We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”
Review of Star Cave Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Cave Hotel
Ranked #29 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I was with my family there all of us were very disappointed..every thing was disappointing. ..room . service. Breakfast. And the most important thing is when your travel agency book for you, then they will give you the worst room they have..While good rooms they keep it for showing, and they give them to people who booking in person..Although we paying more money for it than others do because we r dealing with travel agency.
Cheating. .I don't recommend it for anyone..if you think it's cheap,you don't forget it's the worst too..you can find another with same price but better stay..
Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank noora54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
There are newer reviews for Star Cave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

155 - 161 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

Me and my friend had decided to take a 12 hour bus journey to Goreme and by reading what people had written on Trip advisor we decided to book this hotel. After the over night bus journey and after finding out our balloon trip had been cancelled we were not in the best of moods but after meeting and greeting with Jay (Cihan) we were in a better mood :) I am truly glad that we had booked this hotel but I am gutted that we only stayed for one night. Fair play to Jay he knew that we were only there for 2 days and planned a few trips for us. The rooms were an amazing experience to stay in a cave and it was done out nicely. The breakfast was a traditional Turkish buffet which was lovely :) the hotel was in walking distance from the town which was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tashaarr E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel.
It is very close to the centre of goreme and compeltely excavated into the rocks.
The cave room #104 was really nice and typical as expected.
The staff: Ramazan and Jay are very nice and helpfull in organizing at the best your time.
Breakfast was also very good on the terrace.
Only problem was that credit card was not accepted but if necessary they will make you pay in another hotel.
We really reccomend it!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falex75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This place is the best value for your money. Clean, nice, comfortable, and the manager (Jay) is extremely helpful. I would recommend staying here for all visitors and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

After we got very frustrated and exhausted from the night bus, Jay(Cihan) he treated us with warm and nicely. His boss and he even took us for a BBQ which is so impressive and unforgettable. We are so appreciated that our room somehow we got upgraded, and it's very nice and comfortable!! i would def recommend this place for travelers.
Besides, I would like to thank Jay, cuz he is such a nice host who showed us around cappadocia during his free/work time lol and gave us very detail information about cappadocia although he is a little crazy lol
Thanks for giving us such an incredible memories, star cave.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol_Huang_0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night in July with my cousin. The rooms are very nice for what you pay, with lots of room and nice big bathrooms. The view from the balconies is really breathtaking as it is up a little bit of an incline. The included breakfast is awesome too. However, what really makes this place different from any hotel I've stayed at is the service. Cihan (pronounced Jihan, also goes by J) truly made our trip. Sure, other places can also pick you up from the bus station and suggest good hiking routes and tours, but the people here genuinely care about your trip. I don't think I will ever forget Cihan trying to teach us Kurdish dancing or making us take his dinner after we got back from a long day of hiking. So if you're someone who knows travel is less about staying in the poshest place with the softest bed and more about meeting great people from around the world, make sure to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located only a short distance from the bus station. We stayed in a dorm room which was very clean with comfortable beds.

The staff were the best part. They gave us great advice on walking tracks and organised all our trips for us at a great price (while there are better ones available, they will organise a hot air balloon ride for 90 euro which is the cheapest we found in town). I was feeling a bit off on the last day so hang around the hotel and they gave me an amazing lunch for free. Definitely recommend this place for all budgets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bris111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Elif Star Caves
Elif Star Caves
#32 of 78 in Goreme
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#17 of 78 in Goreme
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#37 of 78 in Goreme
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 78 in Goreme
478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Cave Hotel

Address: Issalli Mah. Issalli Sok. No 15, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#15 Family Hotel in Goreme
#18 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Cave is a family-owned and run hotel located in a traditional restored Cappadocian house in the centre of Goreme. Most of the rooms are cut into the rock while the upper rooms are built from the local stone. Sleeping in a cave room is a great experience - the quality of this age-old rock means that the rooms stay cool in summer and retain the warmth in winter. We create a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where you can chill out with a drink on one of our panoramic terraces, taste local home-made cooking and basically enjoy typical authentic Turkish hospitality. Our breakfast buffet includes a selection of Turkish specialities as well as fresh seasonal fruit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Star Cave Hotel And Pansion
Star Cave Hotel Pansion
Star Cave Goreme
Star Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing