We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #51 of 80 Hotels in Goreme
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon and enjoyed every single moment. The owner, Faruk, his assistant, Mahmut, and the puppy Alex was outstanding hosts and made sure our every comfort was taken care of. The hotel is unique and beautifully restored. The breakfast buffet was delicious. We also really enjoyed a spectacular traditional Cappadocian dinner made by Faruk and his wife-- this requires reservation ahead of time, but we highly, highly recommend it because it is the closest most tourists can come to a home-cooked meal here. All told, an amazing experience, and great value. Thank you so much, Faruk, Mahmut, and Alex for a wonderful stay. We can't wait to return, preferably for a longer stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yushingaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 442 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

This charming little hotel was a nice find. The room was cozy and warm, an amazing thing for a room in a cave. We enjoyed the taditional decor and fireplace after long days of hiking around Cappadocia. Breakfast was great, with eggs cooked to order and honeycomb from the neighbor's hive. The best thing about Kismet, of course, is Faruk Keles, the owner. Not only does he hook you up with the right people to may your visit wonderful, hot-air balloon companies, cars and the like, for a resonable price, but he also shares the history and culture of the place from a fascinating personal and local point of view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyleN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at Kismet Cave House with 2 friends over the Eid. We enjoyed the two-room Lilac Cave Suite with one of the rooms and the bathroom carved into the cliff and the other room tastefully arranged with arches and hand-carvings on the wall. Breakfast on the first floor balcony was fun and we could easily walk into town for shopping and meals. Faruk went out of his way to help us -- taking us on excellent tours in his van plus the dervishes in an old caravanserai and a hamam in nearby Avantos on the "red" river. As other reviewers have mentioned, Faruk's enthusiasm and attention to detail made the experience unique.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I visited as a lone traveller at the beginnning of October for 3 nights. I was welcomed by Faruk on arrival and then given some useful information about some of the local tours that were available to take. From that point on I was left to my own devices. I always felt I could pop into the office to see Faruk for any concerns or just a chat. The place has a very nice "vibe" about it almost like a family feel. The room was lovely and the breakfast was exclellent. I should have written this on my return. However 3 weeks after my return as some memories begin to fade, I would say, search no more. Stay here, you won't regret it.

Liam

Room Tip: I have poor vision so I asked for one of the brigher rooms, as some are in the basement (well it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiamZoneChesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had done alot of research before choosing Kismet for my stay in Goreme. I was not dissapointed! I chose one of the cave rooms, and loved the experience. The rooms were decorated with local kilims and crafts, and were clean and comfortable. The main reason I chose Kismet however, was the endless rave reviews of the owner / manager Faruk. And again , i was left with my expectations superceded. He greated me upon my late arrival, with offers of apple tea. I was dropped off on three separate occaisons to hiking spots, taken for a horseback ride, and when I wanted to go on an excursion - he did not push any group tours or anything on me, he just helped me find what I wanted and arranged it all.
Breakfasts were fresh and hearty.
In total I spent 7 nights on two separate stays, and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: I was in a cave room ,and loved the experience. The fireplace and jacuzzi were great perks as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenburford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I first travelled to Goreme more than 23 years ago. I returned last week, and found that the place is as incredible as I remembered. Kismet Cave House embodies all that is so unique about this area. It is artistically decorated and provides a friendly, authentic experience. The owner, Faruk, has an incredible amount of knowledge about Capadoccia. My wife and I were very happy with our experience at Kismet Cave House. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Cappadocia is really amazing. Fairytale country with so many things to see and do. We spend 4 days, but could easily have stayed longer. Kismet cave hotel is located in the heart of Cappadocia in the town Goreme. Lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance. And a great starting point for walks and drives (either by car, bicycle, ATV or horse) around Goreme and in Cappadocia. Mr Faruk helped us with our holiday preparations and bookings. The room was comfortable and large enough to fit a babycot and extra bed for our toddler. Would recommend a holiday here to everybody!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IevX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#63 of 80 in Goreme
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 80 in Goreme
1,064 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Historical Goreme House
Historical Goreme House
#31 of 80 in Goreme
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#42 of 80 in Goreme
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#46 of 80 in Goreme
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $41 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing