We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 4 night stay with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shoe String Cave House
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
2 reviews
“Perfect 4 night stay with great staff”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just finished a 4 night stay here in a double room with ensuite. Room was nice, clean and warm. Staff have been most welcoming and extremely helpful.

Well situated and only 2 mins walk to topdeck cave restaurant, which is essential dining while in Goreme.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougallen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    138
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
41
142
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a cave room with en-suite. As the weather was a bit chilly when we arrived it was nice to have the heating on and the room was very cosy. The rooms are centred round a lovely courtyard-type area and there was a terrace with lovely view although we didn't make the most of it as by the time we returned every day it was turning a bit chilly. We found it very good value and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Good place, antique, carved in the rock, near the mosque, near everything! Very recomendad. The attention wqs perfect, Sileyman, the man in the front desk, always rewdy to help! Excelent place to go alone or with someone. Something to improve, the bathrooms could be better, the rest including the breakfast great......:......................:............................ :..................?.............

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Federico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed 3 nights at Shoestring in an lovely ensuite private room with a private balcony and a beautiful view - but what made our experience truly awesome was the staff - especially Oktay. We started chatting with him as we checked in, and we were telling him about the rest of our trip - within minutes he became our one-man trip planner, and he really helped us nail down our itinerary for the rest of our stay in Turkey - including calling multiple people to check on bus times, plane ticket prices, a hostel recommendation for our next town, etc. By the time we left the office 40 minutes later, we had almost the entire rest of our trip figured out. The man knows his stuff, and he was so helpful, and gave great advice. The entire rest of our trip turned out perfectly, and we have him to thank for that.
During our stay we also witnessed Oktay chase down a bus for miles after a guest left some luggage on it (he got it!) We witnessed him immediately point some travelers to a different hostel nearby when they said they were looking for the cheapest dorm beds in town. Basically, Oktay is an incredibly nice and honest guy, he consistently goes above and beyond for his guests, and he became a great friend over the course of our stay.
A truly one of a kind experience in a one of a kind place! Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Shoestring was extremely well maintained with authentic and cozy cave rooms. The staff are quite helpful as well. Would love to go back again. I stayed there for two nights in a room at the ground floor. Although there was not much view, but the room was really comfortable. Since the room is facing the courtyard, it could be a bit noisy during the day, however it gets alright after 10ish.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs rooms if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stay 2 nights in this hotel ! We have had a very pleasant stay ! The people taking care of the hotel are nice and friendly and always ready to help ! Cozy place and nice view from our room over Goreme ! I recommand !

Helene & Sonia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This wonderful cave hotel is located just outside the town center, a walking distance away from the bus stop. The rooms are really nicely decorated, spacious and clean, with large, firm beds and neat bathrooms. There is a dormitory, with public shower and luggage storage rooms, so the hotel is extremely backpacker-friendly. Bar and restaurant are both nice, with the option of having your breakfast dinner outside, in the pool area. Hotel seems to attract younger, fun-loving travelers, so you know you'll meet some really cool and nice people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JankoJerinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#31 of 72 in Goreme
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 72 in Goreme
934 reviews
0.0 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#9 of 72 in Goreme
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoe String Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoe String Cave House

Property: Shoe String Cave House
Address: Orta Mah. Kazim Eren Sok. No:23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shoe String Cave House 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ShoeString Cave House is in Göreme, at the very heart of the Cappadocia region. With great care for the environment and for the natural beauty of the rocks, five ancient cave houses have been restored and converted into accommodation where both Turkish and foreign visitors are made welcome. ShoeString Cave House has 23 bedrooms, an open air swimming pool and indoor and outdoor sitting and eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Shoe String Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoe String Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Shoe String Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing