We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travellers' Cave Pension
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I enjoyed the facilities and I agree with the positive opinions about this place: the room was clean and spacious, and the owners of the place were nice and very helpful.

The downsides are as follows: there is a dog (it belongs to the people who run the place) - and this dog runs around everywhere, including the area where meals are served. While people find their dogs cute, others often do not, particularly not around food. I found this to be a little too much to take, so I cannot give the place a 5-star review.

The other downside is that there was a leak in our bathroom (the pipes were leaky).

Beyond these, it was a good stay and the owners were very helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 237 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

It was my first visit to Goreme and I did enjoy days spent here.Never thought cave room would be so cozy and nice to stay. Friendly greetings from the staff and once wifi in our room broke, he quickly had it fixed :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank nely_usanto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Traveller's Cave Pension for two nights during our visit to Cappadocia. The room was very cool and cave-like. Very well-heated as well. We were three people and we upgraded to the deluxe room with the bath which was great purely because there was more space. The rooms itself are pretty basic - you won't find amenities like a coffee-maker or mini-fridge - but they're sufficient. Okan, the guy who worked the front desk, was extremely helpful and organized our balloon ride and a driver for us to hire to take us around the area. He was very informative about restaurants and tour companies and he organized the shuttle to and from the Kayseri airport. All in all, a very good stay at the Traveller's Cave Pension.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianInKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was a great place to stay - keep in mind the "Travellers Cave" franchise has three or four properties in Goreme, and this one is the mid-range price offering. Staff was friendly and helpful with bookings, the breakfast was good every day with plenty (and good variety) to eat. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: This has nothing to do with the Pensiyon, but please be advised that there is a little old Turkish l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed with this hotel for 2 nights during mid Nov. For first night, we did not realize the heating would be turned off at night, so my husband was so freezed that he caught a cold : ( But overall it is worth the price, nice loacation, beautiful courtyard, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sufen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

This place was well located close to the main bus stop. Room was clean and functional. The pension looks beautiful and breakfast can be eaten on the terrace (breakfast was standard and in line with other pension we stayed in) We were greeted by staff upon arrival which added a lovely touch. Yasar was very helpful - can help arrange anything you need. We woke up early to watch sunrise from terrace and were able to see all the hot air balloons - stunning! Absolutely would recommend travellers cave to anyone planning on visiting!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed at this pension for 3 nights in early Oct 2013. Nice room and comfy bed with good hot water and central heating for those colder nights. Interior of rooms are furnished with sandstones and do look like a cave even though not all rooms are under or near the monoliths.
Reception are typical of Turkish friendliness with added humour. The 20 Euro transfer from Kayseri airport is also good value as we have traveled in 4 and it was per head as in taking a public bus.
It is good pricing and value for the level of comfort in this motel/bed and breakfast joint.
Breakfast is good with French toast and they tried to add some new dish each day. They also helped organize all tours and balloon flights for you when we contacted them by emails. The only thing was the breakfast reception area was on level three and we stayed on level one on the opposite block and have to walk down one level and walk up 3 more levels. But by the time we left, they have almost finished renovating the ground floor reception and will soon be at ground level. As others have stated, they are also near to the main street with 5 mins walk to the town center. We watched hot air balloons flying over head in the morning too. Nice restaurants such as those rate 1,2 or 3 on Tripadvisor are all within a short walk.

Room Tip: room next to cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 78 in Goreme
616 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 78 in Goreme
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers' Cave Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers' Cave Pension

Address: Aydinli Mh. Gungor Sk. No 11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range: $22 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Cave Pension is located in the center of Goreme, 5 minutes walk from the bus station. The pension is in the middle of breathtaking surroundings with spectacular panoramic views of Goreme. Single to quad and dormitory rooms cut into fairy chimney rocks. Cave rooms with & without bathrooms. Breakfast, lunch and dinner available Laundry Service 24H hot water and heating in winter Satellite TV with English news and DVD movies And many other services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Travellers' Cave Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers` Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Travellers' Cave Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing