We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sato Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sato Cave Hotel
Ranked #57 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Ringe, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sato Cave Hotel is situated with a beautiful view over Goreme. In the morning you can see all the balloons. The Cave rooms are very nice and cool. The owner and staff is very helpful by planning your days in Goreme.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodiljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
22
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The owner is really a super nice guy!
almost the nicest people i've ever met in turkey,
when you ask for tour/buses or any tourist information,
they offer you really FAIR price and they are not PUSHY at all!
And also telling you what kind of tour is worth to go , and which you could go by yourself!

we didn't join any tour at all (i'm sorry,we are really budget backpacker),
after we check out , the owner just let us stay at his restaurant and offering us nice drinks and foods ...( which he dont have to!!!)

and they also really nice free breakfast, not only like bread and butter,
but also omelet / yogurt / french toast,
so please pick this place,
they treat you from their bottom of their heart!

thanks alot!!!

Room Tip: dorm is also fine :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlykww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Arriving early in the morning as the hot air balloons were lifting over Goreme, most of the town still asleep - I wondered into the Sato Cave Hotel. I was warmly received, shown a room, Agreed on a price and settled in. The place has so much to offer - is ideally located to see the city spread before it - My room was large, comfortable. clean and everything I wanted. A view from my bed was perfect. Breakfast on the roof terrace was most delicious, prepared by the owner himself - a very good cook - again form here the best view in Goreme.

Room Tip: Ask to see a few rooms - if they have any available, there is an authentic cave dorm room too. pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I keep a great memory of Göreme, almost an oneiric and timeless location. And Sato Cave was definitively I very comfortable hotel, well located, clean, friendly and efficient service. The only negative aspect may be the quite narrow and steep path to take in order to reach the hotel. But the amazing view is worth the effort!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

After waiting 3 hours at the airport for our pick up and many phone calls we were eventually told to catch a taxi! However as we were the last flight until night, all the taxis were gone. Not a great start!
The rooms were very basic. Only lumpy beds were provided. The bathroom was a wet bathroom which would have been ok except it didn't drain properly and flooded. The mat in our room was wet from a mop before we arrived and this gave our room a very musty and damp smell. The ambiance of the 'cave' was good but the smell and dampness not!
On a good note, they were happy to heat up some milk for my young daughter and the afghani man working for them was friendly and helpful. The location is excellent and only a few minutes walk to town.
On a final note when we went to pay they wanted to overcharge us by 80€. They said they had no paperwork - luckily we did. Overall, I'd choose somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PIcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, united kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This Hotel was such good value it was absolutely perfect for me in every way. Although the room was basic I know if I'd said there was anything I needed Heeyon (spelt wrongly) or Osmon would have bent over backwards to get it for me. I would lean over from my bed and open the curtains each morning watching the many Hot air balloons filling the sky with the sunrise.
I would have my breakfast or drink tea on a balcony overlooking parts of Goreme and Sunset point where many people including myself walked up to watch the sun go down.
The hotel sorted out my trips and pickups which were just wonderful. On one occasion when I wanted to go on a horse trip through Rose Valley it proved difficult for the man to come and pick me up so Osmon took me on the back of his bike. Goreme felt a very safe place to be as everybody knows each other. Sato Cave Hotel is a few minutes uphill and so very central to everything. Everyday I thought the trip I had been on was unbeatable only to find the next trip was just as wonderful. I stayed for 6 days but did find I could have done everything if I'd squashed it down to 4 possibly even 5 days. I was impressed as well by the time Heeyon gave to me as I wanted to learn how to make Melamon? (not sure if thats spelt right) but anyway its turkish omelette and as soon as the busy time was over and Heeyon could have had 5 minutes to herself she called me to the kitchen at luchtime and showed me how to make it.

Room Tip: If you have a bad chest I would ask for a room higher up as although very quaint and lovely the lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieb57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I was recommended this hotel (now under new ownership) by a Turkish friend and was not disappointed. Despite some problems with e-mails (technical their end) I was able to speak to the owner (Ali) who confirmed our booking and arranged our transfer from Nevshehir and make arrangements for our onward bus connection to Fethiye. The rooms are real caves and are clean and cosy ! I don't think I stopped grunting for 2 days lol ! While they are a basic it really doesn't matter and you really get into the spirit. For the price you won't find better and at less than £40 per room per night....well it would be churlish to complain. Breakfast was adequate and the omlettes very nice. Its a great location for exploring the area with many attractions well within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window. Power cuts do happen and if you are in the shower when one occurs in a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
6.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
6.4 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
6.4 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Nirvana Cave
Nirvana Cave
#18 of 33 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ufuk Pension
Ufuk Pension
#10 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sato Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sato Cave Hotel

Property: Sato Cave Hotel
Address: Orta Mah. Konak Sok. No:7, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sato Cave Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sato Cave Hotel is situated in an old Greek house, on one of the small winding streets that lead up out of the centre of Goreme town. Recent renovations have preserved the buildings authentic structure and character, and combined it with modern comfort. Sato has 5 cave rooms, 2 arched rooms and 2 rooms containing the original Greek stone architect of Cappadocia. All rooms have their own private bathrooms as well as central heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sato Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sato Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing