We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is special”
Review of SOS Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SOS Cave Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“This place is special”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Beautiful, relaxed, charming, comfortable, and peaceful. A+++ as far as I'm concerned. The staff go out of their way to make sure your trip to the region is just right for you. I wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    81
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
85
184
57
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel and amazingly kind staff who want you to be family and not just another hotel guest. Great value as well and the tastiest breakfast I've had in Turkey! Every tour staff recommended beat all of our expectations. A real gem.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice quiet room, soft beds, hot shower, spacious terrace with a GORGEOUS view, homemade gozleme and other delicious things for breakfast... seriously awesome all around. Plus, most importantly, Sinan and Vulcan really went above and beyond to help us create the perfect vacation. They gave us advice and information about how to get to Cappadocia from Istanbul, organized an airport shuttle and a tour that picked us up right at the hotel, helped us figure out what to see in our short visit and where to go walking/hiking, let us leave our suitcase all day after checking out in the morning. Definitely agree with ChrisSpeed that these hotel managers get it right by being 'wonderfully helpful without being intrusive.' I could imagine staying much longer but even if you only have 2 days, it is by all means worth making a visit to this amazing spot!

Room Tip: The website says some double/twin rooms 'can add an extra bed.' This is really a third twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindiwe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

First of all, YES! I agree with other reviewers who like to call this place a second home. I've stayed at the SOS numerous times in past years. However, not since my last trip in 2005. Now in 2013 with many improvements and upgrades, the SOS still offers a warm, home like atmosphere with the best service plus modern amenities. Location, location, location.....the SOS is just far enough from the village center!!!! Peaceful, quiet, with the best view from the terrace but just a quick walk into the center of Goreme. Lovely Turkish breakfast and the only hotel I've stayed in offering fresh honeycomb on the breakfast buffet. These are the little details that set this place apart. Bravo! Musa, Sinan and extended family. Much love to you all......I will be back again!

Room Tip: They are all good. You will sleep like a cozy bear in a cave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Such a neat place we stayed 5 days longer and would definitely return. Bedrooms thoughtfully decorated, quiet and comfortable. Relaxing dining area and verandahs with possibly the best views in Goreme, overlooking peaceful rural Pigeon Valley - great for balloon watching. A short walk from the centre of town (I had a heel injury so used lower route along flat road with small slope and steps at end). Breakfast was one of the most extensive we had in Turkey, with pancakes made on the spot, borek, several fruits, yogurt, cereal, honey on the comb, as well as usual Turkish fare. Best asset : great staff who speak several languages, are kind, wonderfully helpful and always interesting to talk to without being intrusive. Someone would always help if aware bags need carrying, etc. and even showed a group of us down the valley walk.

Room Tip: Cave rooms are novel and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Nice greeting with professional manager, he gave us a useful map of worth seeing places. Good view to stone towers. Breakfast is marvellous with traditional nuts! There are a lot of steps in front entrance. Although we had a couple of heavy luggage but nobody help us! You can use a public parking near the front entrance. Our room was clean and comfort. You can enjoy from open balkony resturant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amooafshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

First of all I find myself in great difficulty to give a review of this place as hotel because in my whole stay we felt like our personal second home in Cappadocia Gerome and Mr. Musa, Sinan and Volkan as my extended family members like brothers . I booked this place after reading review in TripAdvisor. and booking com as most of them really appreciate the personal touch in this hotel .I appreciate their promptness to reply any email query and ever willingness to accommodate the wish of their guest.If I had right to give 200 marks out of 100 I would definitely give it to them as every one of them worked hard to earn it . We took a morning flight to Navashir Cappadocia from Istanbul which later I felt was not a good decision ,overnight bus from Istanbul by Metro bus would be better as comfortable bus with excellent service on board along with saving in form of reduce night hotel stay and airport transfer at both end and above all no hazels for catching a morning flight.Mr Sinan was there on airport for our private transfer to hotel with his smiling face, as soon as we reached hotel they offer us nice breakfast including superb cheese omelet ,fresh fruits and organic apricot and honey comb with variety of bread ,juices and coffee etc on terrace.We enjoy having breakfast in this wonderful terrace. Their terrace is absolutely brilliant because there is no obstruction in front of hotel, with breathtaking views across the fairy chimneys, a great place for breakfast and a few drinks in the evening.
It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. The rooms are great, quiet and clean. we family of four (2 adults and 2 children )stayed in largest 5 bedded cave room which had a special Cappadocia feel . The staff are happy to pick you up on arrival in town and to drop off and pick up from any of the local walking tracks. Mr Musa is very helping and extremely experience person with great knowledge regarding which place to go ,which tour we should take and which ballon company is best for us . he booked us to atmosphere balloon company at very attractive discounted rate and took pain to ensure that we got a special 8 seater V.I.P. ballooning experience. His knowledge of carpets and keleem ,jejeem and rakarah is really helpful for us to decide which keleem we should buy .He even arrange some old keleem for us from direct local weaver at very attractive price .If you trust Musa then you will always find him with your side only. If you are thinking of going to Gerome, and you should, stay here. By far the best hotel on every level across the globe .... WE MISS YOU ALL and Would definitely return if we ever head back to Goreme.
Room Tip: Ask for a large cave room.
Other tip: don’t miss organic apricot which comes from owner Mr. Musa’s own farm

Room Tip: large cave room for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arun Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soscave, Manager at SOS Cave Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello Arun,

What kind of reviews ,there is only one think to say perfect.
You are riğht here is your second home whan ewer wold you like to come back feel always welcome.
Say hello to your Family to.

All the best regards

From turkey to India

Sos Cave Hotel
Sinan Kanlıbaş
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#34 of 72 in Goreme
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#30 of 72 in Goreme
516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 72 in Goreme
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SOS Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SOS Cave Hotel

Property: SOS Cave Hotel
Address: Goreme Center | Aydınlı Mah. Cakmaklı Sokak No:4, Goreme, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Goreme
#4 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#6 Family Hotel in Goreme
#7 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#9 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SOS Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sos Cave Pansion Goreme
SOS Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing