We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shoe String Cave House
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Good place, antique, carved in the rock, near the mosque, near everything! Very recomendad. The attention wqs perfect, Sileyman, the man in the front desk, always rewdy to help! Excelent place to go alone or with someone. Something to improve, the bathrooms could be better, the rest including the breakfast great......:......................:............................ :..................?.............

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Federico D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    135
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
40
135
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed 3 nights at Shoestring in an lovely ensuite private room with a private balcony and a beautiful view - but what made our experience truly awesome was the staff - especially Oktay. We started chatting with him as we checked in, and we were telling him about the rest of our trip - within minutes he became our one-man trip planner, and he really helped us nail down our itinerary for the rest of our stay in Turkey - including calling multiple people to check on bus times, plane ticket prices, a hostel recommendation for our next town, etc. By the time we left the office 40 minutes later, we had almost the entire rest of our trip figured out. The man knows his stuff, and he was so helpful, and gave great advice. The entire rest of our trip turned out perfectly, and we have him to thank for that.
During our stay we also witnessed Oktay chase down a bus for miles after a guest left some luggage on it (he got it!) We witnessed him immediately point some travelers to a different hostel nearby when they said they were looking for the cheapest dorm beds in town. Basically, Oktay is an incredibly nice and honest guy, he consistently goes above and beyond for his guests, and he became a great friend over the course of our stay.
A truly one of a kind experience in a one of a kind place! Cannot recommend enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Shoestring was extremely well maintained with authentic and cozy cave rooms. The staff are quite helpful as well. Would love to go back again. I stayed there for two nights in a room at the ground floor. Although there was not much view, but the room was really comfortable. Since the room is facing the courtyard, it could be a bit noisy during the day, however it gets alright after 10ish.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs rooms if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stay 2 nights in this hotel ! We have had a very pleasant stay ! The people taking care of the hotel are nice and friendly and always ready to help ! Cozy place and nice view from our room over Goreme ! I recommand !

Helene & Sonia

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This wonderful cave hotel is located just outside the town center, a walking distance away from the bus stop. The rooms are really nicely decorated, spacious and clean, with large, firm beds and neat bathrooms. There is a dormitory, with public shower and luggage storage rooms, so the hotel is extremely backpacker-friendly. Bar and restaurant are both nice, with the option of having your breakfast dinner outside, in the pool area. Hotel seems to attract younger, fun-loving travelers, so you know you'll meet some really cool and nice people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JankoJerinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent the first night in the double room that opens straight into the courtyard. The room per se it is very cosy, with a huge shower and very clean. The main big con is that you are in the middle of the common area! We were most unlucky, since that very night a large group of French backpackers decided to happily celebrate under the moonlight their last night in Goreme. Nothing against that, but voices are amplified by the rock walls... If you can, avoid the room. There were no problems in changing room and we ended up in a big and lovely suite.
The breakfast was the best we had in Turkey, with plenty of options (even sweets!) and with the possibility of enjoying it on the pool terrace.
The staff was very helpful and friendly. Guests can leave their bags after checkout and pick them up later on. If you are taking the night bus it's the best option, since you can also use the swimming pool and common showers before leaving.
The common areas are a lovely place place to relax, check your mails and meet other guests while enjoying chilled beers in the common areas. All in all an excellent choice and a highly recommended place!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on top of the reception, same gorgeous view, less stairs, little terrace under the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthimisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amorefirenze
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

I am a solo female traveler in my mid-twenties and was able to meet a lot of friends there. There are hotel rooms and also dorm rooms which I stayed in the dorms. There was free breakfast which was great, amazing pool terrace with an outstanding view. I normally stay in hostels and this was great because it was a hostel price but with the amenities of a hotel. I loved the courtyard atmosphere. I had my laptop sitting in the courtyard while I went up to the pool for a bit and forgot about it and it was completely safe. The staff were great and allowed me then to keep my laptop behind the desk and charge it when I left to go on a tour for the day but honestly it would have been safe just left in my dorm room! The owner even drove me to the bus stop to catch my bus instead of making me walk or take a cab. Very thoughtful of him and I appreciated it very much!

Room Tip: If staying in a hotel room, try to get a room on a higher level above the pool so you can have a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amorefirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#29 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#16 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoe String Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoe String Cave House

Property: Shoe String Cave House
Address: Orta Mah. Kazim Eren Sok. No:23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shoe String Cave House 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ShoeString Cave House is in Göreme, at the very heart of the Cappadocia region. With great care for the environment and for the natural beauty of the rocks, five ancient cave houses have been restored and converted into accommodation where both Turkish and foreign visitors are made welcome. ShoeString Cave House has 23 bedrooms, an open air swimming pool and indoor and outdoor sitting and eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Shoe String Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoe String Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Shoe String Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing