We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place to visit, lovely river”
Review of Avanos Oren Yeri

Avanos Oren Yeri
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.45*
and up
Small-Group Cappadocia Full-Day City Tour with Airport Transport and Lunch
Ranked #14 of 50 things to do in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Interesting place to visit, lovely river”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We hired push bikes in Goreme and rode to Avanos for lunch. Very interesting place, not as visually appealing as Goreme, but different. The lovely wide river offers numerous places to sit, picnic eating areas, visit a riverside restaurant, mix with the locals, walk or cycle along. The main part of the town is very interesting with numerous cafes, restaurants, ceramic and pottery shops. Very enjoyable spot to visit and woth the effort as long as you don't just drive in and out. Get out a have a walk around for a couple of hours.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank prholst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    133
    57
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“pottery and river”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It is a nice little town that you can have turkish type of breakfast near the river and walk in the neighbourhood of pottery workshops. Every pottery workshop owner is willing to show you how to make it and they let you to try it. It takes you couple of hours to see everything.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eceax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cliff Dwellings”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Amazing to see how older civilizations lived. Hard for us to imagine. Well worth the time to visit. Very easy to visit and walk.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
433 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 543 helpful votes
“Good to see the whole process”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We got to see all the stages of the intricate pottery process including master potters decorating some of the pieces. At the end there was a shop and I noticed a person from the shop accopanied each couple or person but no hard sell or intrusion unless asked. Prices here for pieces we bought elsewhere were about the same though at other places we had bargained down.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Is it really locally made?”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Bring some extra cash if you like intricate pottery, but there are huge wholesalers here that swear everything is handmade right there in town. After visiting six or seven of those places, I realized they've all got basically the same stuff, and I suspect that they're all owned by the same person or people. There's so much stuff there there's NO WAY it's all made right there by hand!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avanos Oren Yeri also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Avanos Oren Yeri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing