We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #12 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and everything about the hotel was perfect. Rooms are quite large (we were a family of 4 and stayed in Room 311), views are incredible and the staff very friendly and courteous. Our kids (17 & 12) loved the 'Cave' hotel experience - which is very unique indeed. If you don't mind carrying cash with you, pay in cash when you check out and they will offer you a 10% discount. We dined at the hotel restaurant one night and it was very good.

Room Tip: Depending on which room you are allocated, you may need to walk up/down many steps to get to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dongres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Public Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sultan Cave Suites. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed our premises. We would love to host your family and your friends again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    141
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
163
505
49
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
woodbury, ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Sultan Caves Hotel helped to make our visit to Cappadoccia a great succes. From the on time pick up at the airport until we left, everything was perfect. In addition to the wonderful people who own and work there, the service was excellent and the AC room in which we stayed great!!! We chose that over the cave suite which was outstanding as well as I opted for the AC. In addition to the room and service, the terrace restaurant was so fabulous that we chose to eat there every night. The menu is very varied and there was something for everyone. The ambiance and presentation of the food equaled the quality. I highly recommend the Sultan Caves for all the reasons above. It helped to make our stay in Cappadoccia a once in a lifetime experience.

Room Tip: If you want a cave room you need to give up A/C . NO one in a Cave had a problem with it being too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smartlady25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Public Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Sultan Cave Suites during your stay in beautiful Cappadocia region. It was our pleasure to host you, and we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Sultan. We would love to host you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if any of your friends and/or family members decide to visit Cappadocia so that we can show the same hospitality to them as well.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We loved staying here, its absolutely in the best part of Goreme with stunning views over the town. The walk along stunning Pigeon Valley to Uchisar starts just behind the hotel and is a must do. We had the family suite which was huge with a large bathroom. The rooms do get warm and we had to have the fans going all night (early July). The service from Mustafa was excellent as was the breakfast. Be aware of the local Cappadocia maps of the area if driving, they're not to scale! If visiting Goreme again, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Public Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Sultan Cave Suites during your stay in beautiful Cappadocia region. It was our pleasure to host you, and we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Sultan.

July is a hot month in Cappadocia, especially during the day as night time temperatures drop quite a bit. As you also mentioned, we do provide fans for our cave rooms to circulate the cool air.

The available road maps in Cappadocia are not scaled. This is quite important information to point out for prospective guests, and we are happy to go over maps with guests who are driving and we can help plan the best fitting routes at time of check-in.

We would love to host you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if any of your friends and/or family members decide to visit Cappadocia so that we can show the same hospitality to them as well.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

It would be difficult to compare this place to other hotels in town of the same quality. If you are looking for the cave accommodation experience, then I am certain that Sultan suites cannot be matched. Our suite was comfortable, clean, and spacious. I would recommend suite 303 as is secluded at the end of a level. Note that there are suites with no A/C. That was an oversight on my part when booking. It was not hot inside the suite but it would have been nice to have A/C. We booked a hot balloon ride with Butterfly. Muhammad at Sultan was very helpful in helping with tours and travel advices.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Public Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Sultan Cave Suites during your stay in beautiful Cappadocia region. It was our pleasure to host you, and we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Sultan.

Night time temperatures drop quite a bit, and cave rooms keep cool as thick walls they have give them a natural insulation. We do provide fans for our cave rooms to circulate the cool air when asked as there are heat waves only on some days during July and August. As you mentioned, if we are asked during booking process, we would be happy to steer guests' room choices to best fit their needs and wants.

We would love to host you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if any of your friends and/or family members decide to visit Cappadocia so that we can show the same hospitality to them as well.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Suite 311 was the room of choice & it was Amazing !!!

Spacious, with a small sit out overlooking the whole of Goreme. This room is on the highest level of the hotel which makes it the airiest ...Some people in the lower rooms complained of claustrophobia...but well they ARE cave rooms !

The bathroom was big with a Turkish bath, which was great after a chilly day out.

The room has a fireplace which got full use as it was between 1c & 3 c while we were there.

The breakfast was very good....with freshly cooked food & lovely fruits, dryfruits,nuts,yoghurt & honeycomb ! I must make a special mention of the staff at Sultan caves. Exceptional...all of them....the staff actually arranged for a whole honeycomb from their supplier , vacuum & bubble wrapped it for me because I wanted to take it back home for the kids !!

We did use the free hammam at the sister hotel right next door & loved it...

The hotel is owned by the Heritage group which also owns Butterfly balloons & Heritage travels, which made all our balloon rides & tours a seamless affaire ( Btw. I did find the travel arrangements the best after comparing with friends using other travel agents..... Hello Canan !!! )

The Sultan caves made our Kapadokya experience special

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasan-Kabalci, Public Relations Manager at Sultan Cave Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen Sultan Cave Suites during your stay in beautiful Cappadocia region. It was our pleasure to host you, and we are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Sultan.

As you mentioned, we are part of the business group that consist of Butterfly Balloons, Kelebek Hotel, Heritage Travel and Seten Anatolian Cuisine. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with all. We try our best to keep our standards high in all businesses within this group.

We would love to host you again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if any of your friends and/or family members decide to visit Cappadocia so that we can show the same hospitality to them as well.

Kind regards,
Sultan Cave Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Traveling with 3 people, we opted for one of the biggest rooms. We ended up choosing a suite with two bedrooms, a living room with fireplace (sadly, we couldn't use this in the summer), and a huge bathroom with turkish bath. The quality of the rooms was fantastic. Also, the breakfast buffet was huge and filled with delicious food, including made-to-order omelets. The restaurant in the hotel is very nice and the staff is very accommodating. My only complaints were the lack of fans in the room. We were told the cave would get cool at night, but we still found the rooms to be very hot and there was only one fan for the whole apartment. Also, the internet did not work inside the rooms but did outside the rooms on the terrace. In general, the internet was a bit spotty. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay here very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumblebeesforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We requested for a cave hotel with our guided tour package, and this was selected.

The husband wanted the experience of a suite vs a room. The suite is spacious with a big bathroom (complete with tub. Shower in tub), a living room with a wall TV, refrigerator, and a kingsized bed.

The view captivated us the instance we we arrived. I believe we were at one of the highest locations for hotels. Our view was unhindered, and we had a nice semi-private terrace outside with seating.

I was told the Turkish bath comes with it, but I didn't venture there.

Because of its location, you'll be walking a lot to town. And it's on an incline. So if you aren't used to walking, opt out of this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slinglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Property: Sultan Cave Suites
Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#3 Family Hotel in Goreme
#3 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing