We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic host, unforgettable hospitality”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Sydney; Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic host, unforgettable hospitality”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Don't be put off by some negative reviews below. Faruk goes out of his way to help you enjoy your time in this unique location. After asking what we wanted to see, he offered to drive us around in our rental car and show us several of the local sights and some excellent spots for viewing the magnificent scenery. He spent over 4 hours guiding us around his local area. What we saw in this time certainly gave us a great head start in experiencing as much as possible during our short stay. Because there were cancelled balloon rides due to high winds in the previous days, Faruk booked a flight for our final day, and we were certainly lucky to have a glorious sunny morning for our final Cappadocian experience. He also dropped us off and picked us up after our walk through Love Valley. His motel is clean, the beds are comfortable, the breakfast was excellent, and I highly recommend the Kismet Cave House and plan to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenryAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    43
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
88
178
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

The owner, Faruk, is very helpful but the hotel itself is quite ordinary. The room had not much to offer. The shower kept leaking and unsuccessfully fixed by stuffing towels at the bottom of the shower. The location isn't great either. For the price, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. There are several other hostels and hotels that offer better ambience and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AroundTheWorld4683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

This cave hotel is a small hotel(actually a motel)
Hotel is very small. Not comfortable.
Breakfast is very basic.
Hotel owner seems friendly but must be careful.
I will never choose this hotel again. There are many good and resonable hotels in the area.

このホテルは旅行代理店のパッケージに入っていた。ホテルは古くて、サービスも良くない。ホテルのオーナーは部屋が空いてるから遅く出ていてもいいって言ったが、その後プラスのお金の請求があった。絶対に別のホテルを選んだほうがいい。洞窟のホテルはいっぱいて、殆どのホテルは洞窟になっている。

Bu hotel kapadokyaya gidiyorsaniz en son kalacaginiz yer. Odalar eski, hotel sahibi cok gecimsiz asik surat biri. Japon konuklarimla kalmistim. Checout yapacagimiz gun Biraz hasta oldular. Odayi kullanalim dedim izin verd. Ama benim odayi 11:30 a kadar kullan musteri gelecek dedi. Ben 11:30 de anahtar teslim ettim ama sonra yanima geldi bir extra gece parasi istedi. Odayi 10 da gormeye gelen olmus ve gorememisler oda musteri kacti diye benden istedi.

Yer olarak ana meydandan az birsey mesafede. Odalarda Banyo da kuvet yok, kahvalti vasat. Odalar eski, fiyati fazla. Kesinlikle onermiyorum. Kesinlikle baska bir hotel bakin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Sadi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Faruk's family run cave hotel and enjoyed the breathtaking surroundings as well as the excellent restaurants he recommended. He took me and hubby out on a private tour on the first afternoon after arrival and showed us amazing sights. Breakfast was good and his family is lovely. Cave room was clean but got a bit cold at night and early in the morning. The green tour was great. Would recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMyint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a family run hotel (more like a B&B). Faruq was very friendly on arrival and as per custom offered us a cup of tea or coffee. He gave us the choice of 2 rooms and we took the Tulip room upstairs with a window open to the outdoor eating area. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. The little fridge was not yet plugged in but worked well after it was. The Wi-Fi worked well in the room. The room had a fireplace with some wood stacked up, but we were not sure if we could light it or if it was more for decoration or colder days. The room was heated in the evening (hot water radiator) and the temperature was fine.

Sadly the Jacuzzi tub had some dirt in on our arrival and was leaking at 2 places from the bottom of the Jacuzzi while draining the water out of the tub. Faruq provided us a discount coupon for the local Turkish Bath, which was appreciated.

Early our first morning we could see the hot air balloons in the pink valley from our window and from the upstairs breakfast area, which was beautiful. Breakfast was served at 8 AM outside: some bread, dried apricots/figs, small slices of Feta and 1 harder cheese, pieces of tomato. A plate of small tubs of jam/ honey is also placed on each table. Tea or instant coffee is provided. Our 2nd breakfast also had a boiled egg and some slices of fresh orange available, but no fresh juice.

We were asked to check out for 10am, but with our 5pm departure, we would have liked an opportunity for a late check-out, especially as by the time we left, our room (and several others) had still not been re-occupied by new clients. This would have given us an opportunity to have a shower or rest after our walk in the valley before going to the airport. We were offered to store our suitcases in the office and to sit in a lounge area near the entrance for our Wi-Fi use to check emails.

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet during the night and the view to the pink valley from the eating area was gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnInQatar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Our stay at the Kismet Cave hotel was excellent, and Faruk, the owner, made the stay in Cappadocia the best part of our Turkey trip. The hotel was very cute and comfortable, we were always offered tea or coffee while sitting in the common area. The breakfast was excellent. Faruk was our private tour guide, personally taking us around to all the spots, showing us where to hike, giving us history of the area. He grew up in the area so he knows a lot about the region, and many people in town are friends with him. He took us to a dinner show, and stayed with us and drove us back, even though it lasted until 11 pm. I arranged horseback riding with him, and instead of putting me with another tour group, he had his son personally take me out for an amazing, private horseback ride. He was an expert tour guide and knew everywhere to go, but was also flexible to anything we wanted to do. He gave great recommendations for restaurants and helped us with anything we wanted. His English was great as well. Highly recommended, a great family run place, and Faruk will provide an authentic and extremely hospitable stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights. The room is very clean and the bed is comfortable. I have no complaints at all.

Faruk is the owner of the hotel. He is very nice and goes out of his way to make sure my visit to Cappadocia is smooth. He offered Turkish Coffee upon arrival. Even went through the making procedure what to look for in Turkish Coffee. When I told him I had to return my rental car at Kayseri Airport 2.5 hours before my flight, he asked for the car rental's phone number. He called them and got them to agree for me to return the car at a later time.

I highly recommend Kismet Cave House to anyone planning to stay in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#32 of 76 in Goreme
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#47 of 76 in Goreme
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#40 of 76 in Goreme
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#54 of 76 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#53 of 76 in Goreme
51 reviews
0.4 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 76 in Goreme
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Property: Kismet Cave House
Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#12 Family Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing