more next time for one of the better rooms however, with balcony on other side of hotel (not sure they are cave rooms, but the sunrise with balloons dotting the sky would make it worth it!).

The standout of the hotel however is the breakfast...along with Hotel Sonne in Kas, it ranks as the standout breakfast of my 2 month trip and both were probably the best breakfasts I've ever had. Mustapha's tip to have the toasted bread with tahini and grape molasses as an 'energy boost' was also spot on - and delicious though those watching their weight should probably avoid.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the 'sunrise' side to experience the best of the air balloon spectacle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cdchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

406 - 412 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel is excellent and helped us with everything even before our arrival:
- booking air ballon ride
- renting scooters
- airport transfer (in and out)
- secret cities tour

Besides that, the best restaurant in the country is located in the hotel!!

If you are going to Goreme and won't stay at Sultan Caves, you MUST had a meal at Setan Restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was outstanding in every way. The cave rooms (although a little dark - what do you expect in a cave?) had so much charm and were beautifully decorated. The Seten Restaurant had delicious local cuisine (Try the lamb and eggplant.). The staff was helpful, polite and thoroughly accomodating. They even opened breakfast early so that we could eat before heading out to an early morning flight.
We also enjoyed sitting on the patio, sharing a drink, and being in awe of the unbelievable scenery. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Cappadocia is a unique place, famous for its mushroom shaped rock formation. The people there used to live in the caves dug out of these rocks in the past, and there are many hotels which will give you this experience now. Some will create an artificial cave, while the others have rooms in the actual caves. Sultan Cave Suites comes in the later category.
Its a very good hotel, with very nice cave room, having all the amenities provided. Living in a cave is surely a unique experience, and Sultan Cave will provide this experience without any inconvenience.
The staff is very friendly and courteous. They will go out of the way to help the guests. The hotel provide you shuttle service to and from Kayseri or Navashehir, which are the nearest airports. The breakfast buffet is very basic but sufficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Imagine living in a cave with all the comforts of hotel suite - soft comfortable bed, sitting area, luxury bath - all with a rustic feel! The Sultan Cave Suites in Cappadocia region of turkey delivers just that!

We checked in at the dead of the night, thanks to a one hour delay in our flight from Istanbul, but the hotel staff was awake for us, and told us we can do the necessary checking in formalities next morning. The Kayseri airport is an hour's drive away, so it's actually best to get an earlier flight in.

The cave we 'lived' in was in two parts, an outer more spacious sitting area, and a small sleeping area about a foot higher deeper inside. The lighting, however, could have been a bit brighter though, and that's my only complain really. The bed was inviting and covers just warm enough to sleep with a pedestal fan turned on ( for air circulation). The bath, though smaller than usual, had all the necessary toiletries and the warm water most soothing.

The concept of converting caves to a hotel is good. This area of Cappadocia has many caves in the soft mountainsides, which are made out of volcanic rocks. The caves are over a thousand years old, and in the olden days people lived in them. In fact, some still do!! Due to erosion and wind, beautiful pillar like structures have been formed, often called Fairy Chimneys. Ballooning is an enthralling and popular tourist activity here and perhaps the best way of seeing these unique rock formations.

The staff at the hotel knows their job. It is friendly, courteous and ever willing to look into any niggles you might have. The free wi-fi in the common areas is a boon in the village, to give you that sense of connection with the rest of the world.

The breakfast was generous spread with a variety of fresh fruits, cereals, salads, non-veg fare and eggs to order. We had a quick dinner and house wine too, before going to see a performance of the Whirling Dervishes. The helpings were so large that we felt bad not to be able to finish it! The white wine was excellent.

It's a pity we couldn't spend more time here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shilendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights as part of a trekking tour which seemed to be much longer than most other guests who were generally there for 1-2 nights. We stayed in room 306 which is one of the Junior Cave suites, it was like being inside a cave and was quite dark and the biggest problem was that there was no cupboard to put your clothes in. Outside the room was a huge shared patio area which had fantastic views over the town of Goreme and if you were up earlier enough you could see all the balloons taking off.
The breakfasts were substantial however after 7 days you were looking for something different. There is a swimming pool available in the neighbouring hotel, but it is very cold. The climb up from Goreme to the hotel is quite steep and if you have mobility problems you would need to take a taxi.
Staff were generally very friendly and if you asked for any assistance it was provided.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for your review of Sultan Cave Suites. We would like to host you again at Sultan in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we reached the hotel past midnight and as soon as our vehicle reached the hotel one of the owners came out to welcome us, he showed us to the room and told us that we could check in in the morning! ..from that moment we knew we had made the right choice !!
Everything about the hotel is beautiful ..the view , the breakfast the restaurant ( in fact i recommend that you dine here at least once, but please do book a table in advance !) and above all the warm hospitality !
We really enjpyed our stay here and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your review of Sultan Cave Suites. We are glad to hear you had a great stay at our hotel. Offering a comfortable as well as a memorable stay for our guests is our main goal as a team at Sultan. We hope to host you again in the near future, and if you refer any of your friends or family our way, you know they will be taken good care of.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,171 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#13 of 77 in Goreme
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#5 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $90 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing