We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Cave Hotel in Goreme”
Review of Local Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Local Cave House
Ranked #10 of 77 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff of the Local Cave House was really wonderful to work with, from before we even arrived throughout our entire stay. Mehmet greeted us with a smile when we arrived, and was very helpful in setting up day tours and offering recommendations for activities locally. The room was a two-room family suite, which was more than adequate for our party of three travelers. It is an excellent location, just a block from the center of town. The traditional breakfast was included, and served in a welcoming and warm lobby building. The room was spotless and the bathroom was gorgeous. I cannot recommend Local Cave House highly enough -- wonderful location, great hotel, wonderful value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulmoberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 382 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

If you're vacationing in Cappadocia, hotel reliability is the most important thing you can ask for. The front desk at the Local Cave House hotel was exceptional. Before my stay they arranged van transportation from the airport to the hotel. When I arrived at the hotel they set up my hot air balloon ride (a must do) and my tour of the local area (do the one that takes you to the underground city). I had a flight that took off at 7am and required 430am pick-up and they arranged that for me as well. Amazing service considering my room price was $60 US per night.

The rooms itself are fantastic. The concept of a cave room wasn't as cool as I thought it would be, but still the hotel itself is striking when you first see it. Clean rooms, good shower, comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The area, the owner's attitude, the local food...all good reasons to visit this area as a family. We just walked the local paths and explored. Autumn colours were amazing, would love to return one day. The breakfast took a bit of getting used too, we are used to heavier fare, but my kids haven't stopped drinking apple tea since!
Wake up early to see the balloons drift by.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qatarkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This Hotel is very amazing.
The room is in the stone. Very clean, very good towel, bad, bath, etc.
Its a good choose to special moments like a honey moon.
The staff is so kind (Mr Mahamed). If you do the reservation in this hotel, you can trust that he will organize everything to you: transfers, a citi tour, tec; and with a proces so OK.

Room Tip: Suite, in the stone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PedroPaulo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived and were greeted by mehmet who took care of our every need. We stayed 4 nights and feel in love with the local cave house. Don't expect 5 star because it is not that kind of place but expect a warm welcome by lovely staff who go out of their way to take care of you. Staying in a cave room was great, it made me feel like I was a part of the landscape! Mehmet helped organise tours and give us ideas on when to do certain things eg "it would be best to do the balloon flight on such a day because the weather will be good or because as you only have half a day I suggest you could do this". The breakfasts were good and plentiful. Overall excellent value for money. I loved it and hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were comfortable and warm (it was cold out). Staff really friendly and tried to help us in every way. Breakfast tasty. Excellent value for money and great position. The tours recommended by them were great value and safety is a prime concern.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limeypatience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

clean and nice. very nice area to stay. staff were so friendly and don't charge extra. But you have a rent a car or join a tour. hotel will help you to do that all. you just have to ask. If i go back there i would definetely stay here again...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esmerall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 78 in Goreme
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#11 of 78 in Goreme
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 78 in Goreme
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Local Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Local Cave House

Address: Gaferli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $34 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Local Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Local Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Local Cave House Hotel Goreme
Local Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing