We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb!! Cannot get better than this!”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #46 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I had chosen this hotel purely on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews - and I was not disappointed!

We stayed in the Lilac Cave Suite for 3 nights and wish I could have stayed longer... When I landed up in the hotel after my room at Istanbul which had a great view of the sea of Marmara, my first reaction was "Where is the window???". But who needs a window when u have a cave so beautifully done up, with so much attention to details, that the interiors can beat the best of the hotels in terms of its character appeal. The cave is beautifully done up with rugs, lovely wooded furniture, a fireplace and a four-poster bed carved out on the wall! How much more appealing can it get honestly?? There are small nick-nacks of lovely Turkish pottery, small paintings on the wood furniture, even the room no. is painted in a very unique style with pretty flowers. Its detailing, detailing, detailing all the way... Even the bathroom was very comfortable with a huge jacuzzi and a beautiful mirror on a lovely carved wooden frame. And the experience of staying in the cave is "out- of-this-world!"

The hotel is personally managed by Mr. Faruk and his wife who are doing a great job. Its a small 8 room hotel and feels more like a home rather than a hotel. Breakfast on the terrace is beautifully laid out and its a great feeling to be served hot Turkish pancakes and french toast for breakfast, straight of the fire! Mr. Faruk is personally there to chat up with the hotel guests at breakfast time definitely adding to personal touch.

I was shocked to read about some negative reviews about this place, from some travellers in May, which is around the same time that I was there. It made a mention about getting good service, etc.. only if you booked your excursions through Mr. Faruk. That honestly was not the case with us, as we booked our balloon ride and excursions on our own and still received the same warm treatment. Infact, on a particular day, when we were stuck with our arrangements, Mr. Faruk immediately arranged for a taxi, which turned out to be cheaper and better then what we had originally arranged. We had used the taxi services Of Mr. Harun Yucefaydali (0542-6050062, 0535-6118403), highly recommended, as we feel that he showed us Cappadocia with his heart and soul.

We had initially booked a deluxe room through "Hotel.com". After doing my booking with "Hotel.com" when I called up Kismet Cave House to reconfirm our booking, I was informed that on our dates, there was no deluxe room available. Thats when I cancelled my booking for a deluxe room with "Hotel.com" and chose to book a suite directly with the hotel. My recommendation is that you book directly with the hotel to avoid any such misunderstanding...And the hotel website is cheaper than the rates which are being offered by the travel sites.

There is a lovely collection of books in the hotel office, which made for wonderful reading about the region and really helped us plan our day and sites better. Mr. Faruk's ofcourse was there to give us valuable inputs.

The hotel is located at a 5 minute walk from Goreme centrum, where all the eateries, travel companies are situated.

To sum up - with Kismet Cave House - apart from the location, the beautiful and wonderfully cozy Cave room, its Mr. Faruk's personal touch and detailing all the way!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jigiindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 442 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

At Kismet House, as many reviewers have attested to, offers a home away from home experience.
Recently, my sister, niece and I spent three weeks travelling through Turkey and stayed in six different hotels. Without a doubt the hospitality offered by Faruk was extraordinary and therefore our stay in Cappadochia was the highlight of our trip.

We stayed in the Daisy Room for four nights, which was a decent size for three people. The bathroom has both a large jacuzzi tub and a separate shower stall. It was a good size for three women trying to get ready in the morning. The room itself was simple but colorful with bright bed covers, wall hanging and rugs. But more importantly the room was clean and very quiet. It goes without saying that a room in a Cave House cannot be compared to a room in a traditional hotel.
The breakfasts served on a roof top deck with great views, were the best I had in Turkey. In addition to the usual plentiful spread of bread, cheese, olives, tomatoes etc., there was always fresh fruit and to top it off each morning we were served either french toast or gozleme (Turkish Pancakes).

As other reviewers have mentioned the location is excellent - just a short walk to the town center. It was also within walking or hiking distances to other sites.

What sets Kismet House from other hotels is Faruk. All three of us are well travelled and never have we experience such attentive hositality. Faruk gladly arranged tours, transfers and recommending things to do. He even drove and picked us up from our hikes. Faruk spoiled us! But what we really enjoyed was Faruk's company and his humor. He always cheerfully asked about our day, shared his local knowledge and answered all our questions.

Certainly it is rare to find it hard to say good bye to the manager of a hotel. But that is what happened. After leaving Goreme, we stayed at some very nice hotels, none could match the ambience and service offered by Kismet House. Faruk does not just offer lodgings but an experience for willing travellers.

A big thank you Faruk for making our trip to Turkey even more memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancouvertraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Goreme was our last stop on our two week trip to Turkey and I have nothing but good things to say about our stay at Kismet Cave House. We stayed in the Lilac Room, with our teenage children and really felt that we were getting the "cave experience" in a tastefully decorated room. Faruk Keles, the owner is a unique individual, warm and caring. We had great conversations with him over apple tea. One of the evenings he took us to a great restaurant that was very moderately priced and where we had a delicious meal prepared in traditional clay pots. He provided excellent advice on daliy excursions, first listening to what was of interest to us. He also took great interest in our two teenage children whom he took horsebackriding while my husband and I were taking one last walkabout in Goreme. The breakfasts were delicious, and more plentiful than we encountered in other places during our trip. It was good value for our money.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hernand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

this is not a boutique hotel as sometimes is described, but rather a small pension house, roustic in character, not very well maintained, however with some charm; four star is a completely mistake; the main problem is with the service; once we come we were little bit disapointed by the size of the room (de luxe by the way), so we moved to the cave room for the next night, then we returned to our original room; unexpectectly next day once we returned from sightseeing the reception informed us that our rom is booked by someone else for the last night, so we have the alternative: to move to another hotel or to the double room, irrespective of the fact that we have booked de luxe room for four night by hotels.com; after a really big fuss we decided not to move anywhere and stay in our room - honestly such hotels approach is totally unacceptable; we booked the airport transfer through the hotel and once the bus arrived (delayed) there were only one seat available; our impression was that the owner was friendly and helpful for those who were arranging some extra activities through him if not, the kindness and friendness somewhere disapeared; and last tips, if you decide to spend time in Kismet, try to book directly through the hotel website as you might get far more better price and if you would like to arrange some activities (balloning, transfers etc book it via Heritage Travel - excellent service)

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrzegorzWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We just came back from Capadoccia and I wanted to write this before life got in the way. Words cant do justice to the hotel and hospitality displayed by Farouk. We stayed for 2 nights in the smaller rooms and couldnt have found a better place. Apple tea when we wanted, conversations in the terrace and the sitting area, and careful planning of our trips for us speak to the hospitality displayed. But, what is even more remarkable is we felt completely comfortable having him take our young son to his home on a scooter to meet his young child. If you are in Goreme, this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deepika_ganeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Our party of six stayed at this hotel the first week in May and were amazed at the condition, bearing in mind the rave reviews it received. It is dismal, scruffy and uncared for. Despite booking four m onths in advance, two of the party had to remove to a different hotel because Farouk had obviously over booked - although he blamed the volcanic ash which was not true. Our 'De Luxe' Jasmine room was very poor - dark, and dirty, although the bed was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was adequate if uninspired, and where we would have eaten in poor weather, I have no idea as the only area was outdoors. Overall, a very disappointing experience, although Cappadoccia itself was a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grasyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Kismet Cave house is a very cozy place in Goreme and we higly recommend it to other travellers. But we really want to thank Faruk (the manager) for his attentive service and all the help to book the tours for us. We ´ll miss the conversations about Turkey on the terrace, the apple tea and the view to Rose Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vfmartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#35 of 78 in Goreme
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#61 of 78 in Goreme
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#31 of 78 in Goreme
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dervish Cave House
Dervish Cave House
#39 of 78 in Goreme
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ottoman Cave Suites
Ottoman Cave Suites
#36 of 78 in Goreme
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
Cappadocia Inn Hotel
#9 of 78 in Goreme
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $35 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing