We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful Experience!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Star Cave Hotel was one of the best places I have ever stayed! It had a great location in Goreme and the accomodation were inexpensive, but very nice. However, the best part about staying at the hotel was the host Ramazan. He was so welcoming and made sure we had the best Cappodocia experience possible. All of his recommendations were excellent and I highly suggest that anyone who is traveling to the area be sure to stay at the Star Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    62
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
50
116
81
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights and I totally forgot I'm away from home. Ramazan make us feel really comfortable, give us useful information about the surroundings of Cappadocia, advice us about the best options for the hot balloon trip and gave us very appropriate guides for our stayed. He even cooked some potatoes in the oven and prepared it with butter. He really takes care of the atmosphere and made our stay more pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cristobalberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We love Star Cave! Ramazan is an amazing host, he speaks really good English and was always available and happy to give recommendations on hikes, motorbike rentals and anything else that caught our fancy. He truly went far above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and happy. He is so friendly and has an adorable puppy and 5 year old son we found very entertaining. The breakfasts are delicious and filling and change a bit every day. We stayed in the dorms, which were clean and cozy and extremely affordable - 20 tl including breakfast! The internet is fast and reliable, the water for the showers always hot, the area is incredible. My boyfriend and I initially only planned on staying there one night, but we enjoyed it so much we stayed three, and even came back and stayed there again a week later on our way back through the area! I highly recommend this place- it is truly the most happy and at home I've ever felt in a hotel :)

Room Tip: The dorm is by far the cheapest, didn't check out the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myayaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two nights and it was great. The owner provided excellent information on what to do and where to eat. And the breakfast was one of the best I've had in five months of travelling Europe. Would highly recommend staying here if you come to Cappadocia!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katedono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel for two nights. The staff are so friendly and helpful that I felt like being at home even though it's a cave room. The extra service snack staff provided in the evening was great. In addition, the scenery from the hotel is absolutely beautiful; both night view and sun rise. Especially the balloon view in the early morning was breath taking.I had a relaxing and fantastic time spent there. If I have a chance to go to Goreme next time, I definitely love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasuko1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I lived in the dorm for 2 nights, which cost me 20 TL per night!!! And the host was so passionate. All the staff were so willing to help you and give you advice on nearby destinations. Wifi was also accessible all around the hotel. Not to mention how great their breakfast was! The host would bring some snacks and make tea or coffee for you at night and everyone enjoyed it and chatted together! The host didn't seem to see money as the most important thing, which was opposite to those businessmen here in Turkey. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 淋餞
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We fell in love with this place most of all for two reasons:
First, the rooms will fulfill all your hopes and expectations of a "cave room". Built into stone and, as they are all equipped with central heating, even in October (when we visited) all warm and cosy. The furniture is simple and with love for the details. We also enjoyed sitting on the veranda after dinner, looking down on the town and playing backgammon.
The second point is: In the Star Cave Hotel you will meet incredibly friendly and helpful staff. I was unlucky enough to break my foot just a few days before we went to Turkey, so we were in some points kind of depending on our hosts. Especially Cihan made everything possible for us. Whatever our plans were, we could count on help with the organization, we received the best recommendations on where to eat and how to make the most out of your money in Goreme if you're a poor student. And on top of all that you will get a delicious breakfast every morning!
We really enjoyed our time there, it made us feel like we would be staying at a friends place and we hope to come back one day :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeaMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.2 mi away
Harman Cave Hotel
Harman Cave Hotel
#14 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.0 mi away
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Traveller's Cave Hotel
#26 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Property: Star Cave Hotel
Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#15 Family Hotel in Goreme
#17 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing