We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, as locally authentic as it gets”
Review of Ocak Restaurant

Ocak Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 104 Restaurants in Goreme
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer you most authentic Turkish dinning experience right in the heart of Göreme. We are open everyday 11.50am-11.50 pm. You can see the stunning view of Göreme's famous sunrise and sunset right from our garden patio. All our food are carefully prepared with the freshiest local ingredients. Our guests are important for us, they are like brothers and sisters.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, as locally authentic as it gets”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The place is a bit hard to find (up a long road) but worth searching out. Wonderful to eat home cooked food here! Great to soak up the ambiance....you'll feel like you are dropping in for dinner at a friend's house ;) The bread is home baked, and the soup is awesome!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    33
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Turkish Hospitality”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Go there and feel the Turkish hospitality. Delicious traditional local food. Owner Ethem and his wife are one of their kinds.

Helpful?
1 Thank brnklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic and awesome”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Ocak Pansion and Restaurant for 5 nights and the food, service and atmosphere was so wonderful we never even considered going anywhere else for meals. Ethem has a tandoori oven and between this oven and the clay pots of delicious dishes his wife creates each meal is a treat. All the food is prepared and cooked right here. The restaurant has an intimate outdoor area, a large patio with a lovely view, and an indoor room that is lovely and warm on chilly nights.
We have loved the food in Turkey but this is far above what we have had so far.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Easily our best restaurant in Turkey”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

At Ocak, you'll be welcome by a whole family. Don't get me wrong it's not just a family run business, you're literally feeling at home.

The lovely couple will make you feel comfortable at first glance and you'll enjoy on of the best meal you've ever had in Turkey, in a beautiful authentic atmosphere.

If I'm not wrong that's my first review, and Ocak restaurant deserves it well. If you're in Goreme, you cannot miss it. That's that simple. Forget all the nice touristic places you've experienced till now.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mveillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience - Incredible Food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Spent 6 nights in Cappadocia recently and wanted to find a local restaurant which was friendly, had amazing food and beautiful settings. Well, we found this on the first night and ate in there for the rest of our stay, it was that good!

First impressions where certainly ticking all the boxes - we walked through a beautiful little courtyard surrounded with apples trees and the sound of soothing music. There was an oven fire already in use with amazing smells rising from the pots and pans. There was a seating area which you could eat at but seeing as it was a little chilly (October) we decided to move down into the main restaurant below.

We opened the door to a warm and beautifully laid out room which could sit large groups or small intimate couples. The decoration was traditional with drapes and pictures hanging from the walls. In the middle was a light stove which was warming the room and also cooking potatoes.

We were welcomed with open arms and chatted about what we had been doing and where we were from before settling down with a glass of wine. The menu was in English and had a wonderful selection of fine locally grown food available. Over the time we spent there we tried wheat soup, okra, lamb/beef kebab meat, sea bream, rice, salads, chicken and many others.

Before the starters arrived we were treated to freshly made pitta bread and a tomato chilly dip - all locally grown and made. It was incredibly tasty and started off the meal perfectly - the bowl would be filled as soon as it was emptied which carried on throughout the meal (no extra charge).

The had a nice selection of beer and wine to choose from as well as Turkish coffee and apple tea!

The main courses were stunning - my friend is a vegetarian and would often struggle when being abroad, but couldn't pay them enough praise for the wonderful selections available. I tired most of the fish and meat dishes and loved them with a passion. The fish was all freshly caught and cooked to order!!

Apart from the amazing food and location i have to say the people were of a kind i'd not really met before. They were so kind and friendly - always wanting to help and chat where possible. Even their children were incredibly friendly and interested to hear what we had been up to.

If you are looking for good locally cooked food, wonderfully warm surroundings and amazingly kind and friendly people then this is the place to go!!!

As for the cost - certainly not expensive and well worth every penny!!

Daniel and David

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielHannabuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing