We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Kismet Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kismet Cave House
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at Kismet Cave House for three nights at Euro 75 per night (10% discount if you pay in cash) for a twin-sharing room with breakfast.

Arriving in Goreme cold and tired from a long overnight bus ride, the cosy and nicely heated Violet Room (each room is named after a flower) provided a welcoming refuge for us to recharge. The comfortable beds ensured good quality sleep while the beautifully hand-drawn floral design on the wall and some of the wooden furnishings added a nice touch of colours to the room.

Faruk Keles, owner of the hotel, was charming and laid back. He was a hospitable host and everytime we talked to him (over cups of cay), we felt like we were talking to an old friend. He was helpful in providing information about the different hikes we could do in and around Goreme without being pushy in recommending any tour.

We liked the hotel because it is located on a quiet street away from the main clusters of pensions, hotels and restaurants in Goreme Town. Yet it is within short walking distance to/from the bus station and restaurants.

If you have been on the road for a while and feel you need some pampering without burning a big hole in your pocket, Kismet Cave House is a good choice.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_1-plus-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    43
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
88
177
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiwi in UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

An amazing experience of the best of Turkish hospitality! Faruk and the rest of his staff did everything to make us comfortable, helping with activity and restaurant bookings and getting us the best deals in town! The rooms are clean and the breakfast is great, with a lovely view of the countryside from the sunny breakfast terrace. We were lucky enough to have a wonderful meal cooked for us one evening too. Everything we asked for was 'not a problem'!

Room Tip: Some rooms are actually in caves, others not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisac83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

From the moment you are picked up by Farouk you feel like you are part of the family, from the elaborate and scrumptious turkish breakfasts to the independent and genuine advice on activities in the region a visit to this guest house will guarantee you a special and unique experience. Farouk is the perfect host and the hotel set in a series of caves that gives you the full Cappadocia adventure. I can not recommend this place more highly.

Room Tip: Contact Farouk before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OllieB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chrıstchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Kımset Cave house ıs full of character and offers beautıful tıdy rooms at a very reasonable prıce. It also home to the best breakfast ın Turkey and Faruk Keles the hıghly charasmatıc owner. In addıtıon to the very frıendly staff, Faruk ıs always keen for a laugh and all to happy to help ın any way possıble. Whether ıt be organısıng tours, drıvıng you to local hot spots or sımply negotıatıng a good prıce for your dınner, Faruk seems to know everyone ın town and always seems to be that much cheaper than the next guy.

I cannot speak hıghly enough of Kımset Cave House. The accommadatıon ıs superb, however what sets Kımset apart from other places we,ve stayed ıs the kınd frıendly staff. A true Turkısh experıance. You wıll not be dıssapoınted.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taf360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

From the moment we arrived at the airport in Nevsehir until we left, Faruk made sure we were comfortable. Faruk, the owner, set up a guided tour, arranged our hot air balloon ride and offered to drive us to local attractions. His quoted fee was in line with the online fees. We had a wonderful breakfast on the terrace while watching the balloons rise. The hotel was comfortable and quite. It was the cave experience we were looking for. I highly recommend this hotel and Goreme as a respite from the crowds of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Lilac room had a jacuzzi tub for sore legs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmanbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Excellent interaction with staff. Loved the rooms in the fairy chimney and very spacious, clean and comfort. the service was excellent , we were so well looked after and felt at home, Manager assisted in booking local tours and obtaining transportation. Manager fluent in English, Japanese and Turkish. Location walking distance to Goreme, buses, tourist stops and historical landmarks. Mr.Farook and his staff are great and went out of their way to make our stay really wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel and its staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowleopard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

The various reviews on this site give an excellent idea of the Kismet

Farouk the owner is just as excellent as the reviews indicate friendly, thoughtful and informed without being at all pushy.
The Kismet is a small charming quirky guest house rather than a fancy hotel as a guest house, it is excellent
We stayed in the cave room. We asked for it! We stayed in November, nights were cool but the cave room was warm clean and very comfortable. heaters were on when we arrived . Great Jacuzzi and plenty hot water.
Location was just fine, it takes about 2 minutes to walk to the centre of the town.
Farouk set up a balloon ride for me ( I didn't ask until 8.00pm) The rate of 135 was better than anywhere I saw in town and the company was very professional with good equipment and a very capable woman pilot who managed to land her balloon right on the trailer of the recovery vehicle!
Breakfast up on the roof was outstanding with a huge local honeycomb and lots of fresh ingredients. We wound up chatting to most of the other guests.

By the way, the sights in and around Goreme were amazing, Outdoor Museum, Underground Cities etc. Not to be missed.

In Istanbul we stayed at the Conrad Hilton... but I'd rather stay at the Kismet any night of the week

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aebcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#46 of 72 in Goreme
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 72 in Goreme
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#59 of 72 in Goreme
79 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Cave House

Property: Kismet Cave House
Address: Kagni Yolu No:9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#12 Family Hotel in Goreme
#13 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Cave House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 8 beautiful rooms are pleasantly and elegantly decorated Tipik Anatolian way of Living, soft colours with antique furnishings and private en-suite bathrooms, Each room offers its own special romantic atmosphere and Same Deluxe rooms are in The fairy chimney! One of them is extra special - which we call the honeymoon suite, this also has a fireplace to create that special atmosphere. The quad room is actually a spacious family room complete with fireplace and jacuzzias well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kismet Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kismet Cave House Hotel Goreme
Kismet Cave Hotel
Hotel Kismet Cave
Kismet Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing