We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and pleasant experience”
Review of Sultan Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sultan Cave Suites
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel was a bit pricy, but totally worth it. Our room was very comfortable, had english TV stations. The breakfast was fantastic, and they had brewed coffee (not common in Turkey for breakfast).

The hotel was very helpful in booking us on tours (and a balloon ride).

The hotel also has a lot of outdoor patios to relax on. Because it's up on a hill, you get a great view of Cappadocia from all of these patios. Because it's up on a hill, it's a bit of a hike to town and back, but they will run a shuttle for you (e.g. to the bus station).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,053)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,053 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous views of the town, nice big rooms, clean, fireplaces you can light yourself, comfy beds - any issues sorted immediately (my shower was just awful thanks to feeble water pressure, but was repaired straight away without having to change rooms. Restaurant is great, worth using at least once on your stay. Room 302 particularly charming.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warriorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The Sultan Cave Suites came highly recommended by a close friend in the U.S., who was a friend of the owner, Mehmet. We were staying five nights in December, just before Christmas (low season). We chose the room we wanted online and they graciously offered us a discount. We had mistakenly requested six nights, but the discount remained the same for the five nights. On arrival, with three friends who wanted to join us, they took us to an upgraded room, since we were the only guests that night (it soon filled up with pre-Christmas guests). This suite (Ambar #304) is spacious, has a jacuzzi, free admission to the Kelebek spa next door (same owner) for saunas, has a fireplace, a nice view, comfy bed, and is one of the most lovely rooms we have stayed in anywhere in the world. The staff arranged for our driver, balloon ride (canceled because of the weather), and a shuttle to Nevsehir to fly back to Istanbul. The breakfasts were wonderful- eggs to order, cheeses, olives, honey, French toast, fresh fruit, and MUCH more. I forgot the wonderful tahini! And all kinds of dried fruit, fresh yogurt, dry cereals. In a very pleasant breakfast area. I am an interior decorating enthusiast and the hotel and room decor were exquisite. I haven't even mentioned the charming views of the fairy chimneys from the window and outside the door, from our perch high above Goreme. Our two day-long tours with our driver, Ramazan, were fabulous. He took us to the most amazing natural fruit/spice store in Urgup (Naturelle). We met wonderful people here. And we loved the kitties! Our three friends were very pleased with the hotel as well. The restaurant, Seten, was quite elegant, but pricey for us. There were many other options. I would love to return in the summer and would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We loved our Room 304. Like being perched up in a bird's nest with a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly, room was amazing although we missed a safe, wardrobe and conditioner. But all in all it was a great experience, location is good and walking distance away from the town and open air museum and the valleys. Would go there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amaranthine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

we stayed for 1 night and were given what seemed like the basement room. I like the location and it was spacious, but we had just 1 concern, there was a window inside the room next to the bed which shows the bathroom, and directly at the shower and there were no curtains, it was weird but were glad we didnt have to stay there long enough to use the shower.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

reaching there takes a while from airport, but once you reach, it feels worth the travel. the hotel is good. The cave rooms are especially good. The service though could be better. The owner is abrasive and abusive.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank sanj255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in November. The rooms are very large and spacious. Book rooms that are in the main pavillion because they have the greatest views of Goreme Valley from the main terraces. They have several buildings and the other ones are in the back about 100 meters from the main building and not much of a view. They have sitting areas around the terraces and you can just sit there in the morning with cofee, watching the hot air balloons taking off. The owner (Mehmet) is very nice and accommodating. The breakfast is superb with lots of choices and you can request freshly made fried eggs from the kitchen. The crumbled cheese and wild honey is a must try!

Room Tip: rooms on the main hotel or pavilion have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 80 in Goreme
1,200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 80 in Goreme
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#13 of 80 in Goreme
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 80 in Goreme
1,356 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 80 in Goreme
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Cave Suites

Address: Aydinli Mah. Aydinli Sokak No:40, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#4 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $92 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultan Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Cave Suites is a special, recently renovated small hotel located in the heart of Cappadocia, Goreme. There are 30 total units in two blocks as junior suites, suites & king suites. Most of the rooms are carved into cave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Sultan Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Cave Hotel Goreme
Sultan Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing