We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Atmosphere and Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
ShoeString Cave House
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I liked the friendliness and feel of this property. It was a good value for the price. The complimentry breakfast was good and I liked the option to order additional food off a menu. We stayed in a room for two at the top near the pool. The room was a good size and the bathroom was extra large.

Room Tip: If you are willing to walk up the stairs they have nice rooms near the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoloMe-oTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for ShoeString Cave House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 429 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is bearable for a night stay. The owner dog is nasty. Wanted to come in the so called breakfast area .

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in the top room near the pool which was comfortable, albeit not a cave. The view from the terrace by the pool is fantastic, a great view over Goreme. The breakfasts were top notch, great variety and very tasty! We also enjoyed the 15 Lira set menu for dinner, 3 courses, all of which were simple, delicious and fresh.

We really enjoyed our time in Goreme and would recommend staying at Shoestring.

Room Tip: Our room was one of the two at the top near the pool, a little more expensive than the others but wo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melstar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We liked Goreme and Shoestring so much that we stayed for a whole week! The pool was very clean, with fresh water (treated, but no overwhelming chemical smell), and plenty of tables and chairs around it. The wireless internet is really reliable, although caves aren't very good for wireless connections, so you need to be close to a window for it to work. Breakfast is AWESOME, tons of options to choose from. Dinner is 15TL, tasty and lots of food for the price. Staff is overall friendly, helpful and easygoing. If you're staying in the dorms, the shared bathrooms are of average quality and cleanliness as far as hostels go. There are no lockers in the dorm, but they will keep valuables at reception for you. We would have preferred lockers, but didn't have any problems.

If you are really picky, maybe there is better accommodation in Goreme, but Shoestring has a great pool, great views and great breakfast, so to us it seemed like an excellent value. It has more of a hostel vibe to it, but is laid back and a good mix of ages and travel styles.

Room Tip: If you're worried about no air conditioning, it's definitely not necessary. The rooms are c...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsAsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I have had the pleasure of being in Goreme many times but his was the first time staying at Shoestring. Usually I always stay in a different hotel but now I have decided to stop looking. Shoestring is no 1 for me. Rooms are basic but adequate. Pool is such a necessary luxury at this time of year. Best Breakfast I have had in all of Goreme hotels and the lovely lady who cooks and serves is so pleasant and accommodating , as are all the staff at Shoestring. Great fellow travellers, backpackers and familes all great each other with a smile as they unwind in this peaceful oasis. Location is great. No big steep hills to climb.
You do t get luxury but you get "great" at Shoestring

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaicilin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hostel is GREAT! I stayed here on a visit to Cappadocia, when I was studying abroad in Turkey. They have airport pickup, which is good because it is about one hour away from the Nevsehir Kapadokya airport. The staff is fun and helpful, and they have the cutest little puppy, Eddie (he was a puppy when I went in 2010...he's probably a bit bigger now!).
They have:
- courtyard area (for lounging, eating, meeting people)
- private rooms
- dorm style rooms (rates were about 10 Turkish Lira/night, but may have gone up a bit)
- bathroom
- terrace with a pool (seriously awesome!)
- kitchen/dining area (2 computers here, free to use!)

Dorm:
We had gotten the dorm style room. It's basically a big cave with a bunch of bunks. There is also one little cave nook on top with 2 mattresses- COOLEST THING EVER! And a common bathroom/shower. (I think the private rooms have their own bathrooms, not entirely sure)

Food:
They have on certain nights this bonfire bbq where you get great kabobs and meet people. Also, you can have breakfast here (there is a small fee). They make the BEST menemen! (I had better only at one place). For those who don't know menemen...it's this soupy, egg dish with vegetables, meat if you want, cheese, and just deliciousness!

Tours:
They help you set up tours if you want. All of the popular ones- north tour, south tour with lunch, hot air balloon tour, etc. They also set up a Turkish Night dinner. You pay them, and they take you to this other cave place, where you have unlimited food and drink, while there is live entertainment (sufi dance, bellydancers, traditional turkish music/dance).

It's great and the prices are pretty phenomenal!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

we had an excellent time here and the staff were great. The included breakfast was simple and because the rooms are in caves no air con is neccesary.

They get a great review from me.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#7 of 78 in Goreme
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ShoeString Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ShoeString Cave House

Address: Orta Mah. Kazim Eren Sok. No:23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range: $35 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — ShoeString Cave House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ShoeString Cave House is in Göreme, at the very heart of the Cappadocia region. With great care for the environment and for the natural beauty of the rocks, five ancient cave houses have been restored and converted into accommodation where both Turkish and foreign visitors are made welcome. ShoeString Cave House has 23 bedrooms, an open air swimming pool and indoor and outdoor sitting and eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your ShoeString Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoe String Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
ShoeString Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing