We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Goreme's Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shoe String Cave House
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Asia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Goreme's Gem”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

HIGHLIGHTS
Almost everything is great. I particularly like the quiet surroundings here. Very pleasant and relaxing. The breakfast spread was excellent. It was the best throughout our time in Turkey. Pair it up with the view of Goreme sunrise (+ all the floating balloons) from the terrace and voila, simply amazing. Staff was friendly. Luggage storage is available if you're checking out early and spending the day there before catching the night bus. You may even shower FOC before you leave that same evening. Free Wi-Fi is available and it worked pretty well for us (perhaps because our room is near the main lobby). En suite bathroom is quite small but it's ok. Pool area was closed when we were there cause temperature's too cold. But it is located at the rooftop terrace as well. Would be nice for a dip in the summertime. The town centre is within walking distance and there are plenty of food/amenities around.

COULD BE BETTER
Yes, it is a cave room. However I think the room conditions could be kept better and cleaner. No room service (so we do our own cleaning). The hot water in the shower takes some time to heat up. All in all, nothing serious.

CONCLUSION
When I first saw the exterior of the place upon arrival, I really thought this was a wrong choice. But I have to admit now that I made the mistake to judge the book by its cover too quickly. Beyond its rundown outlook, this place is actually a hidden gem.

Cappadocia is a natural beauty and Shoe String is the icing on the cake. It made our stay more authentic and memorable. For the price we paid, it is definitely value for money and I would gladly return here in the future. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the terrace rooftop have great view of the city. You may even watch the balloons float away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onefinesunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    138
    23
    8
    9
See reviews for
40
140
59
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here in December of 2011.. beautiful cave hotel, VERY friendly staff. I stayed in a single room which was quite cozy and comfortable. I met many friends while staying here.. great location, quiet, and relaxing!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Shoe String is a nice and economic place to stay in Göreme. Staff is nice, breakfest is really good and room is small but new and warm (winter). Bathroom was very good  with hot shower 24hrs. They let you keep your things there in case you check out and still have a tour during the day.. 

We stayed 3 nights and there was no cleaning of our room  in the períod. We didn't demand that for the staff because we were ok with making our own bed and etc.. But if u mind, better check first.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davicb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a very nice stay at Shoe String Cave Pension. The place was very accommodating, clean, and cozy. The staff was very helpful and there is lots of information on things to do and see in the area. Breakfast was also plentiful and delicious. Be careful if you book a balloon ride through them though - make sure it's not with the company Balloon Turca. I'm not sure why they still recommend Balloon Turca because it's a terrible company and a huge rip-off. But our stay with the Shoe String Cave House was wonderful and we loved Cappadocia! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandHopperKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room where we were sleeping was very damp and terribily dusty, the furniture old and broken, matressess were dirty, the bathroom smelled.
On the other hand the structure is nice and the location good.
Pool was so dirty we preferred not to swim in it.
I'm sure you can find something better for the same price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just spent 5 nights there and enjoyed our stay very much.
We did some homework before at TripAdvisor and picked Shoe String because of its location, real cave rooms, the hotel setting & its swimming pool.
We learned from other travellers that cave rooms sometimes smelly and they did. It is bearable, just close the toilet door and open the windows.
Oktay was very helpful advising what we could do during those days. He also showed us the best place to enjoy the beautiful sunset at Goreme which is just 15 minutes walk from the hotel.
We joined the Green Tour via the hotel. Due to the delay in picking up people from various hotels, the tour started late and missed a couple of visiting points. One of them was Goreme Panorama. When Oktay found that out the next day, he called up the tour operator right away and without our request, he voluntarily drove us there. He is a fair person!
Food was good at their restaurant. Except the first night, we had our dinners at their restaurant for the rest of the days. Every night they had a new set menu to let us enperience different types of Turkish cuisines. Thanks again to the chef in feeding us well!
Also, we woke up 6am every morning in order not to missing the balloon show - there were some 70-80 balloons taking off every morning. Here is video clips I took from the hotel swimming pool terrace:
http://youtu.be/FDruXbRusGg

Room Tip: Cave room: 1st level or above with window Stone house: the one above the swimming pool facing the G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertyhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our 3 night stay was arranged for us in this pension by our tour agency. When you walk up the hotel is tucked into a corner and the first impression seeing the sign and the main door is not very good. But once you walk in the place is quite pretty. On to the room, we had a basic standard double room...and it is very basic. It's an actual cave room, which is pretty cool. But bathroom looks like it was added as an afterthought. Its very small and The shower has no door, so the entire bathroom will get soaked every time you shower. The service is okay, the staff take sometime to warm up, which sucks, cause they seem like they'd be cool. There are different levels of staying, including a dorm, basic rooms, plus a super cool suite, with a nice bathroom that we managed to sneak a peek at while wandering around. Their terrace has a nice view of Goreme, and in the mornings the hot air balloons are visible. The restaurant is ok, we only had breakfast there. The biggest pain is the wifi. You can't get any signal in your room, as its a cave,so you have to come out anytime you want to use a Internet connected device.

Room Tip: If you have the budget book their deluxe suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sameera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#29 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoe String Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoe String Cave House

Property: Shoe String Cave House
Address: Orta Mah. Kazim Eren Sok. No:23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shoe String Cave House 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ShoeString Cave House is in Göreme, at the very heart of the Cappadocia region. With great care for the environment and for the natural beauty of the rocks, five ancient cave houses have been restored and converted into accommodation where both Turkish and foreign visitors are made welcome. ShoeString Cave House has 23 bedrooms, an open air swimming pool and indoor and outdoor sitting and eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Shoe String Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoe String Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Shoe String Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing