We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, friendly, and did I mentioned friendly”
Review of Rock Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Valley Hostel
Ranked #43 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Bergama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, friendly, and did I mentioned friendly”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Although the Rock Valley is a little outside of town, Goreme is so small that being outside means two minutes farther than a hostel downtown. We arrived early in the morning, 6 am, and we were greeted with smiles.... Ok, not smiles, but given we arrived so early we were very well treated. Amit (sp) was SUPER helpful. They were able to accomodite us immediately. Breakfast was amazing and the atmosphere was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumari1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
37
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naestved, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights initially but it was so great I had to spend another night! The location of the Rock Valley Pension is great, out of the way but still close enough to the shops and restaurants. The atmosphere here is just what you want when looking for some accommodation, you can relax out near the pool, sit in the restaurant area and enjoy a meal (cooked breakfast included in prices) or hang out in one of the many sheltered huts outside. The staff are extremely friendly and will organise any tours you would like to go on and are very informative about them. The rooms are well furnished and have very very comfortable beds and the bathrooms are well equipped. The cat that hangs around the hostel is very cheeky and adds a little bit of a more homey feel to the pansion. The only complaint is that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms but then again, you can always go and sit outside in the sun and check your emails instead! I really can't recommend Rock Valley enough, and I have done to many people whilst on my travels through Turkey, would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBarrettNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a few nights. The room was spacious for one but the walls were filthy which was a but of a turn off. However the staff were all amazing and very friendly and helpful. I was thinking about changing hotels, but everything else about the hotel was top notch.

I booked a few tours/excursions through them and it was very easy and they were very helpful. Do the ballooning, it was worth every cent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiegirlwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My friend and i had an amazing time staying at rock valley. The pension was clean and spacious. Ahmet the receptionist was so helpful and willing to help. The breakfast was lovely, best french toast ever! If you stay at rock valley you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We came here on a family holiday and as such had no choice in the accomodation. I think Im pretty fussy - but this place is clean and acceptable for Turkish standards, everyone is very friendly and willing to help and didn't mind our toddler disturbing the peace on the odd occasion. No bugs or anything gross in our rooms.

There is a really decent pool and lovely seating areas around the edges of the pool too where we often took our own food to make a big lunch for everyone, this place is really well suited for groups.

My only negatives would be both of the beds in out room (14) were on a major slope, actually enough of a slope for you to wake up half out of bed and our son fell out on the first night too. And our shower head wouldn't stay attached to the wall haha. Also half of our group couldn't sleep under the very thick duvets provided, I understand for them it's coming into winter but for us as tourists it was sweltering hot and a thin cotton blanket would have more than sufficed, or even just a top sheet!

All in all really good cheap accomodation and breakfasts are really decent too.

Room Tip: Would probably brace yourself if you get room 14 for some uncomfy beds but all of the other rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurasaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a great time hiking in the area around Goreme. (Ignore the tours and touted sites. Just walk out of town, hit the trails and explore!) However, Rock Valley Pension did not particularly enhance our stay. The ambiance is very hotel-like, not what we had come to expect from a place calling itself a pension. Hot water was available intermittently. I overheard the manager telling a woman staying in a dorm room that he would have to charge her for the use of a towel. No advice was offered for hiking. There is a pool, but since it was April, it wasn't really open or sought after. There are a lot of hotels in Goreme; with luck, you can do better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anya1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If your a looking for a nice, spacious hotel with everything around (village, pool, amazing rock view which you climb from the hotel on small roads, for example the famous Penis valley) nice people from all over the world.
Amazing sunset close nearby, excellent different kinds of breakfast which you can choose of than this is the place to be.
W're still there until 17 of juli, so this is not a lie recommandation cause the writing man is there now.
W're from the Netherlands and a family with two growing up kids (17 and 15) and they like it to cause of the way it goes. all information about balloon flight etc. etc. around, the can arrange for a good price.
Ask the reception and you will find out. succes and enjoy this wonderful place.

Room Tip: 2 or three or group rooms are availble and you can choose on the first or ground floor. no differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kievitjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#32 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme City Hotel
Goreme City Hotel
#45 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#33 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#46 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#49 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Valley Hostel

Property: Rock Valley Hostel
Address: Icere Deri Sokak No. 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of a picturesque valley, with views of the famous land formations and fairy chimneys. We after a variety of accommodation, ranging from dormitories, camping through to luxury rooms and suites. Our garden, including swimming pool and sun deck, is a great place to relax and we are only a 2 minute walk from the centre of Goreme. Our staff are all locals with experience in tourism and all speak English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Rock Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Valley Hotel
Rock Valley Hostel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing