We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Original ! Shoestring has best Staff and Views Galore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ShoeString Cave House
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

You can leave any worries behind because Oktay will take care of all your concerns it seems effortlessly! He has help from Sullieman and his great Kitchen Staff.
All kinds of room are available, from Dorm Cave w Lobby Area Showers to the Penthouse above the Pool, Room 401.
Note Penthouse does require climbing over fifty stairs, so pack light!
The Breakfast Spread is Heavenly and the Cantina is open most of day so you can grab a beer or patates (French Fries Freshly Made)
There is even a Hotel Dog, Princess.
Highly recommended, please remember Oktay has been doing this for years and knows everyone in town. Everything went so Smoothly thanks to him and his English is Excellent.
Enjoy and Dream of Cappadocia even after you return!

Room Tip: Best View from your Private Balcony is 401 ! The room just below 301 has the view but you have to o...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConstanceCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for ShoeString Cave House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 429 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Shoestring Cave Hotel. The staff were friendly and super helpful - they really went out of the way to help us with all the things we wanted to do in the area. The room was comfy and breakfast was tasty. Couldn't ask for a better experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_SAlpharettaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful, they settled everything, tours, ballon flight, airport transfer, and everything worked very well! The hotel has a good location, and the experience of staying in caves it's great! i strongly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 3 in a double room. We had good value for money. The breakfast was similar to many hotels but the choice to sit on balcony with a wonderful view was worthwhile. The host was helpful with booking tours. We were able to check out in the morning but still have access to shower, toilet, pool and drinks all day for no charge. This was wonderful as we had an over night bus trip to Antayla as our next stop. Recommend.

Room Tip: We had the top room with own balcony and a superb view. Down side was 82 stairs to get there. We are...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Love this place! The staff was simply the best and helped organize all our excursions. Breakfast is delicious and included in a night's stay - great for anyone on a budget! There are only two WC's for the massive dorm room but, surprisingly, it wasn't an issue while we were there and they were kept clean. There is a pool which looked lovely but I didn't get to try it; it was still just a little too cold. Next time! I wish we could have stayed longer and definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The private cave rooms are fantastic - great ambiance and a personal bedroom. If you have any extra...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

What a place! The property is perhaps one of the best in Goreme. The view from the terrace was breathtaking, Oktay and th other staff members were friendly and very helpful. Loved our cave room and the bathroom with a faux sink. They served a hearty buffet breakfast which was really good. A lovely experience!

Sangeeta Kashyap
Kavita Iyengar

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sangeetakashyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Staying at these cave suites was a one-of-a-kind experience. The rooms were cozy. However, they were dimly lit and the water heaters in the restrooms were turned on only occasionally. The rooms were quite cheap (USD 30 per night) and overall it was value for money. The wifi signal in the room was very weak, and the restaurant did not serve dinner. The breakfast included as a part of the stay was very frugal. However, we ordered a plate of their menemen for breakfast which was served to us in a piping hot clay pot - this made for the lack of variety in their complementary breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#7 of 78 in Goreme
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ShoeString Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShoeString Cave House

Address: Orta Mah. Kazim Eren Sok. No:23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range: $35 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ShoeString Cave House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ShoeString Cave House is in Göreme, at the very heart of the Cappadocia region. With great care for the environment and for the natural beauty of the rocks, five ancient cave houses have been restored and converted into accommodation where both Turkish and foreign visitors are made welcome. ShoeString Cave House has 23 bedrooms, an open air swimming pool and indoor and outdoor sitting and eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your ShoeString Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoe String Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
ShoeString Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing