We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Cave Hotel”
Review of Guven Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guven Cave Hotel
Ranked #33 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cave Hotel”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

This Cave hotel is simply beautiful. I would recommend to everyone as it is a true cave hotel and it is very nice, clean and friendly.

I stayed their with my girlfrend and 2 friend and we all enjoyed it. The service was always excellent. Gihan and Mustafa helped us a lot. They helped us in choosing the excursions and we also enjoyed our time chatting with them.

I just get annoyed with some comments that say that this is not a cave hotel as it truly is. Everything in the hotel is as described and it is worth every penny you pay.

Thank you Gihan and Mustafa... hope to see you again :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philipsammut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    69
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
36
140
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a fantastic time in Goreme. One of the reasons was the hotel - Guven Cave. The hotel was very clean and the rooms comfortable. The customer service was top rate. Cihan was very friendly and helpful and honest in his recommendations. He was forever checking if we were ok and I don't think I have ever drank so much tea. On one evening he walked us down to his favourite restaurant for delicious Turkish Pide!

Hot Air Ballooning was brilliant, although expensive, and the green tour was well worth it. The red tour you can do on your own. I would definitely recommend Guven Cave Hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This is a great hostel. Clean, great location, but most importantly amazing staff. They went above and beyond to make us happy. We had an early morning flight and had to get up at 4 am, one of the staff workers got up before our flight, to make us sandwiches and coffee to take with us. it was really incredible how amazing they were. i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missalicia001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Guven Cave Hotel was wonderful and gave my wife and I an awesome, unforgettable memory in Goreme, Cappadocia. Here's why . . .

My wife and I had booked online for Goreme, Cappodocia back in late July 2011. We were aware of the high season rates and shortage of space, so we were happy to find a very affordable place on Hostel Bookers. Unfortunately that place (which I will not name), was so hideous that even though we had already paid, we slept ten minutes and then left. We walked around town looking for another place and could find nothing in our price range.

Finally, we took a turn up the road and stumbled upon Guven Cave Hotel. The facade of the building and its terraced roof looked expensive, so we were thrilled when the concierge, Cihan, told us that the price wasn't much more than the first place. The Hotel was immaculately clean and fascinating. Built right into side of the mountain, Guven Cave Hotel incorporates the ancient caves into the architecture, and you can wind your way up the prehistoric caldera along the modern but still antique-looking staircase. You are afforded wonderful views of the city from the rooftop terrace. The upstairs also boasts an eat-in kitchen, and the meal (included in the price) had all the fixings you come to expect from Turkish Breakfast--homemade jams and breads, an assortment of olives, eggs, fritters, fruits, coffee, tea and milk. The entire staff works hard to ensure your comfort and enjoyment.

Our kind and English-speaking hotelier/concierge, Cihan, was so thoughtful that when we arrived, seeing our distress at having left the first hotel, he told us both to help ourselves to a cold beverage from the cooler in the office at no charge to us--that was before we had decided to stay.

The room itself was just what we had wanted--a real cave. The rock provided such a nice, cool respite from the blazing July heat that we didn't even need air conditioning--in fact, we bundled up in the middle of the night. The bed was large and very comfortable. The sheets and pillows were soft and spotless. The en suite bathroom was spacious, spotlessly clean, well-lit, and the shower was hot AND drained properly. (You might think it is silly for me to mention all these little details, but these amenities--hot water, drainage, cleanliness, comfort--they are not standard issue for the budget traveler in Turkey.

However, you will find all these basics and an amazing and bona fide "cave hotel" in a classy space, with Ottoman artwork, a great meal, a friendly, cheerful, generous staff and some lovely rooftop views at The Guven Cave Hotel. I would highly recommend this place to anyone, budget traveler or business traveler.

Room Tip: I would recommend the cave rooms on the first floor--they are naturally quite cool, they are super q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedGarberMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at Guven Cave for 3 nights in September 2010. We originally booked for 2 nights but decided to stay an extra night because it was so good. We watched the basketball world champs semi final and final with Mustafa, Chihan and the crew (and drank a heap of Effes) and had an awesome time. The room was really cool and cosy and we loved the balcony outside our door where we sat and drank every evening and watched the sunset. Breakfast was great too. Highly recommend Guven cave if you are lucky enough to be going to Goreme, Cappadocia.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foiler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The Guven Cave is great. It's not a real cave, but the room was spacious, the bathroom was big and clean, and the customer service was excellent. We booked the green and red tour through the hotel (they use Goreme Tours) very last minute and it was no problem. I DO NOT RECOMMEND the red tour. It's a waste of time. Do the outdoor museum by yourself - you will enjoy it more. We also booked a hot air balloon tour, but did not use Kaya which is what the hotel prefers to use. We booked through Atmospher, which is owned by Kapadokya, and our ride was excellent. We had a very early flight back to Istanbul, and Gian, who works at the hostel, woke up early and made us sandwiches and packed us drinks. That kind of service is rare now days and we were so happy to have stayed at Guven Cave.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandasNotRobots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Guven Cave Hotel. The rooms were not too small, and they were as clean as they could be given the dirt everywhere and unpaved roads. Mustafa was very helpful and spoke excellent English. He was able to answer any questions I had and he also provided honest advice and information for excursion options and pricing. I did not feel like he was trying to take advantage of me or any of the other guests at any point during my three day stay. His staff was on par - always there to help.

The hotel is central to everything in the small town. I would recommend staying there. The hotel is on several websites, or you can email them directly at:
info [at] guvencavehotel [dot] com

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contraidentukl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#31 of 72 in Goreme
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 72 in Goreme
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#37 of 72 in Goreme
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#49 of 72 in Goreme
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#54 of 72 in Goreme
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guven Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guven Cave Hotel

Property: Guven Cave Hotel
Address: Orta Mah. Uzun Dere Cad. Cakmakli Sok. No:1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#11 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#13 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Guven Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guven Cave Hotel is one of the traditional Cappadician style hotel. The hotel has been hand-crafted with the natural stone of Cappadocia. Goreme Guven Cave Hotel has 9 elegant rooms which includes 3 cave rooms,5 cavestones rooms, and 1 deluxe rooms, as well as a restaurant on top of the hotel on the terrace. All the rooms are beautifully decorated, clean and a cozy place to stay. The restaurant serves turkish style breakfast, lunch and dinner.Visit our restaurant and experience the local Turkish style foods. Our hotel's central heating system allows you to use hot water for 24 hours a day, even in the freezing cold winter! Guven Cave Hotel is located in the central part of Goreme around great restaurants and shopping. We offer an excellent blend of Turkish warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Guven Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guven Cave
Guven Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing