We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The performance was wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes

Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes
Attraction details
Houston
Level Contributor
204 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The performance was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

The building is beautiful and the performance most interesting and entertaining. It was most enjoyable and I would recommend to anyone wishing to see a ceremony.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    67
    61
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dervish dance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Without any explanations during the dance, was difficult to appreciate what was happening. Had I not read in same pamphlets I would not been able to appreciate the spiritual aspect of the dance

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teong hoon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This was an added excursion on the RSD tour.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were transported on mass by the coach load to is venue. We flowed downwards into the depths of a cave like room, which had 5 terraced areas of seating. The focal point was the circular platform with the area for the band. The religious ceremony commenced with the 3 band members arriving, they commenced the music which drew the dervishes out. The ceremony is something which I believe to be a personal interpretation. I was sceptical but left quite enlightened.
There was a ban on photography until after the ceremony, 3 members returned to participate in the tourist photo shoot. This was almost an uncomfortable moment. I was quite moved, and felt a little special at having been offered the opportunity to witness this ceremony. It was mesmerising. This visit ended the day after the temple in Konya.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Moving performance. Beautiful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

After a tiring day traveling and sightseeing to sit in the dark theatre while the musicians started playing for the ceremony I closed my eyes and hoped I would stay awake.I needn't have worried. The dervishes were quite simply mesmerising and I was moved by the grace of their movements and at how so completely they were at one with their source. A spiritual experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank marycec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique and moving experience for those with a spiritual side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I felt honored to be allowed to witness what is a spiritual practice for the Sunni Muslims who pursue this form of worship and devotion. It was especially moving having been to the mausoleum of Mevlana (I've known of him as the poet Rumi) in Konya and learned more about the dervish community and their practices.
For those who would just watch it and see men turning in circles without appreciating the bigger picture of what they are truly doing, their philosophy, and their history, this probably isn't for you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EWB-in-MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes also viewed

 

Been to Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing