We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place, wonderful people, best vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Local Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Local Cave House
Ranked #19 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, wonderful people, best vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

After you read all the other reviews, you realize that everything you wanted to say about Local Cave House and its people was already said. However, I must say, like everyone else, how great was everything there.
I have visited many times and different places in Turkey, but this was by far one of my best vacations. And this hotel and the nice people we have met there, had an important contribution in making me feeling that.
Now the "technical" details:
- great location - close to the main street with the shops, restaurants, bus station; close to the panorama view point (where, if you are lucky, you will experience one of the most beautiful sunsets); close to the Goreme Open Air Museum.
- the rooms - traditionally decorated cave rooms, very comfortable beds, big bathrooms. They have no cupboards (or at least our room didn't) but it was not a problem for us. All the rooms have a kettle and tea and coffee.
- the breakfast - fresh and good turkish products (including fresh made orange juice). Even if it was the same every morning, we enjoyed it.
- the pool - very refreshing after the long trips under the Cappadocian sun.
- the team - friendly and helpful, always with a smile on the face. Mehmet was one of the best. All his recommandations made our vacation perfect.

We will return for sure!

Room Tip: For the view, choose one of the rooms from the higher floors. If you like to be near the pool or to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GALucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    80
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
89
127
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Local Cave House 6 nights at the end of April 2013 together with another couple of friends. We all agreed this is one of the best holiday experiences we had. The hotel is perfectly located in Goreme, everything makes you fell like living in a fairy tale. The rooms with authentic design, each different than the other, more than reasonably large have conformable bathroom and entry from generous terrace that you can spend the morning while taking photos to more than 100 hot air balloons flying over the lands of Cappadocia. On top of all, the staff of the hotel is just great. Please follow Mehmet’s advices to get the best of your trip to Cappadocia, he will be very glad to recommend and organize for you the best deals for cars, trips, balloon flights, secret places to visit. He is passionate about the history and the geography of the area and shares this with you if interested.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eduard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

There are many so called 'cave' hotels in Capadoccia. Local cave house is a genuine cave hotel! Great location just off the main street away from the noise but near enough to bus station and local restaurants etc. Nice rooms with good facilities. The staffs (Thanks Harun) are very helpful and honest.

Room Tip: ask for upper level rooms. The view is worth the hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

magic perfect place to be..lovely and so helpful staff
thank you Mehmet for your prezence and big turkish heart
I want to come back again at your place because needs more and more time
to explore and feel the magic of Capadoccia.
Love

Room Tip: the Suite at upper floor is a dream space by the new traditional cave architecture
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natarajangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I and my stayed at Local Cave House Hotel for 2 nights from 13 April 2013. The hotel has a very convenient location in the heart of Goreme very near to the Goreme open air Museum and bus station.

Very nice clean and comfortable room, decent breakfast spread, car parking and tour arrangement facilities. However the highlight of hotel is the super level of service by its staff particularly Mehmet. Not only did Mehmet book and paid for our bus tickets well before our arrival, he also got us upgraded for the Hot Air Balloon ride. Our luggage was carried up and down the stairs (there is no lift being a cave hotel) without us having to lift a finger.

I would certainly stay at Local Cave House Hotel if I ever revisit Capadoccia.

Majid Khandwala - Karachi, Pakistan

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Majid-Khandwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our family (with two teenage children) stayed two nights in family room near the swimming pool. We really enjoyed the room quality, authentic interior design, cleanliness. The management team Harun and Mehmet and the others have been very helpfull to give advise about the region. We also recommend this lovely hotel because of its location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DidemOzyurek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband and I came with out two teenage children to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and right from the start Harun, Mehmet and the others did did everything to make our visit special. We had the family room which was much bigger than it looked in the photo and really pretty with lots of room for sitting in and also outside on the terrace. The beds were large and super comfy and the bathroom was modern with a roomy shower.
I have a problem with my ankle and the hotel is just up the hill behind the main street with some stairs within the hotel but all totally manageable. Harun very sweetly organised a private car and guide to take us round all the sights((which are mind blowing) and to some places which would have been hard for me to see as it would have put a strain on my ankle if we had gone on a coach.
Harun went out of his way to make our visit special, dropping us at restaurants in the evening and taking us on a walk through rose valley at sunset . Without him I would never have been able to see the amazing view from sunset point over goreme as it is a steep climb at the end.
It was just to cold to use the pool but it looked very enticing in the sunshine as we ate our breakfast in the room beside it. Definately try the spicy red paste really good and not chili at all.
A really nice, chilled out hotel with a very personal level of service

Room Tip: Our family room was on the first floor above the swimming pool, lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#27 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#24 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#11 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Local Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Local Cave House

Property: Local Cave House
Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 11, Goreme 50180 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Local Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Local Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Local Cave House Hotel Goreme
Local Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing