We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Rock Valley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rock Valley Hostel
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, and it was amazing. The staff was helpful but not pushy, the rooms were clean and cozy, and the pool was awesome.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WorldWideAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
37
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed there for 6 days. The service I received is far beyond the price I paid.
The dorms are very clean as is the rest of the pension, well-ventilated and kept in a great situation, I believe they renovated the place recently.
The beds are very comfortable and you have a storage place as part of your bed, I liked that the dorms are not packed with beds, no bunk-beds, 7 beds in that dorm is just perfect and gives lots of space to move. Hot water is available 24 hours/day.
The oudoor swimming pool they have is cleaned everyday and it has a filtration system that runs most of the day, the gazebos around the swimming pool are still a valuable addition.

The pension is located in a beautiful natural location, so it is not in the middle of the town, but not too far from the bus station "walking distance". They also have shuttle service if you decide to fly to one of airports in Cappadocia "Nevsehir airport, Kayseri airport".

What I liked most is the help and hospitality you experience, the staff, all of them, are very helpful providing all sorts of information about the area, booking a hot balloon ride, arranging daily tours to the different attractions of Cappadocia including the underground cities, the open air museum and other places.

Thanks for the beautiful stay I had. I definitely recommend the place. If I or my friends are back in Cappadocia, Rock Valley Pension is the place of choice to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clevelander2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

This was a fine quiet lodging with a clean carpeted room with a decorated ceiling and a pleasant lounge/breakfast area (including fried eggs or various alternatives for breakfast). The staff spoke English well and were very helpful while we were there (the manager is from South Africa). However, when we wrote them in advance asking about buses from Antalya, they misinformed us by saying there were only overnight buses. When we were able to book a daytime bus arriving in Nevsehir at 9:00 pm (when the regular minibuses to Goreme were no longer running), they told us to call from the bus station. But when we went thru the hassle of calling, all they told us was that we would have to take a private taxi to Goreme (which cost as much as the one-person fare from Antalya). However, the main problem at Rock Valley was the shortage of hot water. It ran out in the middle of my shower, altho it warmed up again a little later. Also the central light was too dim for easy reading, and the heavy duvet was a bit too hot (a sheet with a blanket would be preferable).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acwolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Rock Valley Pension has an excellent sunbathing possibility with a pool. When you have done days of hiking and tours, it just feels great to take some time off to relax at the pool, dip into the water and get a nice suntan. The pool is located in the backyard with beautiful views on nature around you - so it feels totally private, nicely isolated and undisturbed. We enjoyed sunbathing there and were warmly welcomed by the friendly and sunny managers.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

This is a very good value place. We arrived in the morning (6 a.m.) off the night bus and had a snooze in the common area until reception opened at 8. We stayed in the dorm and were able to get in at 9:30 right after a few people left. The room was somewhat clean but the linen was very fresh and clean and the bathrooms very satisfactory with hot showers. The room was a little bit cold but we had enough blankets and the heat did kick in at night. Very cozy common area with a wood stove and plenty of seating, wi-fi included. We didn't use the pool since it was still a bit wintery outside, but it looked beautiful with the hills of Kapadokya in the background. Hostess was always helpful, and the location is about 5 minutes walk from bus station.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattmason63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Rock Valley Pension in Goreme. The vibe was very laid back and cool, the fellow travelers that I made friends with were great people, and the staff was very helpful and had a touch of humour as well! The price was also very reasonable. The view of the area was also quite nice.

I was staying in a dorm room and it got a little chilly at night, so just wear an extra layer.

The bathrooms and shower were good. I had a little bit of trouble with the hot water on the first day (since I was the first person that day to use the shower) so I had to wait a few minutes just to get it ready. However, once it was rolling, the hot water was consistent.

I really enjoyed the breakfast at this pension. You chose what you wanted on the board and it would be made for you. It was filled with cucumbers, tomatoes and olives so it was perfect for me!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheibans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We had an amazing stay here. The staff is amazing and super-helpful in so many domains. The place is always full of people (and we went in winter!) and so you make alot of friends and the social scene is great. We were there for 3 days but could have definetly stayed longer...we made some really good friends. The breakfast is great and the showers are vet warm. Go there if you want to be surrounded with great people!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
4.1 mi away
Selcuklu Evi
Selcuklu Evi
#26 of 65 in Urgup
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
Tekkaya Cave Hotel
#25 of 77 in Goreme
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#34 of 77 in Goreme
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Stone Palace
Cappadocia Stone Palace
#48 of 77 in Goreme
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 77 in Goreme
1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#36 of 77 in Goreme
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Valley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Valley Hostel

Property: Rock Valley Hostel
Address: Icere Deri Sokak No. 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of a picturesque valley, with views of the famous land formations and fairy chimneys. We after a variety of accommodation, ranging from dormitories, camping through to luxury rooms and suites. Our garden, including swimming pool and sun deck, is a great place to relax and we are only a 2 minute walk from the centre of Goreme. Our staff are all locals with experience in tourism and all speak English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Rock Valley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rock Valley Hotel
Rock Valley Hostel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing