We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoe String Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shoe String Cave House
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived after a 13 hour bus trip from Fethiye, the Shoe String staff made the stay relaxing and easy. Towels were provided for showers at 8 am despite not having a booking until the evening and the set dinner was excellent value. The pool was a dream after a hot day on tour. New staff guy, Jeremy, was excellent and made everyone feel welcome. I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevinfrancis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    134
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
39
134
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed here during my first trip to Turkey in 2005, and purposely sought out Shoe String once more when I visited Cappadocia again in May/June 2013. Great staff and nice atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmandVC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here with my family for 4 nights. I booked a family suite and on arrival were given an upgrade for the first 3 nights then back to the original room for the last night. I understand now why we were given an upgrade as my husband and son are both 6 foot plus and the family room (205) the ceiling was too low. We enjoyed our stay here. The linen and towels were clean and changed daily. Both rooms provided space for a family of 4. The manager was very helpful with recommendations and organised our south tour and balloon ride with Urgup Balloons. On the first morning breakfast cost 10 euros per person then free after that. It was average but enough to get you through to lunch. The laundry service they provide was quick and cheap and our clothes came back folded in a pile. I asked to use the iron as they were crinkled and at no charge he had one of the cleaners do our ironing. Not part of the service but they were all very accommodating and tried hard to ensure our stay was the best.

Room Tip: The only negative was our room was located ground floor and next to the courtyard which everyone use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankston, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We are a couple of active 70 year olds who recently stayed at shoestring cave. we loved the look of the place was like something out of a movie set. The staff were fabulous, picking us up from the otogar, making us welcome, going our of their way to help us. The Green Full day tour they recommended covered over 200kM and the guide Nadysha was delightful and most informative.The lunch which was included lived up to our expectation. Just a great place for elderly or young, fair price with very comfortable private room

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfweg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Only good words about it. We had a deluxe cave room and I loved it. On the top floor there is a terrace where you can serve breakfast or dinner. The view is wonderful and the food delicious (we took breakfast and dinner too and i think is the best way as is not expensive and the dinner menu is different from one day to another).
In the morning I could watch the ballons over Goreme. On the terrace there is also a swimming pool, but we didn't t have time to use it as we were on the tours.

Room Tip: I saw only the deluxe room and i recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alishia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Shoestring cave was jus perfect for our stay in Goreme in June 2013! We are two backpackers - 19 and 23! We stayed in the dorm rooms which are actually inside a cave! There is a pool to cool off after a big day of trekking and the breakfast is the best hostel brekky we've had in turkey. It's really one of the nicest hostels I've stayed in- and I've been all over Europe, the USA and Asia! Free shuttles to the bus stop (both on departure and arrival) are also really handy- since most people arrive via long bus rides and are tired when they depart after a trek or two!
We love Shoestring!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmonkey021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great location, great staff (thank you Oktay) to make your stay comfortable and fun, very good with planning out your itinerary, room was very clean.

Super comfortable bed, high quality towels, linen and very reasonable price.

Plus you get the experience to live inside a cave!!!

If you book cappadocia tour & hot air balloon with them they give you one way free airport transfer (25 liters pp) and their prices for hot air balloon is cheaper than others. We booked the green tour & hot air balloon - I recommend both as they were both very good.

Well done to the team in Shoestring!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diorshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoe String Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoe String Cave House

Property: Shoe String Cave House
Address: Orta Mah. Kazim Eren Sok. No:23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shoe String Cave House 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ShoeString Cave House is in Göreme, at the very heart of the Cappadocia region. With great care for the environment and for the natural beauty of the rocks, five ancient cave houses have been restored and converted into accommodation where both Turkish and foreign visitors are made welcome. ShoeString Cave House has 23 bedrooms, an open air swimming pool and indoor and outdoor sitting and eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Shoe String Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoe String Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Shoe String Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing