We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting and outstanding service”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and outstanding service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was outstanding in every way. The cave rooms (although a little dark - what do you expect in a cave?) had so much charm and were beautifully decorated. The Seten Restaurant had delicious local cuisine (Try the lamb and eggplant.). The staff was helpful, polite and thoroughly accomodating. They even opened breakfast early so that we could eat before heading out to an early morning flight.
We also enjoyed sitting on the patio, sharing a drink, and being in awe of the unbelievable scenery. Stay here if you can!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyM234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    142
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
164
509
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Cappadocia is a unique place, famous for its mushroom shaped rock formation. The people there used to live in the caves dug out of these rocks in the past, and there are many hotels which will give you this experience now. Some will create an artificial cave, while the others have rooms in the actual caves. Sultan Cave Suites comes in the later category.
Its a very good hotel, with very nice cave room, having all the amenities provided. Living in a cave is surely a unique experience, and Sultan Cave will provide this experience without any inconvenience.
The staff is very friendly and courteous. They will go out of the way to help the guests. The hotel provide you shuttle service to and from Kayseri or Navashehir, which are the nearest airports. The breakfast buffet is very basic but sufficient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deepism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Imagine living in a cave with all the comforts of hotel suite - soft comfortable bed, sitting area, luxury bath - all with a rustic feel! The Sultan Cave Suites in Cappadocia region of turkey delivers just that!

We checked in at the dead of the night, thanks to a one hour delay in our flight from Istanbul, but the hotel staff was awake for us, and told us we can do the necessary checking in formalities next morning. The Kayseri airport is an hour's drive away, so it's actually best to get an earlier flight in.

The cave we 'lived' in was in two parts, an outer more spacious sitting area, and a small sleeping area about a foot higher deeper inside. The lighting, however, could have been a bit brighter though, and that's my only complain really. The bed was inviting and covers just warm enough to sleep with a pedestal fan turned on ( for air circulation). The bath, though smaller than usual, had all the necessary toiletries and the warm water most soothing.

The concept of converting caves to a hotel is good. This area of Cappadocia has many caves in the soft mountainsides, which are made out of volcanic rocks. The caves are over a thousand years old, and in the olden days people lived in them. In fact, some still do!! Due to erosion and wind, beautiful pillar like structures have been formed, often called Fairy Chimneys. Ballooning is an enthralling and popular tourist activity here and perhaps the best way of seeing these unique rock formations.

The staff at the hotel knows their job. It is friendly, courteous and ever willing to look into any niggles you might have. The free wi-fi in the common areas is a boon in the village, to give you that sense of connection with the rest of the world.

The breakfast was generous spread with a variety of fresh fruits, cereals, salads, non-veg fare and eggs to order. We had a quick dinner and house wine too, before going to see a performance of the Whirling Dervishes. The helpings were so large that we felt bad not to be able to finish it! The white wine was excellent.

It's a pity we couldn't spend more time here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shilendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights as part of a trekking tour which seemed to be much longer than most other guests who were generally there for 1-2 nights. We stayed in room 306 which is one of the Junior Cave suites, it was like being inside a cave and was quite dark and the biggest problem was that there was no cupboard to put your clothes in. Outside the room was a huge shared patio area which had fantastic views over the town of Goreme and if you were up earlier enough you could see all the balloons taking off.
The breakfasts were substantial however after 7 days you were looking for something different. There is a swimming pool available in the neighbouring hotel, but it is very cold. The climb up from Goreme to the hotel is quite steep and if you have mobility problems you would need to take a taxi.
Staff were generally very friendly and if you asked for any assistance it was provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sultan Cave Suites. We would like to host you again at Sultan in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

we reached the hotel past midnight and as soon as our vehicle reached the hotel one of the owners came out to welcome us, he showed us to the room and told us that we could check in in the morning! ..from that moment we knew we had made the right choice !!
Everything about the hotel is beautiful ..the view , the breakfast the restaurant ( in fact i recommend that you dine here at least once, but please do book a table in advance !) and above all the warm hospitality !
We really enjpyed our stay here and highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Guest Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Sultan Cave Suites. We are glad to hear you had a great stay at our hotel. Offering a comfortable as well as a memorable stay for our guests is our main goal as a team at Sultan. We hope to host you again in the near future, and if you refer any of your friends or family our way, you know they will be taken good care of.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were a group of 3 friends that stayed at the Sultan Caves Suites in September for two nights. We originally booked at the Kelebek; but due to a change in our dates, they weren't able to accommodate our dates so they suggested the Sultan Caves as their "sister" hotel.

We thought we had booked one double bedded room and one double with twin beds. Upon arrival, we were given two double rooms with double beds. Since all rooms are suites, it was easy for them to add a twin bed in one of the rooms. The rooms are not fancy but are appointed with heavy wood doors and windows with beautiful hardware, beds are comfortable and bathrooms are modern with stone tile.

The hotel has one of the nicest Goreme restaurants where we were able to dine Al Fresco with the beautiful evening climate. The hotel offered us a driver for a very reasonable rate to drive us around for the day. Mustafa planned an itinerary for us and then the driver drove us to all the locations, waited patiently as we toured the sites and then would drive us to the next location. One of my friends was having a problem with his feet, so they would drop us off at restaurants and even arrange with the restaurant to bring us back to the hotel so our friend could rest his feet! Being that the hotel is the Kelebek's sister hotel, we were able to use their pool and sauna.

Goreme is such a magical place for so many reasons...the unique scenery, breath taking vistas, history, food and the people. I visited Goreme also in March this year with my family and experienced the same kindness and hospitality from the people of Goreme.

Thank you Sultan Caves for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jconway01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived very late, around midnight, and the owner was waiting for us. He took us directly to our rooms as he was aware we were to be up the next morning at 4:30am (he also organised a wakeup call) for our hot air balloon flight. Our rooms were comfortable, with a great shower. It was fantastic to wake on the second morning to hear and see the hot air balloons flying over the top of the hotel. Breakfast on the deck was fantastic. The food was wonderful. The hamam (located just next door at the Kelebek Hotel - owned by the same people) was also brilliant. Residents of Sultan Cave Suites can also use the swimming pool located at Kelebek Hotel. Overall a great location, wonderful staff and an exceptional stay. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 76 in Goreme
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#23 of 76 in Goreme
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 76 in Goreme
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#4 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing