We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but the service needs to be improved”

Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery
Ranked #2 of 110 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Pumpkin İt will be your unique experience eating in our old stony restaurant in which you can see lots of crafts of pumpkin lamps and make a decision for having one of them .There are the most delicious Turkish plate ,salad and dessert as well.Our location is far from noise and you can be convenient in it.We are waiting for you .
Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had dinner at the Pumpkin and the food was excellent, I would say the best food I had during my stay in Goreme! The owner of the restaurant is incredibly friendly and the interior atmosphere is very nice, I would totally recommend it.

Despite the amazing food, there are a few things that need to be improved. First of all, they only offer a four-course menu consisting of soup, salad, main dish and dessert. That is not a problem, but I was surprised that no one explained us about the content of the dishes when we sit at the table. In my opinion, it would be great to explain a little bit what is on the menu, or at least to ask if the customers have any allergies. Also, when we got there at around 9 pm they had run out of soup and we were expecting a discount or something to compensate us, but unfortunately it didn't happen and we payed for the full menu (40 TL per person, something that you discover at the moment of the payment since no one informs you in advance). Besides, the time taken between each serving was extremely long, specially if we take into account that they only have four courses.

To sum up: the food was amazing, but they would have to start paying more attention to the service they offer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Javier M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumpkingoreme, Sahibi at Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Our dearest guest,

We appreciate your kind and friendly attention .
Thank you so much for your very great review , they will be considered surly .
As you may know we have home making food , that is a little time consuming , but we try
speed up it . About the other items ; they will be improved without doubt .
Thanks again alot for your friendly consideration .
İf you welcome back here we will do the best for you .

The best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 546 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

very easy:
enter, eat the 4 meal menu and pay.
it's in the center of Goreme, in a silent street very close to the Mosque.
you can choose to eat outside or inside the restaurant and you can taste authentic turkish food, even in a touristic town like Goreme.

we tried to book in the afternoon but the restaurant was yet fully booked.
the boss asked us to come after 10 pm.
we came back and we ate.
at the end of the dinner he said: thank you for waiting, all the beers and waters are for free.

;)

Thank Criecolella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumpkingoreme, Owner at Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Dear guest,

That is so pleasure meeting you .
Thank you for your explanation about address and the other things .
Thank you for your time .

Hope see you again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

A very friendly place with a set menu. The meze starter was gorgeous especially the carrot, yoghurt and garlic. Wine was local and lovely but not sure why so expensive.my teenage daughter also enjoyed the meal and the present we received after the meal was a lovely touch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gigglepops E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumpkingoreme, Owner at Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Dear Gigglepop,

We appreciate your very friendly comment .
We did not know about your unsatisfaction of price .
You could have some courses ( not all of them ) with lower prices .
We hope see you again and do the best for you .

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

This is a good choice for a simple, set menu meal in tasteful surroundings. Ingredients were excellent quality (although hard to verify the 'organic' claim) and the owner was very friendly. Main course was the least exciting part of our meal (chicken or beef steak), but overall it was all very tasty.

1  Thank solarize_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumpkingoreme, Owner at Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Dear Solarize ,

Thank you very much for your explanation and kind advice .
We hope see you again .

The best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

A real surprise!
We entered the restaurant and we are told that they work with fixed menu...ok, we were not that hungry, but the intimate and cozy atmosphere inside with hand-made pumpkin lamps made us decide (besides it was bad weather outside)...
A delicious soup as starter, a plate of meze with sauces, cheese and fresh vegetables, the main course with meat (or cheese) and vegetables fresh-cooked (open kitchen), a dessert, drinks, tea/coffee...we had a complete and yummy dinner with everything included at a very good price! (we worried for a much higher amount...)
The owner is a very nice and caring person, and he is also the artist of the pumpkin lamps!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank giada t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pumpkingoreme, Owner at Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Our dearest guest ,

We appreciate your kind attention and your explanation every thing exactly .
We have the best wishes for you and hope see you again .

Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Pumpkin Goreme Restaurant and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing