We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for a cay!”

Omurca Art Cave Cafe
Ranked #16 of 104 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hello and welcome to Omurca. Omurca means vine shoots in Turkish.So,here first of all we can serve you a good local red wine and you will surely appreciate our unpretentious cuisine,healthy,cooked with fresh products and lots of love.Here we love our guests to feel at ease like at home.Inside by the cosy fire place our outside in the sunny terrasse.To restore you we offer you Soup,pastrami speciality,a chicken or a beef casserole.And depending on the season we'll have hot wine,raki and some cakes and special desserts too. It's also an art gallery and you can enjoy Harun's sculptures on wine shoots.Very special! Welcome again ;-))
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a cay!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stopped in to this cafe, as the owner was so friendly (and nice to the colony of kittens that had made a home outside his cafe). Had a wonderful evening with tea in his beautiful cave. Will return for dinner tonight to enjoy a great, local, very reasonably priced experienc!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PrncssMBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    20
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice and relaxable times with otantic atmosphere”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

if you re walking around the goreme and tired about your feet and need a coupe of tea turkısh coffee or a glass of wine with a silent nice cool and otantic atmosphere this cafe is the best!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gezik0lik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish cooking for people who are tired of lamb kebabs. Enjoyed homegrown fruits, fres,h salads, and Ravioli”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I found the cafe next door to my hostel, and went in because of the cute kitties in the garden :) The owner Harun is really friendly and genuine! I have been travelling for over 4 months so I have got quite tired of the touristy food, and was craving for somewhere quiet with nice homecooking food. And in this little cafe, I enjoy all the fresh salads, eggplant kebab, and the most tasty ravioli, while admiring the nice carpets used to decorate the place! Harun puts lots of his effort into the cafe, making the furniture and cooking the food for guests. Here I had an encounter with a local Turkish person, just to get a glance of life in Goreme.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A special place”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

In Goreme you have a wide range of stablishments, but sometimes you feel as if you were in a theme Park. However Omurca Art Cave is an authentic personal special place.

In Omurca Art Cave Cafe we found good food (you have to taste the ravioli of Harun!!), conversation, art and some autenthic pretty things to buy. If you only want food, a bit of conversation with a çay in yout hand, or find a different gift, we recommend to visit this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Omurca Art Cave Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Omurca Art Cave Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing