We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable tranquility in the heart of Cappadocia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travellers' Cave Pension
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Affordable tranquility in the heart of Cappadocia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hidden in one of the curvy side streets in Göreme, this pension offers spacious cave-like rooms for a reasonable price.
We were impressed with the level of comfort and luxury - it's actually more like a hotel. For instance, a jacuzzi was present in the double de-luxe room (€50 per room per night). As for the standard single room (€30), this contained one double and one single bed.
Another highlight of this location is its courtyard. This is a nice place to chill out, meet others or browse the net (using the free wi-fi).
Forgetting it's a pension, we started noticing small points for improvement: dust on the sink and around the tub was not wiped off, and one of the bathroom's leaking shower hose and stuck shower door were not fixed in the two remaining days following our feedback.
Still, the friendliness of the staff and their willingness to assist - a complementary pot of Turkish tea does wonders after a tiring afternoon - is reason enough to call the service good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    78
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
75
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Travellers Cave Pension can actually be considered a hotel, rather than a pension or a hostel. It has a terrace structure, well located in the upper part of Goreme with a wonderful outlook on the town and its surroundings. The cave room was really nice, comfortable, big and, despite the location, not humid at all.
The lovely salty and sweet breakfast is served on top level and, if you want, on the terrace. Free wi-fi is available in the rooms and a pc is provided in the breakfast room.

If you get to Goreme by bus, a free pick-up service is provided. The staff offered us breakfast when we arrived and through them we arranged a hot-air baloon tour at a lower price.

Summing up, very nice place and excellent quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiuliaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We were in love with gorme and this was the perfect spot to explore it from. The sunrise on the terrace was divine. Balloons floating across the skyline. The building seemed to built around a rock, it was not an authentic cave but we were happy enough. There was plenty of room and good wifi connection. We enjoyed keeping everyone upto date with our trip. The staff were super friendly especially Cihan and Emre. We asked for there names specially because they were so helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mehmetadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pambula
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

overall i really liked travellers cave pension, it was beautifully set out with nice areas to relax in and and great terrace for breakfast. breakfast was also really nice and had quite a large selection. my room was a great size and was nice, the only problem being it was quite musty, i guess thats from being in a cave but it really needs better ventilation.
the only thing i could really complain about was the staff, particularly the young guy who seems to be running the place, i found him to be incredibly rude and un helpful throughout my stay. as i was leaving this morning, i had arranged an airport transfer pickup, this was for 6.30 this morning and it ended up running 40 minutes late(nothing to do with the travellers cave pension) i was quite concerned as i had already not much time to make my flight, the young man appeared looking half asleep from one of the rooms after i had been waiting approx half an hour and i asked him if he could please call the company that i had made the booking with as i was unable to contact them in anyway as i do not have a phone. he would not make the call and seemed incredibly irritated that i had asked and said they will come, i asked him again, trying to explain i really had no time to waste and needed to get to the airport, he ignored me and walked into a bathroom locked the door and had a shower. i was left with nothing to do and no way to call or contact the company, i was lucky to make my flight due to another transfer arriving to pick up others for the same airport and jumped on their bus but had this not have happened i would have missed my flight. i think the mans attitude and behaviour were appalling

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The pension's room were good size, beautiful and considerately decorated. The court yard and the terrace roof is beautiful too. The staffs were efficient and very helpful with bookings for shuttle rides and tours. The breakfast was well done but your typical Turkish hotel breakfast. The location was a short walk from the main street and fairly easy to find. The locals are usually helpful too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwa078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was an excellent place to stay - an easy walk to the centre of the village but quiet & wonderfully clean, comfortable & large room. We had a room on the ground floor courtyard but all rooms have a nearly private entrance with room to sit outdoors so are very quiet (apart from the sound of gas burners on the hundreds of balloons at sunrise - which is common all over Goreme). Breakfast was great & the terrace on this top floor was a wonderful place to eat! We loved this pension. It felt very luxurious & was excellent value for money. It was one of the best places we stayed in our 4 week travels throughout Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicAuTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Very good place for very good price. Good breakfest and rooms looking like caves. Big bed and warm shower. Internet works perfectly and walking distance from restaurant and shops. Great !!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micalina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#29 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#12 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#16 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers' Cave Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers' Cave Pension

Property: Travellers' Cave Pension
Address: Aydinli Mh. Gungor Sk. No 11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers' Cave Pension is located in the center of Goreme, 5 minutes walk from the bus station. The pension is in the middle of breathtaking surroundings with spectacular panoramic views of Goreme. Single to quad and dormitory rooms cut into fairy chimney rocks. Cave rooms with & without bathrooms. Breakfast, lunch and dinner available Laundry Service 24H hot water and heating in winter Satellite TV with English news and DVD movies And many other services... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Travellers' Cave Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers` Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Travellers' Cave Pension Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing