We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different but definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Avanos Oren Yeri

Avanos Oren Yeri
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.12*
and up
Small-Group Cappadocia Full-Day City Tour with Airport Transport and Lunch
Ranked #13 of 50 things to do in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Different but definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Chez Galip, a potter set up this museum in a cave over thirty years ago - and what did he put inside it? Locks of hair! Now, the museum has a Guinness record too. If you are in Goreme, this place warrants a visit for sure. I, naturally had a lock of my hair snipped off - like thousands of women before me - it is sort of symbolic too. You pass through narrow 'tunnels' past the pottery display to reach this dimly lit and slightly dank museum with hair or every colour sticking out of walls, on pots or hanging from the cave roof. A bit eerie, but keep in mind that it is precisely for this reason it finds a mention in the top ten weird museums in the world.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjalyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    131
    56
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hope to stay longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Actually Avanos is a village, and for me it's a lovely one. Unfortunately just have a short time to visit this village. We came to saw pottery making in one of the shops. But if you have more time, i suggest to spend it here. Because the village is clean and really nice to walk in. Also there is small river with many birds and i saw a beautiful sunset here. You can also sit in the river side because there are lot of chairs.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ailurophil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carimate, Italy
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“100% adventure: excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was told that Cappadocia was enjoyable and nice to see... I think the same but in an augmented view. Goreme areais extraordinary, nature is untainted and all the places are good for excursions, especially with a quad bike: amazing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gianmaria0905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
195 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Charming Lunch and Amazing Pottery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

After visiting Hacibectas, our driver took the five of us to Avanos. First we had lunch at the Kooperative, a restaurant operated by a group of Turkish women. Great food. Then we spent a couple of hours at Chez Galip- pottery museum. We spent so much time there that it was too late to go to Hair Museum cave. The pottery was some of the most gorgeous that we have ever seen anywhere, the master potter, Monsieur Dilip, and our pottery museum guide were wonderful. Our friends happily bought a Hittite wine flask with cups and we got a beautiful, one-of-a-kind clock. I don't know that we've ever enjoyed spending money more. These folks are artistes par excelence. Even if you have no intention of buying anything, you must see these works of art!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Türkiye
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

You have to pay a visit to "Kapadokya Seramik! It has a great variety of Ceramics with motifs from all around Turkey and history. Both kitchen equipment and decorative stuff are available with wide range of prices. They welcome you with a pottery-making show and then let you give a try which is the most enjoyable part :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Berrinbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanos Oren Yeri also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Avanos Oren Yeri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing