We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value!”
Review of Rock Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Valley Hostel
Ranked #54 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Rock Valley Pension is very good value! The six-bed dorm is quite a deal and there are no bunk beds. It's spacious enough not to feel cramped. The breakfast options are delicious and filling. There is a big common room with couches, tables, and chairs that can suit a huge group. The pool and the outdoor area are cool as well. And since it's within walking distance of all the bars, cafés, and restaurants around Göreme, I'd recommend this place to anyone who is considering visiting Cappadocia!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 164 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is the friendliest crew that we have ever encountered, all the staff together with the owner work together so well, when guests arrive, anyone of them or all get involved to make you welcome. They told us "this is your home now".
There is a great room to hang out in, sofas chairs, tables, and you can order coffee beer, dinner or just hang out with your computer and the other guests. back yard has covered cabanas and sofas, great for relaxing after a day of touring.
My favorite cook is Hassan, everything is cooked fresh and it is delicious. Ahmed speaks great English and he can answer any question about tours or about where to go and how to get there. We stayed 6 days and got to know them very well, even Mehtap the gal that helps out in kitchen and cleaning was saying Hi to me the last couple of days..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have been there for two nights. The hostel is about ten minutes walk to bus station and have mini market nearby. Neat and clean room plus helpful staff. One point deducted as the female dorm was outside the main entrance and only one key to get in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panini_poonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Imagine swimming in a large pool with the rock formations (fairy chimneys) before your very eyes - only Rock Valley can provide that experience I think, and for that this gets 5 stars. Not to mention, the place was cheap. Stayed for 3 nights in a 6-bed dorm room so I'm not expecting anything beyond basic. I got a comfortable bed, with a location that is quiet, but not too far from the busy part of Goreme. While there, make sure you ask the staff where you can go to view a marvelous Cappadocian sunrise. It's about 5 minute walk from Rock Valley. I also booked a couple of tours with them (balloon, green tour & an expensive tour that brought me to Mt. Nemrut & Urfa). It was all worth it. I will stay here again.

Thumbs up to Zaida who was motherly and ultra-friendly. The owner, unfortunately, wasn't as nice as Zaida.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank crismanila77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Let us start with the positives. Rock Valley offers a superb location, a helpful staff, and comfortable beds. The pension is also very clean, has a delicious breakfast menu (included in the price), and wi-fi.

Now, for the negatives. Although I do not require a lot of amenities, I was deeply frustrated with several issues. During a two-night, three-day stay, the pension experienced several water problems resulting in NO RUNNING WATER for the entirety of our stay. This issue was not addressed by the staff or management in any way, nor we were offered water to brush our teeth, wash our faces, or even flush the toilet.

Furthermore, several interactions with the staff left much to be desired. Late in the evening, staff demanded we complete our Internet activities so they could sleep and the following morning, with no notice, demanded we check-out promptly at 10 a.m. (even when nobody else was present in the pension). Definitely be warned, that check out is early and staff do not appreciate waiting.

The overall stay would have been much more positive if these negatives had been addressed in a friendly and accommodating manner. Just be warned that you may feel more like a Euro on two legs than a customer.

Room Tip: The dorm room offers six beds with two facing well away from the door. There are no lockers and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgtobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

we really liked it... staff was friendly and room was clean; the bathroom was a bit small and in there it was really cold.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeeWong85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The staff really make this place. They answered all of our questions in advance over email and were extremely helpful once we arrived - they booked all our airport transfers, tours and hot air ballooning rides and we paid them for everything when we left. Very easy. Lounge was very comfy and homey and breakfast great value. Very recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
#19 of 78 in Goreme
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ciner Hotel
Ciner Hotel
#75 of 78 in Goreme
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Cappadocia Hotel
Grand Cappadocia Hotel
#48 of 78 in Goreme
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
0.2 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#23 of 78 in Goreme
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Valley Hostel

Address: Icere Deri Sokak No. 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $9 - $29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of a picturesque valley, with views of the famous land formations and fairy chimneys. We after a variety of accommodation, ranging from dormitories, camping through to luxury rooms and suites. Our garden, including swimming pool and sun deck, is a great place to relax and we are only a 2 minute walk from the centre of Goreme. Our staff are all locals with experience in tourism and all speak English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rock Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Valley Hotel
Rock Valley Hostel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing